We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and Last Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Savannah Historic District

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First and Last Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The water pressure in the bathtub was awful; by the time I finished my shower, it looked like I took a bath too. There was some type of sheet-padding under the fitted sheet (not a mattress pad) very uncomfortable- moved around and bunched up. The refrigerator was in the bathroom under counter. The hotel is "historical" but should just be called 'old'. It's dated inside and out. For $199/night, I expected so much more than being close to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Tamara,

I am very disappointed to read your review concerning your recent stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will follow-up on the concerns you mentioned regarding the bath tub pressure and mattress cover.

I am sorry that the hotel's condition did not meet your expectations. Our focus always remains on our guests and ensuring they have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Your detailed comments will help us to ensure we're meeting and exceeding our guests' needs.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101.

We hope you'll give us another chance to offer you the consistent quality, and friendly service you know and love about our brand.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    452
    276
    119
    78
See reviews for
312
536
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recommend its a nice hotel to stay for a few days! I'ts very situated in Savannah,Georgia! If i come back some day I wil stay again in this hotel. The local have very nice's restaurants and a walk distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Arthur P,

Thank you for the nice review! I know you had many hotels to choose from in Savannah and I appreciate you staying with us! We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Perfect location; everything within walking distance. Hotel does not look like much from the outside however rooms are great and clean; comfortable beds; nice interior. Great value. Breakfast was also good; no problems at all we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb280688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear mb280688,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safety harbor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

i was very surprised how nice the rooms were..nicely renovated, lovely breakfast, great location, good value..you must consider this hotel when coming to savannah...park the car and enjoy the walk...everything is closeby

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Ron P,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We did not want to spend our vacation budget on accommodations and this fit the bill. If you want posh accommodations look else where.The complementary breakfast was ok. I missed seeing the 15$ a day parking fee so heads up to that. The rooms were clean and well kept. Our room was located by a beautiful shade tree unfortunately facilitating a palmetto bug to come in and sleep with me.I presented him to the front deck and we were promptly moved to another room, compensated for the unpleasant experience and no more nightly visitor were seen. Great location for the historic district and River front. We did hear the street party but expect this when staying in a party neighborhood. A sound machine was provided and helped remedy this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Sheryl B,

A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service!

I am sorry you had a visitor, but I'm glad to hear the staff was able to move your room and compensate you for the intrusion.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you. It is actually a nice place with clean, well-kept interiors.

Location very convenient for walking around historic district and river front.

Room was comfortable and spacious. Watch out for juts in the bed frame. Son whacked his ankle on one and it hurt. Bathroom has old-style double doors to open and sink, commode, and shower are all in the one room behind the door. Lamps had convenient outlets for charging devices. There was also a little odd round machine which I took to be a fan/white noise maker, which i like.

One very AWKWARD thing in bathroom: directly across from toilet is a giant mirror (5' × 3' approx). If you ever wanted to see yourself use the facilities, now is your chance. If not, close your eyes.

Breakfast was good, standard for hotel breakfast.

Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank clearyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your son's ankle injury. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is older but well kept. Rooms are clean and well cared for. Each room has a fridge but no micro wave. It is on the very northern edge of the historic district, which is perfect for us. Many things ( River Market, restaurants, and stores ) are within walking distance. We have stayed here a number of times in the past and will continue staying here in the future. The price is reasonable considering the location. One additional amenity we do like is that they do have an elevator and at my age that helps immensely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Your continued loyalty means so much to us! Thank you for your repeat business and especially sharing feedback with others on TripAdvisor! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing