We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisest Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #51 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisest Place”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Drunk kids fighting, loud bars right behind it, fire dept. called when someone decided to pull alarm at 1:00 am. There are machine in your room designed to block noise, did not help. Included in our package a note that they are not responsible for noise or refunds for noise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golive52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned. If you would like to share what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize. Thank you, Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    474
    290
    126
    91
See reviews for
339
561
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The hotel is located on the main thoroughfare through the historic district and is a short walk from the riverfront area of shops, bars, restaurants, etc. This is not a fancy place, but clean, comfortable, and friendly, with a continental breakfast and free wireless internet. The decor is pleasing, the room was comfortable and clean. We got an excellent rate for a room with two double-beds - under $70 - so we were pleased with the value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Was not sure what to think considering the cost of the room but it was GREAT! Bed was a little lumpy but the room was clean clean clean!!!! The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was wonderful! The concierge could have been a little more personable but not sure if she is part of the hotel or the place that offers tours. The room even had a noise maker that hums to lull you to sleep if you do not like quiet. I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Thank you,

Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wildwood new jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We spent 3 days at the Best Western, and were pleased beyond our expectations! The staff was friendly, the breakfast and our dining help much better than we had expected. The hotel if very clean, newly renovated, and within walking distance of River St. Each morning and evening we watched the horse and carriages go past our window. It reminded us of Lancaster, Pa. We would rate this hotel a 10, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adahsnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
I am thrilled you chose the Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

What can I say - the place has been remodeled since I last stayed there. I had stayed with a friend at the Hyatt the night before & the bathrooms at this Best Western looked like they belonged at the Hyatt. Our hangout for the night was Savannah Smiles & this was an excellent location for a group of women, being that Savannah Smiles was right behind the motel. They were very genourous w/ their small bottles of lotion that we kept asking for. Also a good & free continental breakfast. I had searched for a couple of days for a place to stay near Riverstreet for a couple of days & this place was the best value. Great location, great price, great service. I recommend this place over the Hyatt.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deafear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We arrived in Savannah at 10:00 AM, which we recognized was early, however, after enjoying a day walking around Savannah, our room was still not ready at 3:45. We stayed in room #326 which was River side (yet the view is blocked by a factory of some sort). The room was decorated nicely with a great color scheme and updated bathroom amenities. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The refrigerator did not keep food cold, despite putting it on the coldest setting. There were 3-4 hangers in the closet so you might need to bring your own. The first night, our stay was great! We came back from sightseeing to find our bed made neatly and towels replenished in a "day one" fashion. However, the 2nd time our room was serviced it looked like our 17 year-old son made the beds! The towels were just stacked on the bed, not even hung up! And the worst part was, whoever had cleaned the bathroom, managed to spray bleach on my husbands brand new shirt he had hung on the knob of the closet. To their credit...they did reimburse for the cost of the shirt. During our 2nd night, the noise from partyers on our hall was so loud it sounded like they were coming in our room! You can hear the ice maker dispensing ice also so I would not recommend this particular room. On the 3rd day, the housekeeping crew decided to have a "convention" outside our door while we were trying to rest from a long day at Tybee Island (around 4:00 PM). I called the front desk to advise them but the folks that run the hotel on the weekend seem to be in their 20's and were not deeply concerned. Our biggest beef was with the housekeeping crew. Will all the talking they were doing outside our room, I'm not surprised rooms are ready for checkin by 4:00 PM. The breakfast was glorified continental. The only warm food was waffles. They did offer boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and bagels.
The hotel visitor specialist was very helpful and friendly. Be prepared to pay a $10 per day parking fee. We were glad to be so close to all of the attractions but plan to stay further South next time to avoid the roudy college age kids that run up and down the river walk (which starts behind this hotel). Safety was a concern on the weekend, with large groups of young kids walking around.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to hear your description of the check in process. I will certainly speak to this individual immediately, as this is unacceptable. Our staff should always welcome you and make you feel at home. I am sorry. Thank you again for your comments and if you are returning to the Savannah area, I would love for you to call me. I will be happy to offer you a discount on your next visit. Sincerely, Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This was a great location. Ideal for walking into the Historic District area, it was a relaxed stroll and was approx 1 mile. Excellent breakfast make your own waffles sausage patties and the usual cereal, yoghurt, fruit and muffins etc. There was a pool outside, this needed to be cleaned of the leaves and insects. The breakfast area gets very busy and doesn't seat many people... so get there early.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandraw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing