We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Gateway
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room had an odor. The building is old and in need of repair. The beds were terrible, very uncomfortable. The tub drained very slow. the room was in need of a really through cleaning. When we went to eat breakfast in the morning, the attendant looked sloppy and didn't have a name badge on. She restocked food on the bar with her bare hands. NO GLOVES! totally grossed us out. The AC didn't cool very well. Way overpriced for what you get. Would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 743helenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
743helenf,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    183
    167
    91
    53
See reviews for
272
219
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

easy on off rt 95.......food and gas at exit....very quiet..I wpuld recommend for overnight stay.Denny's in lobby area open 24 hrs.try and get first floorThe free breakfast was the normal with make your own walffels

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Donald R,
A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our convenient location, quiet atmosphere and dining options. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I love Best Western and have stayed at several. I thought this particular hotel was a good buy; however, I'm rating it only average because of the bed and the internet. The bed had such a large divot in the center that we had to sleep on an angle just to get somewhat comfortable. Now don't get me wrong, we should have asked to switch rooms, but we discovered this at 2am and were too tired to move everything out. In addition, the internet, at least from our room, was very poor. If you're coming to work and expect to have a decent connection, this is likely not the hotel for you. Email is fine, but even Facebook and general internet browsing was slow and cumbersome.

That all being said, the room was very clean and smelled nice, and the staff was great.

Room Tip: Based on my experience and that of others, check the things that mean most to you before you get set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahlumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Wahlumgirl,
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms and friendly team. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can check the bed and internet connection in that room. Thank you in advance for your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for hotel guests.
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Party with lots of noise above my room, manager did not help with the problem, room was not up to par and the food was being cooked and served by only one person and was not that great, toaster did not work, out of coffee, and no juice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bworth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Bworth37,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared your feedback with our management team so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

this was a good hotel for the price,a convenient hotel for easy off and on the I 95 highway. Gas stations and restaurants are close. Small outlet shopping center nearby also. The room was just about average for an inexpensive motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bigellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
bigellie,
Thank you very much for recommending our convenient location and great value to fellow travelers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back to see us again in the future!
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Dated - this hotel is ready for renovation. It is well located. Resturants, gas, and entry to I-95 are close by. Cracks in ceiling and bathtub. TV remote did not function properly - not a major issue - we stopped to sleep not watch TV. Very little outside noise - the area is fairly quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Daryl D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our convenient location and quiet atmosphere. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thanks again for all of your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The checking process must have had a glitch because when I went to checkout they had the wrong name and address on the bill. The room was good, it could have had cleaner linens because there were footprints on the bed cover (had been washed and stain did not come out). The staff were cordial. The breakfast was somewhat limited, as they have a restaurant on site. We would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Frank E,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our nice rooms and friendly team. However, we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared your feedback with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. As you mention in your review, we do serve a complimentary breakfast every morning featuring make-your-own waffles, biscuits and gravy, pastries, cereal, coffee, juice and more. If guests prefer, they are welcome to enjoy breakfast at the Denny's restaurant located on site. Thanks again for all of your time. We truly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#50 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
9.7 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#40 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#74 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Gateway

Property: Best Western Savannah Gateway
Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing