We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azalea Inn & Villas
Ranked #4 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this charming B&B upon my husband's return from deployment. This was just what we needed to relax and reconnect for a romantic getaway. Thanks to the wonderful staff who made this a wonderful experience for us, ensuring all our needs were met.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 12eight07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy that you chose us for your special weekend. We would like to thank you, your husband and your family for all the sacrifices you make to help protect our great country! We hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

While we enjoyed our stay and met some nice folks, At $300 per night plus tax and parking we were hoping for a little more convenience and amenities and a property that was more well kept. Considering this place got the distinguished "select Registry" entry (wife and I are members and frequenters of those properties) It needs some work in quality and service. My advice get something closer to downtown if you plan to walk around and enjoy all that Savannah has to offer.

Breakfasts
While we both like to sample southern foods, the breakfasts were not for us. First one was a sausage soufflé with a red sauce and the other was also some kind of ricotta quiche w berries. The first I couldn't keep down so we skipped out on the second and got brunch enroute to HHI overlooking the water. Though the biscuits were delish, the wine and cheese served in the evening was nothing special. Cheap $5 pino with precut cheese from grocery store, nothing special which is not what I would have expected at this top end price point. Then at exactly 6pm they took it away while others were there lol. We wouldn't want the guests to enjoy themselves lol. Credit to the staff for an excellent carrot cake they left out for late night snack. Coffee maker was some silly pod device. No fresh brewed coffee for you lol.

Location
Terrible. Don't believe what you read. Google Map it and choose walking option, Figure 30 minutes at a casual pace to waterfront. If your'e a woman in heels or not in good shape forget it. A pedicab is $15 ea way so that adds up. Especially if your'e like us and did a lot of walking. After a while that BnB location is NOT convenient at all and is surrounded by a very "sketchy" neighborhood that would make most people nervous to walk around in, even during the day.

Property
Huntington room - word of caution. The bed was very high and terribly uncomfortable. The bed being high included step stools for both sides. My wife fell down and hurt herself in the dark trying to step up with the pathetic excuse of a stool they had given us. (see picture). Please be careful if your older or not steady on your feet or even just half awake or you will crack an ankle. Some paint and exterior is in need of touch up.
Side parking lot charges $5 day which seems silly at this price point. Wifi is poor based on tests from front porch to 2nd floor rooms. I'm a computer geek so I know. Stairs, being an older property, were frankly scary like Europe. Just Take care carrying your luggage. Front porch was comfy, but small, accommodating only two couples.
Saw several homeless and definitely some with mental issues wandering around the front of the property. They were doing all kinds of weird things like Rubbing the fire hydrant, and harassing other women etc. One woman (frankly looked schizo) yelled rather violently then ran off. The inn obviously has had issues in the past because they had Two sets of security lock levels including number codes and then keys to get in. They lock up tight at 9pm. Some Adjacent buildings had Graffiti on walls and appeared very run down.

In short, wasn't for us. Wished we had stayed at he bohemian waterfront or the new boutique hotel cotton sails on river street.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank u2fan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay for your Anniversary and an upcoming birthday. We hope that you enjoyed the Chocolate Covered Strawberries we had for you in your room on arrival. It was sad to hear that you have some concerns with the quality and service we offer and we continually seek feedback from our guests for improvement suggestions. Let me address some of your comments.

We have a residential kitchen and thus we have a fixed menu. The next day’s menu is posted daily and during the check-in tour we suggests to our guests if that it is always possible to request something different. We would gladly have given you another choice over our Southern Sausage Souffle with Tomato Gravy, if you had only let us know. We do keep the coffee flowing during the breakfast service hours. At all other times we have a Pod System Coffee Maker for guest use. It’s hard to understand how one can say that a freshly made cup of coffee from our Pod Coffee is NOT fresh - you just made it!

Our wine social hour is from 5 to 6 pm daily and contrary to what this guest believed we do not serve pre-sliced grocery store cheese. We are always looking for Farm to Table options and the majority of our cheeses come from a local farm, Flat Creek Lodge. Every night of your stay we also create a delectable dessert as a “good night” treat - We are happy that you enjoyed our Cranberry Carrot Cake.

As you can imagine, a house that is almost 130 years old is going to require constant maintenance and upkeep. We have a schedule of maintenance from sanding, painting, window cleaning and caulking, to yard work, to deep cleaning. Yes, you will occasionally see areas that are in need of work.

The room this guest stayed in has a loft king-sized bed with, yes, two stools to aid in the ascent (LOL). I am surprised he didn’t give his wife the 2-step stool as he was tall enough to only need the one-step - oh well. Thank you for pointing out that one of the stools may be a bit small for some of our guests and we will be replacing it. Bed comfort has never been an issue at our inn. We are more often than not praised for the excellent night sleep and the reluctance to climb out of bed even for coffee. Perhaps it is time for the innkeeper to test that bed overnight!

We do have a wraparound porch with only six chairs set into small groups. The beautiful picture this guest took is of the side porch which during good weather is accessed via a floor to ceiling window that slides up into the wall of the room above! You really do have to see it to believe the genius of the plan.

The Historic District is 2-square miles and full of incredible little “parks” (which we call squares). Savannah’s beauty and wonderful architecture is best enjoyed on foot - it’s hard to look up from a car or slow down to enjoy the intricacies of our city’s past. We are located 1 block from Forsyth Park-which was just named a top 25 Park in the US by Trip Advisor- and about a 15-20 minute walk through lovely historic Savannah and it’s squares to River Street, which is as far north as you can go. We are in a residential section of the city, which gives you bit of calm from the late-night hustle and bustle of River and Bay streets. We assume that the “sketchy” neighborhood that you are referring to a 1950’s architectural atrocity that was typical of the times. The building does include some low-income housing – as I have repeatedly acknowledged – but in no way reflects negatively on our neighborhood. As a matter of fact, the Mansion on Forsyth – the only 5-star hotel in Savannah – shares the same corner with this building. The Virginia School of Law is renovating a building on the very same corner as our high-rise – the old Candler Hospital. One of the most successful restaurants in Savannah is located directly across the street from the building – and this restaurant and I rent space from the same parking lot. It is sad that this traveler has no tolerance for those less fortunate than we are, but I assure you we have not had any issues with our neighbors. Lastly, our doors. In Savannah, two “outer” doors is common. The first door will be open during the day to indicate that you are indeed home, but there is a second inner door that allows you visitors to step out of the weather while knocking. So yes, we do have 2 locks but one other reason for to have two locks is as a precaution when a guest leaves or enters without remembering to lock the outer door. This is a city, and that is common sense.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do always take reviews and feedback as an opportunity to improve our guests experience. We pride ourselves on our service and sharing our love for the city. Again we do encourage guests to let your innkeeper know during your stay if you are unhappy with anything, because we can guarantee that they will always bend over backwards to fix any problem immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved our stay at Azalea Inn and Gardens. The location is just off of beautiful Forsythe Park. The proprietress is friendly and fun. The food is AMAZING. Thanks again for a wonderful visit! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group the carriage house/cottage they have off of the main inn would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLSHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay! And we do try to make our food as delicious as possible, so I am glad that you loved it all! Savannah is a beautiful city almost any time of year, so be sure and come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My sisters, Mother and I took a trip to Savannah for a girls getaway and happened to find the most wonderful bed and breakfast to stay in. Teresa and her staff at the Azalea Inn and Gardens went above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable ever. They even redid dinner reservations several times due to travel difficulties in getting to Savannah and were the most gracious and accommodating in doing so. The Inn is spectacular and our rooms were great. We especially loved having our own little porch to sit outside and enjoy the pool area. Breakfast every morning was awesome and so delicious. If you truly would like your stay in Savannah to be absolutely wonderful, Azalea Inn and Gardens is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We so enjoyed all of you also! It can be so frustrating when you are trying to have time together and then weather or airline problems delay some, as was your case. We are very happy to try our best to fix anything that we possibly can to try and make those type of delays easier on all of you. At least you all were able to enjoy your time together and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the Inn so much and especially appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review. There is so much to see and do in Savannah, so now you gals will have to start planning the return trip to do some of the things you didn't have time for this trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my first time at a Bed and Breakfast so I didn't really know what to expect. What a wonderful experience. From the moment you check in the staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. My cousin and I had the top floor of the carriage house and found it to be very nice... from the beautiful bed linens to the luxurious bathrobes to the lavender body scrub...then there's the fantastic breakfasts - don't know where to start with this one! Only to say that it will keep you filled all day. Great location too. No need for a car...you can walk just about everywhere. Would definetely recommend...and we're "talkin" two very particular ladies.
Hats off to Theresa and her staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Many say that it is all in the details and that is completely how we feel here at the Azalea Inn. Every detail, small and large is important to us, as it is these details that can make your vacation perfect, or not so perfect! We are always looking for that ‘perfect’ outcome! So very happy to hear that you ‘gals’, who happen to be a bit ‘particular’ were pleased with the details! We take the bedding, linens, robes, soap, lotion, food……on and on…..ALL very seriously! We want each guest to have a wonderful memory of the Inn and the wonders that Savannah offers. We too love our location. So close to the beautiful city in the heart of the historic district, but still in a quiet section, that is so peaceful and relaxing, but yet just a couple of minutes away from all that Savannah offers. We look forward to you gals returning for another cousin getaway and we will continue to exceed your expectations! Thanks to you both! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We chose Savannah to celebrate our wedding anniversary, but choosing the Azalea Inn & Gardens made our trip truly unforgettable! We are from the South and accustomed to Southern hospitality, but Teresa and her wonderful staff take hospitality and charm to a new level! We booked the Magnolia suite with a lovely private balcony overlooking the pool and gardens, and, when we chose to extend our stay an extra day, we were blessed to experience the luxurious vacation cottage! NO detail is overlooked, from honoring our anniversary to trip planning assistance, scrumptious breakfasts to evening wine and appetizers, even creamed sherry before bed! Teresa is a fabulous host and she has true gems in Diane and Shannon. We arrived as new friends and left feeling like family. We've only been home a week and already hope to return in the fall.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyfulpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Well, as I am sure you already know, we also feel like our guests are family too! It is the very best part of the job to welcome new guests, but especially to welcome return guests (as you both will be now!!). We are always aiming to not only provide great service and make your vacation wonderful and special, but ALWAYS looking to push things to the next level; so your comment is that much more appreciated!! Thank you BOTH for being exactly the wonderful, special guests that make this business such a pleasure and NOT at ALL a job! We will so look forward to your next trip and will once again be looking for ways to make your vacation time extra special!! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We visit every year. Staying at Azaleas is like staying with a good friend. Always welcoming. So convenient to Leocis, which we love for dinner. You will be hooked for a return visit!!! Great place to relax use as headquarters when touring Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfriedrichfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Our favorite part of innkeeping is enjoying the return guests that are more like family than guests! We love seeing familiar faces over and over again! Thank you for being loyal guests and truly like family to us. Until the next time you need a 'headquarters' here in town! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#1 of 30 in Savannah
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,460 reviews
Presidents' Quarters Inn
#5 of 30 in Savannah
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Inn & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn & Villas

Address: 217 E Huntingdon St, Savannah, GA 31401-5714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £135 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azalea Inn & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendevous at the romantic Azalea Inn & gardens, an historic Savannah Georgia bed and breakfast inn (ca 1889) in the colonial Savannah garden district featuring parking, reinvented southern cuisine, heritage gardens, balconies, courtyard pool, and veranda with rockers. An ideal Savannah Georgia vacation idea, romantic wedding engagement place, scenic colonial coast tour, photographic walking vacation, boutique downtown shopping in the Design District, or just-because romantic or friends getaway. Ask about business travel rate, Sunday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Azalea Inn & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Inn And Gardens
Azalea Inn & Gardens Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing