We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Hamilton-Turner Inn was without exception the loveliest place we stayed while in the US. This building is a historic gem- breathtakingly beautiful and full of character and charm. She is spotlessly cleaned and maintained, immaculately dressed and presented and graciously served by all of her staff. Located opposite a gorgeous park right in the heart of the historic district, everything was easily accessible from her door. We walked everywhere, not requiring a taxi once. Our room was in the daylight basement so we had our own front door which was very convenient and private. The room was luxurious and without fault. The decor perfectly complimented the building. Breakfast was a home made southern delight of restaurant standards. The staff were friendly, helpful but unintrusive. Altogether, a perfect little inn in a perfect location within one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world. Don't miss staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a basement room if you want private access into the inn
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdeppisyourlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
There are newer reviews for Hamilton-Turner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

For starters the Hamilton Turner Inn is in my opinion the most beautiful house in the Historic District. Gay and Jim Dunlop as well as their staff were completely amazing. They were all very helpful in getting checked in/out and with any reservation needed. This was our 1st time (Feb) to Savannah and it will not be our last. The location is right in the middle of the historic district and in Lafayette Sq across from the Andrew Low House. Their attention to detail was amazing. The Juliet Gordon Low room was great and always turned down in the evening. From 4-8pm they serve sweet tea with smaller desserts, followed by a wine & cheese hour. It doesn't stop there as port is served in the evening.

As for the city of Savannah just plug in what I've written above. Amazing!!! The cost for tours and dining was minimal and the locals (EVERYONE) were very informative and hospitable. I guess everything is less expensive when you come from Boston MA.

I can't wait to comeback and stay at the H.T.I. again.

Room Tip: If you don't need an oversized room then the Juliet Gordon Low room is perfect
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This year, on our way to a 3 week stay in Florida, I finally convinced my husband to stop over in Savannah for two nights. I found the Inn on line (we have a dog and they thankfully accommodate small pets) .
Our room was a bit small, but worked just fine for we three.
Breakfasts were wonderful and as a side note, my husband had a conference call to make which took 40
minutes. We were to have our meal at 8:30am. The staff was kind enough to allow us to eat later than we were scheduled, which worked out just fine. We certainly would recommend the Inn and stay again, if ever we find our way by to Savannah.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777zubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I just spent three lovely, highly enjoyable nights at the Hamiliton-Turner Inn in Savanna. We were driving my car down to our home in florida, and decided to breakup the trip with a mini vacation. We decided we wanted to experience staying in one of the Historic Mansions in Savanna. We hadn't stayed in a Bed and Breakfast in a long while and felt we would be pampered at the Inn, which we were. We chose the Noble Jones room. It had a king bed, large bathroom, working gas fireplace (that we used quite a lot), was on the third floor, and had a perfect view of Lafayette Square. Jim and Gay Dunlop the owners made sure we had everything we needed to have a perfect stay. They were wonderful hosts, and their staff was great. Food and beverages were put out for us all day. A sumptuous
gourmet breakfast was served in the morning in the dining room, iced tea and lemonade with cakes in the early afternoon, wine and hors d'euvres at 5:30, and port wine after dinner. Since it was the middle of Janurary, Savanna was pretty quiet. It seemed at times the Hamiliton-Turner Inn was our very own private home.. It was nice however, when other quests did arrive because everyone was friendly and chatted. We were given excellent suggestions where to have dinner. We loved two of the three restaurants we chose. Do eat at Noble Fare, and Alligator Soul. Skip the Pink House unless you enjoy a tour of the place while you eat and prefer terrible service and average food. Parking was not a problem anywhere in Savanna. We were able to park on the streets next to the Inn, as they didn't have a parking lot, anytime day or night. I would highly recommend the Hamiliton_turner Inn to anyone seeking an elegant, romantic, and private setting. My husband and I will look foward to staying there again when we visit Savanna.

Room Tip: How you chose a room there has to do more with costs, and location in the Inn. There are all prices...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llev800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were in Savanna four days and stayed at Hamilton-Turner. Our experience was exeptional. They made our dinner reservations before we arrived and all the resturants
were 4-5 star except one. Garibaldi's, where both meals were poor. The inn keeper called them to register our complaint. I will return to Hamilton-Turner the next time I am in Savanna.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We are so pleased that you had a “great experience” at our Inn. We understand that our guests, during their visit to Savannah, intend to explore our beautiful city. Therefore, we attempt to take care of those things that permit you to add more time to your exploration and less time on planning them. So it is our pleasure to not only provide you with restaurant and tour suggestions, but to arrange them for you as well.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property and hope that you will choose our Inn should your return to Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We went to Savannah from Charleston by train and stayed there for four nights. The location was ideal, and the building very pretty, the staff duly professional, but on the last day we had to leave with a sad feeling that we were not well taken care of.
On that day, our train to New York was to leave at 7:30PM. At 10AM, we checked out and asked the innkeeper lady to keep our luggage until we come back from the day’s sightseeing. We also asked her to call a taxi at about 6:30PM (the train station is about 15 minutes away). We were planning to lounge in their beautiful parlor the last hour.
The innkeeper said that she wanted to call the taxi at 5:30PM. When we said it would be too early, she said that at 5:30 they serve hors d’oeuvres in the parlor, so she would like us to be out of the inn by then, she did not want us to have an access to the parlor and the routine refreshment since we had checked out. We were shocked to know her dry policy. It was not what we expected from their advertised word “Southern hospitality.”
We did not argue and did as she said. The tax came at 5:30 and we arrived at the station at 5:45, and we had to wait for almost two hours doing nothing (in and around Savannah Station there is not even a coffee stand) until 7:30PM. It was a sad way to spend the last hour of our wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are less expensive but had no view and very small, little natural light.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank YukoBigSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 4night stay with us. It’s very unfortunate that our sincere efforts to accommodate you, after you checked out of the Inn, have left a bad impression on you both.

Our check out time is 11AM, and we made accommodations for you the guests as well as your luggage for over 6hours after you had checked out of the Inn. As you are aware, our complimentary hour of wine and hors d’oeuvres is a very busy time for the Inn and is for our registered guests only (those checking in or staying over) not those who have checked out. Because we were fully committed, it made it impossible to have you stay over during this time which we would have been more than happy to explain if you would have asked if staying over was optional opposed to assuming.

As you may recall, the taxi pick up time was suggested by the taxi company and not the Innkeeper as they were concerned about the amount of evening traffic and getting you to your destination in a timely manner.

I sincerely believe that our accommodations and services provided to you, again over 6hours after you checked out, shows our great desire to please our guests and was indeed an example of our generous “southern hospitality”.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I loved this place, the staff was professional and the room was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you for your review!

What a pleasure it is to hear that you “loved it here” at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. As our valued guests, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £186 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing