We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Marshall House(Savannah)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The DeSoto(Savannah)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveller rating
1,248
136
41
14
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
136
41
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslafayette squareevening portnoble jonescookiescarriage houseport wineother guestshomemade granolaevening wineprivate entrancesouthern breakfastbed and breakfastturn down servicebreakfast was deliciousthe main housesouthern hospitalitytrip to savannah
Filter
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Service, extras, warm and informative staff. The fact they really care you are having a great time in a city they really love is apparent! Rooms are elegant and spacious! Breakfast is always a very special experience. Best holiday in a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmtntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Hamilton Turner Inn. We enjoyed the Inn immensely. The location in the historic district of Savannah was perfect. We like to walk with our guide books and check out a city on our own, and the Inn was perfectly situated for that. Our room, Mary Telfair 303, was beautiful. It felt like we were in a treehouse! The breakfasts were delicious, as were the goodies in the parlor in the afternoon. But most importantly, the service was top notch. Everyone we came in contact with, from the owners, to the manager Jeremy, and all the other men and women working there, were so friendly and accommodating. We asked for some casual but upscale restaurant recommendations, and were given some good choices. Thank you to all at the Hamilton Turner Inn for making the Savannah portion of our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: The Mary Telfair room was up one flight of stairs. The stairways are long because the ceilings are so high on each floor. There is no elevator. Our room had a small vanity, so counter space in the bathroom was at a minimum. It was a high step over the into the claw foot tub to take a shower.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here on our first time trip to Savannah and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and interior spaces very much. Everything was clean and immaculate and the service was impeccable. The gardens were beautiful and the gate that we walked in that led to our carriage house accommodations was covered in Confederate jasmine that had the most wonderful smell. On our arrival, we were greeted warmly and the desk attendant booked a carriage ride for us for the next day that picked us up right at the front door. Before we even arrived, we were sent a list of recommended restaurants and we chose to eat at choices from that list both nights of our stay. We were not disappointed with either choice and appreciated that little touch of hospitality. We stayed in the Conrad Aiken Room Room 502 which was in the carriage house. The room was at the top of the stairs and I was a bit surprised that it was much smaller than what is pictured on the website. The space was used very efficiently and there was plenty of room on both sides of the bed to walk around. We did not spend much time in the room except for sleeping so this was not a big deal. The bathroom was tiny but not uncomfortably so and it is ensuite which I noticed that some of the rooms in the carriage house did not have. Both the bath and the room were beautifully appointed and spotless. The water pressure was excellent and the towels were soft, thick and plentiful. We had turndown service and treats left on the pillow. There is a small window in that room but we could not figure out how to open it. If you are picky about mattresses you should know that the king bed in this room is actually two twin beds pushed together. There are separate box springs and mattresses with a padded overlay that turns them into a king. The bedding was comfortable except that there was a sag where the two beds came together. It makes it a bit difficult to get comfortable if you actually like to sleep with your spouse. We ended up on different sides of the bed both nights! Worth mentioning is that the carriage house has a lower level common room with a TV and sofa that can be used if things get to crowded in your room. There are books and magazines there and it looked to be quite comfortable. You can also go over to the main house and mingle with other guests in a beautifully appointed parlor where they serve coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon, wine in the evening and port at night as well as provide a good selection of local and national papers. We didn't mind signing up for a breakfast time though I wondered what we might have done if we had missed it. The breakfast was served by the owners of the house and they were both very pleasant and friendly and eager to make everyone comfortable. The breakfast was only fair in my opinion--- the fruit on the buffet was not fresh and the milk for the granola was not cold. The hot entree was very heavy and not warm enough. I would have preferred something simpler with a bit more protein on the plate--like plain old eggs and bacon/sausage. There is only one choice for breakfast. One interesting issue I had with the dining experience is that the dining chairs are too low--when you sit you are expecting to feel the bottom of the chair and it's about an inch lower than expected so you really plop down! I watched several people do this so I know it was not just me. Minor issue, but it's a little disorienting early in the morning. The decor of hotel is late 80's/early 90's big florals and color schemes (i.e. raspberry paint in the dining room, Laura Ashley prints) but it looks as fresh as the day it was put up and does fit the house nicely. The exterior is freshly painted and immaculate. We were told that this house was the model for the Haunted Mansion at Disney and we definitely saw the resemblance. This Inn was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do and we felt very safe here. It was very quiet at night although we could here people in the bathroom adjacent bathroom very clearly coming and going. We enjoyed our stay here and even though I am not a "bed and breakfast" person, this is the best experience I have had in one. We loved Savannah and appreciated the hospitality that was shown to us here. Thank you for a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Room 502 is very small but the space is well used. King bed is actually two twin beds pushed together and so it sags a bit in the middle. Bathroom is small but ensuite and not uncomfortable to use. Has a small window but it doesn't open from the inside. This room is at the top of a small staircase. There is a common room that can be used by all guests in the carriage house. Nicely appointed and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We just returned from a two night stay and recommend it highly. Staff exceptionally service-oriented, public roomsand bedroom charming, location perfect. Only negatives were a very difficult- to- use shower handle that we had problems with and hearing people walk/ talk on the first floor while I was trying to take a nap after taking a very early morning flight to Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor noisy during day; had trouble napping after an early flight. Also had a weird shower handle/ valve so avoid Room 201..
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your visit. We so appreciate you informing us of the issue as we work to rectify the issue for our future guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Inn while celebrating our first wedding anniversary. The Inn is very beautiful and grand. My husband and I are not fervent B&B or Inn stayers because we tend to like a little more privacy. So, we stayed in the carriage house which we really liked b/c it has it's own entrance and felt more private. The staff was fantastic! Friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was not the best I have ever had, but it was good and the dinning room was beautiful. It was nice to start the day looking out onto beautiful Lafayette square, sipping coffee out of the fine china and listening to the Inn owner tell stories about the home. Ghost tours are a big deal in Savannah and evidently the Inn is supposed to be haunted. So, our favorite thing was coming back after our night out and passing all the ghost tours that were stopped in front of the Inn and even though we had a private gate at the side we could have used to get to our room, we would go through the big, grand front doors just to hear their reactions. I head someone say "No, don't go in there!" We thought it was great and it made us laugh. Truly a wonderful Inn and we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Conrad Aiken room and it was fine, but the bathroom is super tiny.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your Anniversary trip. We are honored that you would choose our Inn to spend such a wonderful occasion.

I do hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews