We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to stay...”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were visiting from the UK and stayed 3 nights at the Hamilton Turner Inn in April 2013.

The inn itself is a gorgeous old building refurbished to a very high standard and full of period pieces. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay. Both were beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

Various refreshments are served in the drawing room daily. The iced lemonade in the afternoon was particularly welcome after a day sightseeing. We also enjoyed the opportuity of meeting fellow guests over our morning coffee.

All staff members, and indeed the owners, were friendly, efficient and helpful. We could not have been more looked after throughout our entire stay.

My husband and I both thought Savannah was one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited, and hope to return one day. If we are fortunate enough to do so, we would definitely stay at the Hamilton Turner Inn - it's the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    114
    34
    14
    22
See reviews for
150
799
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn, a marvelous B&B for two nights. The staff could not have been more helpful, the location was very convenient and the furnishings were beautiful in this stunning Victorian mansion. We stayed in the Earl of Chatham Suite. It was large, clean, bright, nicely decorated and the neighborhood was quiet for sleeping. We look forward to returning to this beautiful B&B on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Service, extras, warm and informative staff. The fact they really care you are having a great time in a city they really love is apparent! Rooms are elegant and spacious! Breakfast is always a very special experience. Best holiday in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmtntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Hamilton Turner Inn. We enjoyed the Inn immensely. The location in the historic district of Savannah was perfect. We like to walk with our guide books and check out a city on our own, and the Inn was perfectly situated for that. Our room, Mary Telfair 303, was beautiful. It felt like we were in a treehouse! The breakfasts were delicious, as were the goodies in the parlor in the afternoon. But most importantly, the service was top notch. Everyone we came in contact with, from the owners, to the manager Jeremy, and all the other men and women working there, were so friendly and accommodating. We asked for some casual but upscale restaurant recommendations, and were given some good choices. Thank you to all at the Hamilton Turner Inn for making the Savannah portion of our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: The Mary Telfair room was up one flight of stairs. The stairways are long because the ceilings are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here on our first time trip to Savannah and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and interior spaces very much. Everything was clean and immaculate and the service was impeccable. The gardens were beautiful and the gate that we walked in that led to our carriage house accommodations was covered in Confederate jasmine that had the most wonderful smell. On our arrival, we were greeted warmly and the desk attendant booked a carriage ride for us for the next day that picked us up right at the front door. Before we even arrived, we were sent a list of recommended restaurants and we chose to eat at choices from that list both nights of our stay. We were not disappointed with either choice and appreciated that little touch of hospitality. We stayed in the Conrad Aiken Room Room 502 which was in the carriage house. The room was at the top of the stairs and I was a bit surprised that it was much smaller than what is pictured on the website. The space was used very efficiently and there was plenty of room on both sides of the bed to walk around. We did not spend much time in the room except for sleeping so this was not a big deal. The bathroom was tiny but not uncomfortably so and it is ensuite which I noticed that some of the rooms in the carriage house did not have. Both the bath and the room were beautifully appointed and spotless. The water pressure was excellent and the towels were soft, thick and plentiful. We had turndown service and treats left on the pillow. There is a small window in that room but we could not figure out how to open it. If you are picky about mattresses you should know that the king bed in this room is actually two twin beds pushed together. There are separate box springs and mattresses with a padded overlay that turns them into a king. The bedding was comfortable except that there was a sag where the two beds came together. It makes it a bit difficult to get comfortable if you actually like to sleep with your spouse. We ended up on different sides of the bed both nights! Worth mentioning is that the carriage house has a lower level common room with a TV and sofa that can be used if things get to crowded in your room. There are books and magazines there and it looked to be quite comfortable. You can also go over to the main house and mingle with other guests in a beautifully appointed parlor where they serve coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon, wine in the evening and port at night as well as provide a good selection of local and national papers. We didn't mind signing up for a breakfast time though I wondered what we might have done if we had missed it. The breakfast was served by the owners of the house and they were both very pleasant and friendly and eager to make everyone comfortable. The breakfast was only fair in my opinion--- the fruit on the buffet was not fresh and the milk for the granola was not cold. The hot entree was very heavy and not warm enough. I would have preferred something simpler with a bit more protein on the plate--like plain old eggs and bacon/sausage. There is only one choice for breakfast. One interesting issue I had with the dining experience is that the dining chairs are too low--when you sit you are expecting to feel the bottom of the chair and it's about an inch lower than expected so you really plop down! I watched several people do this so I know it was not just me. Minor issue, but it's a little disorienting early in the morning. The decor of hotel is late 80's/early 90's big florals and color schemes (i.e. raspberry paint in the dining room, Laura Ashley prints) but it looks as fresh as the day it was put up and does fit the house nicely. The exterior is freshly painted and immaculate. We were told that this house was the model for the Haunted Mansion at Disney and we definitely saw the resemblance. This Inn was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do and we felt very safe here. It was very quiet at night although we could here people in the bathroom adjacent bathroom very clearly coming and going. We enjoyed our stay here and even though I am not a "bed and breakfast" person, this is the best experience I have had in one. We loved Savannah and appreciated the hospitality that was shown to us here. Thank you for a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Room 502 is very small but the space is well used. King bed is actually two twin beds pushed togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We just returned from a two night stay and recommend it highly. Staff exceptionally service-oriented, public roomsand bedroom charming, location perfect. Only negatives were a very difficult- to- use shower handle that we had problems with and hearing people walk/ talk on the first floor while I was trying to take a nap after taking a very early morning flight to Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor noisy during day; had trouble napping after an early flight. Also had a weird s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your visit. We so appreciate you informing us of the issue as we work to rectify the issue for our future guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Inn while celebrating our first wedding anniversary. The Inn is very beautiful and grand. My husband and I are not fervent B&B or Inn stayers because we tend to like a little more privacy. So, we stayed in the carriage house which we really liked b/c it has it's own entrance and felt more private. The staff was fantastic! Friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was not the best I have ever had, but it was good and the dinning room was beautiful. It was nice to start the day looking out onto beautiful Lafayette square, sipping coffee out of the fine china and listening to the Inn owner tell stories about the home. Ghost tours are a big deal in Savannah and evidently the Inn is supposed to be haunted. So, our favorite thing was coming back after our night out and passing all the ghost tours that were stopped in front of the Inn and even though we had a private gate at the side we could have used to get to our room, we would go through the big, grand front doors just to hear their reactions. I head someone say "No, don't go in there!" We thought it was great and it made us laugh. Truly a wonderful Inn and we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Conrad Aiken room and it was fine, but the bathroom is super tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your Anniversary trip. We are honored that you would choose our Inn to spend such a wonderful occasion.

I do hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing