We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a really nice stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It's in the heart of the historic district (where I prefer to stay when in Savannah) which allows for some wonderful walking tours of the area. The breakfast was excellent both mornings, with plenty of hot coffee, fresh juice, fruit, phenomenal pastries, and homemade granola. Our entrees were cooked to order and fueled us up for our activities. The staff is formal and polite but very helpful and gracious. We especially enjoyed the privacy and quiet atmosphere of the inn - a far cry from the bustling hotels near the river. Our room, though small, was more than adequate, with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage space for a long weekend. I would definitely stay here again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthBeKnown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    119
    37
    14
    21
See reviews for
171
848
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family and I spent a few days in Savannah and stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. What a wonderful place. It's in a excellent location downtown, very close to the nightlife and great restaurants. Plus the complimentary breakfast was to die for. The turn down in the evening was a nice touch. Next time we are back in town we already know where to stay and you will too if you stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in roon 304 and 402 great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRU1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Wasnt really expecting a bed and breakfast to be the #1 place to stay in Savannah, but it lived up to everyones recommendations. We stayed 2 nights in the eli whitney room. The room was very nice, historic appearing, and what we cared mostly for...had a very comfortable bed. We had a back entrance to come and go as we pleased without walking through the main part of the house. The employees were great, we were warmly greeted from everyone that worked at the Inn. Nice little amenities, wine and cheese hour, night time port before bed and of course complimentary breakfast, all included. Breakfast includes a continental breakfast section with all your cereals, yogurts, etc and then a served cooked portion; we had quiche the first day and pancakes the second day, both were good, nothing exceptional for breakfast, but good

I thought that parking would be difficult because its street parking only, but the front desk will help find you a spot in the neighborhood. We didnt have much trouble at all, and you really dont need your car once you get here. We left it parked in the same spot and just walked everywhere.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, nothing bad to say about this place

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jdang8394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Amazing, beautiful, comfortable, helpful, delicious complimentary breakfast. 5 stars.
The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was always tidied while we ate breakfast, and turned down while we were out for dinner. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. This will be "our place" when we visit Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahFranMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We just spent a few days in Savannah and stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. I can only say – fantastic! Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was amazing and seemed to anticipate our every need. Breakfasts were scrumptious and we really appreciated the wine and hor dourves when returning after a long day of sight-seeing. The cookies on our pillow at night were a big hit, as well! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The bathroom was gorgeous but the lighting does not lend itself to applying makedup! A lighted vani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinx_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Hamilton-Turner Inn is under new ownership as of July 1, and so far so good! The staff is friendly and helpful; the breakfasts are delicious; and the rooms are comfortable. I didn't appreciate the music playing throughout the building at 8am (disconnect those hall speakers!) and bathroom lighting could be improved, but that may happen over time. One very nice touch: staff may not accept gratuities directly, but there's an envelope for a guest to leave at departure (if so inclined), so all tips are pooled. And yummy cookies at bedtime are another good treat.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are charmingly decorated but dark- don't stay there if natural light is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful location. Beautifil house. Very, very nice and kind personel. Good, clean and spacious room. Good, but very very disappointing breakfast, I had expected more - just ham and eggs no creativity at all.. During breakfast the hostess took all attention to herself and encouraged no interaction among fellow travelers at all. Annoying was that there was no wifi access for our devices in the rooms were we were, at the back (please add a repeater, or do something that solves that).

The restaurant advices (& reservations made..) were super

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xs2alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience.

First, please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. Our internet has since been repaired as we were experiencing Inn wide issues as it relates to internet access.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope for the opportunity to have as our guest should your travels lead you back to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,744 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,076 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing