We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Elopement Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is my first TripAdvisor review and it is because our experience at the Hamilton-Turner Inn was beyond exceptional. We purchased the elopement package which included 2 nights stay, a minister, a champagne toast and an 8-inch cake. You can have 4 attendees if they stay on the premises. My fiancé and I arrived Monday Jan. 13. We were given a tour of the hotel upon our arrival. We stayed in the James Oglethorpe room. My fiancé requested a floral bouquet be in the room. He only described what I liked and the price range he wanted to stay within and the bouquet we received was beautiful and fit the romantic feel of our room. Our family arrived the next day and stayed in the Carriage House. This was perfect for them as they were able to have their private rooms but visit with one another in their own living room.

The breakfast that was served each morning was phenomenal. They even altered the menu slightly as I have a gluten intolerance. On the day of our wedding, Suzie was there to ensure that all our needs were met. Our ceremony was across the street in Lafayette Square. She made sure that everything went off without a hitch. I had the wedding of my dreams because of the professionalism, sincerity, and attention to detail that all the employees at the Hamilton-Turner provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was travelling with my dog and so happy to find that this lovely B&B allowed us to stay. The bed was an absolute dream! I would definitely stay there again. There were lots of cute places to walk to for anything from a quick snack to a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This place is great. The house is so beautiful and was nicely decorated for Christmas. One of the employees came out to our car and took our luggage up to our room for us. We had originally booked another room but they upgraded us to a nicer room. I absolutely loved this room! It's in the corner and has a balcony with a beautiful view of the square. It has a four post bed and working fireplace! The bathroom was huge with a whirlpool tub. The bed was extremely comfortable with clean white sheets.

At different times, the parlor had wine and snacks. They had a selection of DVDs to take back to your room and a lot of them were new releases.

Breakfast was delicious. There's really nothing bad to say about this place. I wish I stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unfrostedpop-tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It is romantic however, the shower didn't function 100% - we've let the Inn know through a separate review, however for the price, this should not have occurred. Otherwise, the room and home are extremely romantic and charming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chopra1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is by far the most beautiful place in Savannah. You feel more like a guest of the city and less like a visitor when compared to staying at a chain hotel. They mention that this is best for children over 12. We didn't know and brought a 3 month old but they were still accommodating. Because it is an old building, you can hear a lot so I can see why they would say its best for older children. They are pet friendly but I would say they are pet "tolerant." Pets are not allowed out of the rooms or in the common areas. Pet rooms have private entrances. They have breakfast every morning and each time the food was fantastic! If you want to experience the best of Savannah you have to stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Beautiful accommodations, excellent service, delicious breakfast. Location couldn't be better, but once inside, we felt far removed from the tourist scene. Far superior to the other highly-rated inn that we've stayed in. Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: My daughter and I stayed on the top (third) floor in the John Wesley room with two queen-sized beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SightSeer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stay at a lot of really nice B&Bs, but this one may well have been the overall best. Our room was lovely, the staff was A1 helpful (e.g., one of them even moved his car to make a place for us to park, parking is always a little challenging in old Savannah), the breakfasts outstanding. In terms of location the inn is as good as any in old Savannah, just enough "off the path" to be pretty quiet.

This inn has a very at-home felol. We will be back.

Room Tip: A view of the square is particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
3,004 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £180 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing