We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Spacious, Warm and Most Inviting Savannah Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Great location in a very-well maintained historic building, filled with beautifully-furnished, large rooms. Period details throughout entire building, grand high ceilings and broad stairways, with a front parlor warm and hospitable as can be.

Hosts are great for conversation, local assistance and ideas.. as well as having wonderful taste in decor, menu and ambiance! They provide a great experience!

Best B & B we have visited --- highly recommended for one or several days!
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petelobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

My wife & I regard Savannah as one of the most beautiful small cities anywhere. We and another couple recently visited for 6 days & our visit was considerably enhanced by our stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. Located in a handsome, historic building on Lafayette Square, right in the middle of the historic district, the Inn is very well managed by the hands-on owners, assisted by by a helpful & capable staff. We stayed in the 3 bedroom carriage house which has its own living area & outdoor courtyard. Since the 3rd bedroom wasn't occupied for most of our visit, it was like having our own comfortable apartment, with all the conveniences of a first-rate b&b. One of our best b&b experiences ever!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This inn is absolutley lovely. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Everything from the time you arrive to the time you leave makes this a wonderful customer experience. The friendly staff at the front desk, the chocolate brittle in the room when you arrive, the soft music, the turn down service all make the stay a delight. At the evening wine and cheese we enjoyed chatting with several other couples. At breakfast the next morning there was that same air of friendliness. And breakfast - what a meal -- served by the charming owner and at a time that meets your schedule!! The owners make this a special place. We were celebrating our anniversary and are sure to go back again. The location of the inn is on one of the scenic squares. This is truly a beautiful inn and the staff takes pride in making it a very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn for one night and were very impressed by all the staff. The Inn is amazing looking from the outside and just as beautiful inside. You will not be disappointed in the attention to detail throughout the Inn. There was lemonade/tea and dessert in the afternoon, wine & hor d'oeuvres (quiche & mini sandwiches) in the evening which was wonderful, turn-down service with cookies, and blueberry pancakes, sausage & eggs for breakfast. There was also a breakfast bar with fruit, granola, yogurt, etc. The dining room set-up is gorgeous... very upscale compared to many of the other B & B's we've stayed at. This Inn is located a little further away so be prepared to walk to the main shops, river street, and city market. The only downsides were that there is no mini-fridge in the room, the TV is a small older one (not flat screen), and while the claw foot tub is beautiful, it can be a little tricky & messy for a shower. We had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton-Turner and are glad that we had the opportunity to stay at such a beautiful Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyInPink98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

One reads a lot about southern hospitality and charm, rarely does one find a location that defines the cliche, in a good way.

Perfectly appointed, this is the ultimate in B&Bs. We're here with two labs, and couldn't have picked a better place anywhere. Dogs or no dogs!

Afternoon iced tea and lemonade are served,,,,later, wine with baked brie and chicken salad,,,,later port wine. We're looking forward to breakfast, big time! Oh yes, can't forget the chocolate brittle upon arrival, the best!

I asked for help with dinner reservations. Changed my mine upteen times, and ended up at their first recommendation, The Pink House, and couldn't have been happier.

Just wish this retreat were closer to home.

Love it love it love it

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

On our 2nd trip to Savannah, the Hamilton Turner Inn impressed us just as it did the first time! The staff makes you feel as if you are family. The rooms are all beautiful (they showed us several others that were un-occupied at the time). They impress with their little details such as turn down service, music in all the rooms and helpful concierge to aid you with reservations or suggestions on local activities. Savannah is such a beautiful historical city and the Hamilton Turner Inn fits perfectly! We will definitely return when we visit Savannah again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I just got back from a wknd trip to Savannah. We were lucky enough to stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. We have been to Savannah countless times and every time I've always commented on the beauty of the home and that it would be nice to stay there. Well, I was wrong. It was a wonderful stay. Even though check in was not until 3pm, we were able to check our bags and they gave us great advice on where the locals ate and shopped. That was great because we had done and seen most of the "tourist" areas and wanted a change of pace. If you want to venture away from the tourist area go over to Whitaker Street and go into La Paperie. It is a beautiful little shop that sells stationary and other little paper products. Not your typical store. Gary was wonderful to talk too and very helpful. Back to the Inn though, it was truly an experience. When we got to our room it was very cute. Our bags were already in there and put away which was nice b/c we were a bit tired after a day out in the sweltering Savannah humidity. We were out for the evening, so we missed out on the afternoon snacks. But my husband did get to enjoy the evening port and we loved the cookies that they left us for the nightly evening turndown service. We met some nice couples while we were there also. We had a good time joking around w/a haunted tour group. I took a picture of the tour group while they were taking pictures of the inn. Now that was funny. The next day we had breakfast at 9:30am, and we liked that b/c usually you have to get up at 8 or you miss out. We were able to choose a time that suited us. When it was time to check out I was a little sad b/c our time of luxury was coming to an end. My husband and I are already making plans to come back after the new year. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants to be treated like a king or queen.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copwife18Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,129 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £188 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing