We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 1st time experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I have always been hesitant about staying in a B&B because we like our personal space, but when I saw the Hamiliton-Turner Inn on Trip Advisor and read the reviews, my curiosity got the better of me. We booked the Oglethorpe Suite. The young man who greeted us at the front door portrayed an elegant quietness. He took our luggage and escorted us to our room while telling us times for evening hors d'oeuvres, evening port and breakfast, etc. The room was as pictured, "amazing" . On entering our room we heard music playing in the background and on a table we saw a small gift box displayed for us which was filled with delicious chocolate covered brittle. I felt as though I should pinch myself or my husband. We could hear the tour carriage and tour trolley guides telling passengers about the house as they passed by (The Oglethorpe suite is located on a front corner of the house). For just a moment this was our house. The bathroom and room were very clean and not dusty. We immediately went for dinner so we missed the hors d'oeuvres but returned for the evening port which we enjoyed in the Parlor sitting area. As I lay in the bed I could see the shadow of the old oak trees and moss hanging off the limbs. For a moment I imagined this house in its grandeur when women gathered in one room and being a gentlemen meant something. Breakfast was to be served at 9am by the owners we were told. We came down to breakfast where we heard laughter. There was fruit and muffins before the main course was served and plenty of very good coffee served on a beautiful set of china. We met one of the owners, Jim Dunlop who served us as promised. Oh so there are still gentlemen around (besides my husband). He was such a pleasure and also portrayed an elegant quietness. I wondered was this a requirement. We loved it. We were served a huge portion of stuffed french toast and bacon. Oh my goodness! The young couple we sat next to were also B&B 1st timers and we both agreed that if this was going to be our first experience then we had picked the right place. We dined at Alligator Soul and I can not say enough good things about the place. The food, the service and the ambiance (romantic) was just perfect to complete our visit. The Pink House is also a place to try out. Other couples gave rave reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank two2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed in the Eli Whitney room. When we checked in, the staff was very helpful and willing to answer any questions we had (being this was our first trip to Savannah). We booked a "travel package" through the hotel and I was unsure during booking as to how smooth things would be coordinated. However, EVERY ASPECT of the package was handled wonderfully. The tickets/gift certificates were all together in our room when we arrived. All we had to do was show up to the locations. We found the room to be quite nice. It was mostly brick inside, which gave it a unique feel. We learned a little bit about the history of the building which is facinating. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the afternoon tea every day. Overall, our trip was enhanced by our stay at The Hamilton-Turner Inn.

Also, the location is perfect. It isn't a long walk to anywhere in the historic district. When we return to Savannah, we will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hulksmashdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Great location in a very-well maintained historic building, filled with beautifully-furnished, large rooms. Period details throughout entire building, grand high ceilings and broad stairways, with a front parlor warm and hospitable as can be.

Hosts are great for conversation, local assistance and ideas.. as well as having wonderful taste in decor, menu and ambiance! They provide a great experience!

Best B & B we have visited --- highly recommended for one or several days!
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petelobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My wife & I regard Savannah as one of the most beautiful small cities anywhere. We and another couple recently visited for 6 days & our visit was considerably enhanced by our stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. Located in a handsome, historic building on Lafayette Square, right in the middle of the historic district, the Inn is very well managed by the hands-on owners, assisted by by a helpful & capable staff. We stayed in the 3 bedroom carriage house which has its own living area & outdoor courtyard. Since the 3rd bedroom wasn't occupied for most of our visit, it was like having our own comfortable apartment, with all the conveniences of a first-rate b&b. One of our best b&b experiences ever!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This inn is absolutley lovely. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Everything from the time you arrive to the time you leave makes this a wonderful customer experience. The friendly staff at the front desk, the chocolate brittle in the room when you arrive, the soft music, the turn down service all make the stay a delight. At the evening wine and cheese we enjoyed chatting with several other couples. At breakfast the next morning there was that same air of friendliness. And breakfast - what a meal -- served by the charming owner and at a time that meets your schedule!! The owners make this a special place. We were celebrating our anniversary and are sure to go back again. The location of the inn is on one of the scenic squares. This is truly a beautiful inn and the staff takes pride in making it a very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn for one night and were very impressed by all the staff. The Inn is amazing looking from the outside and just as beautiful inside. You will not be disappointed in the attention to detail throughout the Inn. There was lemonade/tea and dessert in the afternoon, wine & hor d'oeuvres (quiche & mini sandwiches) in the evening which was wonderful, turn-down service with cookies, and blueberry pancakes, sausage & eggs for breakfast. There was also a breakfast bar with fruit, granola, yogurt, etc. The dining room set-up is gorgeous... very upscale compared to many of the other B & B's we've stayed at. This Inn is located a little further away so be prepared to walk to the main shops, river street, and city market. The only downsides were that there is no mini-fridge in the room, the TV is a small older one (not flat screen), and while the claw foot tub is beautiful, it can be a little tricky & messy for a shower. We had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton-Turner and are glad that we had the opportunity to stay at such a beautiful Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyInPink98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

One reads a lot about southern hospitality and charm, rarely does one find a location that defines the cliche, in a good way.

Perfectly appointed, this is the ultimate in B&Bs. We're here with two labs, and couldn't have picked a better place anywhere. Dogs or no dogs!

Afternoon iced tea and lemonade are served,,,,later, wine with baked brie and chicken salad,,,,later port wine. We're looking forward to breakfast, big time! Oh yes, can't forget the chocolate brittle upon arrival, the best!

I asked for help with dinner reservations. Changed my mine upteen times, and ended up at their first recommendation, The Pink House, and couldn't have been happier.

Just wish this retreat were closer to home.

Love it love it love it

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,970 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £159 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing