We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, delightful, relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
909 reviews
309 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“Romantic, delightful, relaxed”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My wife and I stayed for three nights in the Nathaniel Greene Suite on the second floor of the Hamilton-Turner Inn. The romance of historic Savannah was heightened by the building (reportedly the most photographed house in Savannah), the interior design, and the Southern hospitality of the innkeepers and staff. Fresh flowers, including fragrant lilies, decorate the halls and parlor, and had we stayed another couple of weeks, we would have been able to smell the magnolia blossoms around the front door.

Hospitality
Hospitality here is off the charts. All guests are greeted with a box of chocolates from Jim and Gay Dunlop, the innkeepers. The staff were Will, Ron, and Susan. Will directed us to a parking place and carried our heavy bag up to the second floor, and Ron brought it down three days later. The management made it a point to turn down the bed every evening, coordinated with the times we were out to dinner so as not to interrupt us. It was pleasant to return from dinner to our air-conditioned room and find romantic music playing on the CD player, a lamp showing the room in its best light, and a couple of fresh home-baked cookies waiting on the pillow. In late afternoons, two kinds of wine and three kinds of cheese were available in the parlor with a baked crab dip. When we wondered aloud if they might be offering coffee, Will made a pot of coffee especially for us and brought it up to our room. Later in the evening, after-dinner wine such as port was available. When we left, the innkeepers said goodbye to us and wished us safe travels. Jim and Gay seem born for innkeeping. We enjoyed being in the last shift of breakfasts because we could get to know Jim a little better. He has had a remarkable previous incarnation visiting many places in our part of the globe, covering most of Asia and East Asia for an agricultural products company.

Breakfasts
The innkeepers are involved in the preparation and serving of the breakfasts in shifts so that everyone can be seated comfortably in the dining room. The main breakfast dish changes daily, but guests always start off with juice, coffee/tea, cereal, muffins, and yogurt. The generous main dishes were all new to us. We looked forward to those breakfasts in the bright dining room, singing birds, and a window facing Lafayette Square where tour buses appeared and paused in front of the Hamilton-Turner house while the leader said a few words about the original owner being a mayor of Savannah, the building being the first in the city to use electric lighting, and a former owner, Joe Odom, holding wild parties as portrayed in the film, "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil." During the three mornings we were there, the breakfasts included biscuits under sausage gravy topped with two fried eggs; stuffed French toast; and fritadas in a bed of grits mixed with cheese and parsley.

Location
It is about a 15-minute walk to the main tourist and shopping area. Our favorite store was Factors Cottage in a building by the river at the end of Abercorn Street. No matter where you are exploring in Savannah, it is easy to find Abercorn Street running north and south, parallel to Bull Street. When you are close to Lafayette Square, you can spot the twin spires of St. John the Baptist cathedral, right next to Hamilton-Turner Inn. Lafayette Square, named for George Washington's friend and aide de camp, is one of the prettiest of Savannah's 21 squares with a lovely fountain under shady live oak trees that allow little patches of sunlight to shine through on Spanish moss that frames the Inn. We walked to The Old Pink House (excellent dinner) and Noble Fare (highly disappointing service--restaurants are a seller's market in Savannah). Susan recommended Alligator Soul, which provided friendly service and excellent food including alligator bites--collops of alligator tail.

Parking
Free on-street parking near the Hamilton-Turner Inn was very easy as long as we observed the street sweeping days. There is a parking map showing street sweeping days in the in-room information book. There is no need to feed the parking meters on weekends. There is one parking space dedicated to loading/unloading-only right next to the side door.

Wi-fi
In-room wi-fi was free, and we could connect both our Windows and Linux computers. The signal in our room was quite weak sometimes, but usually it was okay. The information book in the room contains the password.

Quiet enjoyment
No street noise. We rarely heard other guests. The Nathaniel Greene Suite was a very quiet and private room on the second floor. The Inn was full while we were there, but it did not seem noisy or busy. The other guests were all couples. Most of them gathered in the parlor before dinner to chat and enjoy the wine and cheese.

Room
The bathroom was good sized with "his" and "hers" sinks. We had to get used to the large shower curtain around the rather small bathtub. The Nathaniel Greene (George Washington's general in the southern campaign) room is probably called a suite because it is quite large with a four poster bed but no canopy, a fireplace that may or may not work, and beautiful furniture. The room is comfortable and quite stunning when you first walk in. The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. There was no refrigerator, but we rotated ice-packs frozen in their kitchen to keep our things cold.

We understand why most of the guests are repeat customers: we, too, feel we are unlikely to find a similar experience anywhere else, and we already feel as if we are friends with the innkeepers and staff. We intend to come back, too. It is a romantic experience that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    108
    33
    14
    21
See reviews for
141
773
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I arrived on April 29th. Jim, the Inn's owner and Ron, an Innkeeper, greeted us. We were impressed by how beautiful the Inn looked and how nice and attentive Jim and Ron were. We felt at home right away. The breakfast each morning was true southern cooking and was delicious. One breakfast was frenchtoast with peach compote and it was excellent. Coffee was always ready by 7 a.m. every morning and was very good as well. Our beds were turned down each night, bath robes laid out and a little sweet placed on our pillow. Afternoon refreshments including lemonaide, iced tea, and baked treats were awaiting us in the parlor everyday. Their was also hot hors d' oeuvres and chilled wine each evening and then at night a night cap awaited everyone. Everyone from the owners of the Inn to the people that made our beds each day were very nice. Everything was very clean and neat. I would highly recommend the Hamilton-Turner to anyone looking to stay at a nice B&B that is located in the heart of the historic district and within a short distance to just about everything you would want to see or do.
Where to eat, just to name a few check out "Aligator Soul" for great ambience and southern cooking,definitly try the fried green tomatos, Cha Bella Restaurant, food outstanding, eat out on the unique patio, and The Pink House, one of the oldest houses in Savannah, supposedly haunted, great service(ask for Frank as your waiter) and good food, and go to Churchhills for some authentic English fare and a great Pub. Also do the haunted Pub crawl that starts out at the Six Pence Pub. We are in our 40's and we had a great time!
One last thing, go to Chippewa Square and you might be lucky enough to catch a glimps of Forrest Gump! I'm not kidding.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgarrison02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at the Hamilton Turner the last week of April. Savannah is a beautiful town with wonderful B&Bs. I've stayed in several and this one is the best. We were in the Johnny Mercer room, a lovely room that is very comfortable. I loved the red walls! The breakfast featured the fluffiest blueberry pancakes I've ever had. The owner Jim was there and you could tell that he cared very much about his place and about your stay. My husband and I highly recommend the Hamilton Turner Inn!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We arrived for a weekend in Savannah "the city of hospitality" only to be made to feel like inmates in a prison by the staff of the Hamilton-Turner Inn. Our good friend who had picked us up from the airport came to drop us off at the hotel and was told she couldn't come in. When I called to complain to the owner, she hung up on me. When another friend who had driven in from Atlanta (4 hours) tried to come to meet us, he wasn't let in the front door, and when we eventually let him in, he was followed around by the "hostess" and glared at until we all left. It was HORRIBLE!!!! Exactly the opposite of the Southern grace and charm that we had hoped for. The place is very nicely furnished and the amenities were just fine, but if you're paying $300 -400 a night to stay somewhere, you would like to feel like you are a guest, not a prisoner. RUN, don't walk, AWAY from the Hamilton-Turner Inn if you want to enjoy yourself in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank ethansdadnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We loved the Inn. It is beautiful. The location was perfect. The staff was wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious. We loved our room (301). The Inn Keeper was very involved and made sure we enjoyed our stay. We can't wait to return. The entire experiece was an absolute treat!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMDmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This was our second time staying at Hamilton Turner and again I found the breakfast uninspired and unattractive. For example the french toast was hiden under a mound of canned peach slices in a thickened sauce. It is a beautiful house in a really fantastic location and for the price to stay I would hope for a better breakfast. Also, the staff needs to be coached by the owner. He was very helpful and knowledgable, but not the staff.
We probably will not stay again but would recommend to a friend but with the above warnings.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BonniejeanAthens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This was our second time ever staying at a bed and breakfast. The Hamilton-Turner inn is a very stately mansion! I am not sure what room we stated in but, it had blue carpet and was just behind the check in desk. I could not find one thing wrong with the room. I am very anal when it comes to cleanliness and this place is SPOTLESS! Everything about the room was perfect.

We had to catch an early morning flight, so we never had a chance to have breakfast but, they did leave us muffins and coffee in our room the night before because we had mentioned to them that we would be leaving at 4am.

When we first checked in, I asked a bit about the house because I was curious if the woodwork and furnishing were antiques to the home. She told us that really the only original thing to the home was the mirror in the dining room. She mentioned that it was once a fraternity house and that as, you can imagine not much survived that. However, there is a book in the room that tells you about the history of the home, which was very interesting.

One more thing, I forgot to mention, I did ask for a floor fan in our room but, it never did arrive. Not a deal breaker, though. The staff were very helpful and friendly with dinner and tour recommendations. We followed there suggestion of Huey's and were not dissapointed. We walked back to our room from River Street at about 1am. It was so deserted on the streets it was almost erie.

I would definately recommend this to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing