We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
17 Hundred 90 Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VERONA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The wife and i just spent 3 wonderful nights here at this old beautiful inn. It is the oldest inn in charleston and of course has been updated but still has that old fell. The Inn is very quaint and quite, the staff is very friendly, helpfull and knowledgeable. It is clean, rooms are spacious, it has a dining room and pub. We enjoyed the pub a few nights and i am sorry to say we did not eat there as several of the locals highly reccommeded it, we had our 3 restuarants picked out before we went there, I guarentee i will next time. You couldnt ask for the inn to be in a better location as it was in the center of everyting and easy to walk to all to do. When we visit Charleston again i will not look for another location other that the 17hundred90 inn. this wa our 1st trip to Charleston and they was one of the highlights we experenced

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    165
    50
    23
    18
See reviews for
62
365
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

We arrived early but the room was already for us and we were lucky to have a private parking spot right outside of our patio. The Inn is located in a great part of town that allowed us to ditch the car and walk everywhere. The Inn is actually utilizes a few different houses for rooms, which seems like a great idea but our room was in one of their newly acquired buildings. The hostess told us that they had owned the building for nearly a year, but when we went inside it wasn't nearly as polished as I would expect a hotel in Savannah to be. The sitting area outside of out room was used as a storage area with various junk and while our room Was fully functional, it wasn't pretty. Clearly, they still had some cosmetic work to do. This part didn't bother me because I prefer the charm of a historic location with private ownership to that of a chain hotel, but the room we were in had zero sound proofing. Every time the people staying on the floor above us moved, went up/ down the stairs, or went out the front door we heard it. We tend to be early birds, and the other room was full of night owls, so you can see the issue. The service was friendly and the location was superb, but it was overpriced for the lack of polish to the inside of the building and the overlooking of small details (like the toilet paper holder coming off the wall).

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristaBuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had dinner there during the Home and Garden Week. Of the top 5 restaurants in Savannah at which I dined during the week, this was my least favorable. Food was average and service was just OK. Would not go back given the other great restaurants you can find in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband & I always love going to the 17 Hundred 90 restaurant & pub. We were there the Thursday before St. Patrick's Day & they had a bag piper in the pub playing & in the restaurant they always have a wonderful piano player. The Lamb is my favorite item on the menu. You cannot help but get hooked on the honey buttermilk biscuits. This restaurant is a favorite in Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We didn't stay at the Inn, but had lunch in the restaurant. First, its conveniently located along the trolly tour routes, so you can get off one of the trolly tours, stop for lunch here, see the restored Davenport house down the street, and hop back on the trolly. The day we visited, apparently the dining room was understaffed and our server was a bit stressed. However, looking beyond this, the lunch was quite good and very reasonably priced. A must have is the shrimp with cheddar grits. Also really memorable are the honey butter biscuits, which tasted almost like a dessert.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed four days the week prior to St. Patty's Day. The staff was friendly and the location was excellent. Came with all of the expected amenities. I really enjoyed having a back door access to our room. We stayed in room 107 and it was very convenient to a locked back door that the staff will give you a key to upon check-in. Parking can be a hassle, but honestly, once you park you don't need to drive again. The location is ideal for historic Savannah. Maid service was good. the continental breakfast could have been a tad better, but overall great stay and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcaciaM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Typical southern charm and hospitality. We only stayed one night, but it was convenient, very reasonable, and free parking! Free continental breakfast in the morning was adequate. Great bar to sit and meet people at. Very friendly staff!

Room Tip: we stayed in 301 that had it's own entrance and a little courtyard to sit in. It wasn't in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Property: 17 Hundred 90 Inn
Address: 307 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3808
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1700 90 Inn
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing