We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely atmospheric inn, in the heart of beautifull Savannah”
Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
17 Hundred 90 Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A lovely atmospheric inn, in the heart of beautifull Savannah”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent a lovely couple of days at the 17hundred90 inn, in the heart of the historic district in Savannah.

This inn is ideally situated for all the museums, restaurants and the River walk of Savannah, so if you are driving, you just need to park your car and leave it there until you leave. If you a lucky you can park your car for free, in the limited spaces behind the Inn, otherwise the Inn can provide a day parking pass for $7.00

This is a very old hotel, and is situated in 2 buildings, the main building which is reputed to have its own ghost, has the restaurant and bar. Because of its age and its furnishings, those expecting a sterile boxy major chain room, you need to look elsewhere. If you want quaint, period, quirky, this is the place for you. The room (set of rooms) we stayed in was the complete top floor of a beautiful Georgian house built in 1834 across the road from the main building. Just a note, if you have difficulty with stairs, I recommend asking for a room on a lower floor. The room 303, had a bedroom, huge bathroom, complete with Jacuzzi bath, steam shower and fireplace!, & along a corridor we had a period sitting room!.

The inn's restaurant is very good, and considered one of the best in Savannah, and its bar, more akin to an English pub, was a popular haunt for some of its charismatic & friendly regulars, we had a very convivial afternoon there!!.

Breakfast was an adequate continental breakfast, and is managed very well by the friendly Southern owner and his wife.

A major benefit of this Inn, is its location, on our fist day we used a hop on and hop off trolley service to get our bearings, this took about 90 minutes, after that we walked the same route, visiting several museums due to the proximity of everything.

Savannah is a beautiful city, with fantastic preserved buildings and I thoroughly recommend a trip to it and the 17hundred90.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the entire top floor of the annexe buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    169
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
63
370
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We would gladly stay here again. The staff was super accommodating for my Mom and me. They helped with everything from the luggage to parking. We ate dinner at the restaurant and were quite pleased with the trout, the key lime pie, and the pecan pie. We never eat desserts, but we couldn't resist the southern treats done right by a cozy restaurant surrounded by old brick and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great stay in 207. I loved all the antique furniture, the comfortable bed, and the size of the room. The continental breakfast was the usual (pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc) but the presentation was very nice (place settings, napkins). Our only issue was parking. They only have a small parking lot, so we had to find street parking and feed the meters a few times. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Owner run property. Perfect location. Wonderful continental breakfast in cozy dining area. This place offers well appointed rooms, all decorated differently. Although the Inn is old the rooms and baths are updated and comfortable. Southern hospitality is the key. There is a full bar with 2 cozy fireplaces and its own entrance from the street. It also has restaurant which is excellent , again with great service. We loved this place and will certainly be back again.
One drawback is the narrow steps to the upper floors and no elevator. Oh, did I mention free parking?

Room Tip: Ask to be in main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoldyOldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our party of seven was treated to a great evening of good food, reasonably priced, with good service in a perfect atmosphere for chatting over dinner. The pianist two tables away provided wonderful background music in a subdued manner. Our server was very attentive without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My daughter and I were so fortunate to get to stay in 312. It is not part of the Inn but a refurbished house. It was incredible. We had dinner in the Inn's restaurant and it was one of the best meals I have ever had. Ryan was our waiter and he was the best at his job. Loved all the employees and being right in the middle of the historic district was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Me and my Fiance visited Savannah for a night on 03/20/14. This Inn left much to be desired. First off, I was caught by surprise when the room I booked (312) was not part of the main Inn. Perhaps I missed this on the website when I booked, but this left me somewhat disappointed. Instead the room was located a block or two over in what they consider a guest house.

While the room itself was very charming and visually appealing it had various issues that made the stay rather unsatisfactory. The linens on the bed were about as cheap as you can get. The pillows despite being in pillowcases were absolutely filthy (like when you sleep with the same pillow for years and it turns yellow).

The two rooms upstairs are technically joined and only separated by a large sliding door (which sits behind the bed). This led us to hear absolutely everything the couple in the room next to us was saying; and I'm certain our "neighbors" heard us as well. Despite lowering the thermostat to 65 the room was excessively hot. Everything mentioned paired with a mediocre mattress left me and my fiance unable to sleep.

I mentioned the issue about the mattress to the staff and was simply told that it was a brand new mattress. I don't doubt they were being honest, but again this is probably a result of going cheap as I've slept on more comfortable forest floors while camping. I also mentioned that the bathroom had an enormous amount of broken tile in it and felt like it was brushed off. In my opinion, a room with tile that's broken this badly is a major hazard considering how easily this could cut your foot. I don't feel this room should be available to book until this issue is resolved.

On the plus side, we were provided with two complimentary drinks to the bar and our own parking spot which was nice (especially in Savannah). The bartender was wonderful and all the staff we interacted with were nice.

I've stayed at multiple hotels in the area and this is one of the few I feel I can't really recommend, at least in regards to staying in the guest house. The experience may greatly differ when staying in the main Inn. I would like to add that I got a very interesting photo when taking a picture of the room that's supposed to be haunted. We also heard a dragging noise outside out room (312) at 4-5 in the morning. The other guests were clearly still asleep so perhaps the guest house has something going on it it as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Property: 17 Hundred 90 Inn
Address: 307 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3808
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah
1700 90 Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing