We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
Ranked #72 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, good value”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are heading as a tourist to Savannah and want to be able to walk and explore, you might want to look into a "downtown" hotel. It is about an 8 mile drive into the Historic District and parking is always at a premium there. We chose this hotel because we were visiting friends and have been to Savannah many times before. This is an older hotel but it is updated and does have a lovely lobby and the outdoor pool is a comfortable place to gather. The hot tub is delightful and is inside just steps from the pool. We were fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite as a gold elite member, so this review is definitely a bit biased due to the beautiful room we were in. We had a separate bedroom and living area with a sliding glass door out to a small balcony overlooking the pool. Once again, however, we were in a Courtyard that took all the coffee service out of the lobby and replaced it with a Starbucks concession. If you despise in room coffee makers and the little packs of "creamer" as much as we do, well, its just downright annoying. The hotel is also on a divided roadway with a sign that is almost impossible to see, especially at night, and you will be doing a lot of "U" turns to get anywhere. However, parking at the hotel is easy and convenient to the rooms and it was very quiet for sleeping at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for review! I do apologize about no longer having free lobby coffee and I appreciate your concern. Also, we are looking into our signage in order to make our property easier to find. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    116
    85
    40
    27
See reviews for
114
76
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I was in Savannah for a tennis tournament, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The Courtyard Marriott had everything I needed: attractive decor, cordial helpful staff, abundant free parking, reliable in-room wifi, HDTV with every espn platform, and good temp control in the rooms. Along with the Bistro (which I didn't use) the hotel also had a little mini-mart where you could buy sandwiches and frozen dinners for microwaving. I noticed one reviewer criticizing the soft mattresses. They ARE soft, but I rather liked it. Another reviewer felt that the cleaning staff came by too early. For me, it was just the opposite; several times I returned to my room in the afternoon, and they still hadn't been by. All in all it was a fine hotel and a great value for the price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jeff4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was just passing through town and only there for a place to sleep and shower before moving on. This place is a little difficult to find and it looked deserted at the time I arrived, but there was an employee at the front desk. She wasn't enthusiastic or anything, but who could blame her? It was pretty late.

I had a chance to peruse the lobby with its bar and starbucks stuff. It looked pretty expensive. I made a note to myself to make sure I didn't buy anything there. It's overpriced.

The price of the room seemed reasonable for a Courtyard, but when we went to the room we found the next wing was in some form of construction, complete with a large dumpster taking up a lot of parking spaces. There was a plastic tarp blocking the hallway to that side and a very loud fan was running. My concerns were assuaged, however, when we go into the room and found it to be quiet.

The room was pretty nice. Recently updated, I think, with one big obvious oversight. There was no refrigerator. I don't really care, because I hadn't planned on using one, but there was a cabinet with a hole in it and I was a little concerned that I might be blamed for it.

One more little thing: When I was making trips back and forth I saw the housekeeper cleaning the room directly across the way. She saw me exit the room with bags and asked if I was leaving. I knew my wife would take about 30 more minutes so I said not quite yet. She then asked when I was leaving. I don't think she meant to be rude, but it could have been taken that way. I laughed and told her it would be about another half hour.

Nothing about my stay was enough to stop me from returning, but I really think they should have to inform guests BEFORE they commit to staying that there is construction taking place. It probably wouldn't have made a difference to me, but it might to somebody else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your response and for choosing to stay with us! We were doing some construction but it wasn't due to a renovation. There was a sprinkler incident in a guest room not too long ago and the crew was finishing up the repair work that needed to be done. I know this was inconvenient to you and to other guests and I do apologize about that. Again, thank you for staying with us and I do hope you choose us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This property has been updated and the lobby and other amenities are top notch. My only reason for giving the property 4 stars instead of 5 was because the beds, in my opinion, were too soft. Probably ok for one person, but if two people are on them you feel like your are sleeping in a valley. Since we had just spent a couple of nights at a "regular" Marriott, the difference in bed quality was quite noticeable. Again, this may be a person preference, but if you end up with the 2 queen bed room and need to sleep 2 to a bed, you will notice the difference.

Room Tip: As per my comments, if you get the 2 queen bed room, consider only one person to a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy our new mattresses! I do understand that everyone does have a different preference when it comes to bedding and the firmness of a mattress. I do appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Topsail Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I was in town for business. It was clean, convenient, quiet and friendly. I was able to check-in upon arrival even though it was 11 am. The pool was warm and the bed/ linens where soft and comfortable. I got a restful night sleep. It was a great value for such a quality stay. I couldn't have chosen a better hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grouperwinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked in in for 2 nights over the weekend. The room was recently redone and pretty nice.New carpet,paint,flat panel tv,furnishings and nice bath upgrades.
Hotel staff was very acommodating when I asked for a room on the bottom floor near the entrance.The hotel sets back off of Abercorn Expway away from the traffic rush noise....if heading south on Abercorn, the sign out front is a little obscured by shrubbery,so watch for it closely after Jackson Ave and just BEFORE Bennigan's restuarant ( closed).Near the Malls (Oglethorpe and Savannah Mall) and food. 10-15 min ride downtown. Felt safe in the area and would definitely consider staying here again.

One thing of note to Mgmnt: AC was a tad bit musty,maybe a filter change is in order.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaNightryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our newly renovated rooms! We are in the process of working on the signage on Abercorn Street to make it more visible to our guests. If you would please email me at cy.savch.gm@marriott.com and let me know your last name, I can find out what room you stayed in and have my Engineering department check out the AC in the room. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I decided to book a trip to Savannah. We usually stay near River Street but decided to stay on Abercorn this stay. The hotel was nice but the issue was on Sunday morning. Checkout is 12 pm and the housekeepers were beating on our door at 9 in the morning. Never mind the fact that we partied all night and didn't get in until 3. They were beating on the door like the place was on fire. Unbelievable! !!! So, I called the front desk to find out what was going on and they just ask like...no big deal. Their like oh sorry about that...really!!!! Poor customer service. I couldn't get back to sleep and my body is paying for it. I SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR A MANAGER.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I do appreciate you letting me know what happened the morning you were checking out. I do apologize for that and you are correct, the housekeeper should not have disturbed you until check out time. I will go over this again with all of the housekeepers to ensure their understanding of not disturbing our guests. Again, my apologies, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Savannah area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#80 of 113 in Savannah
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Midtown

Property: Courtyard Savannah Midtown
Address: 6703 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31405-5824
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make every moment count at Courtyard Savannah Midtown, offering thoughtful amenities for every step of the travel journey. Located near popular destinations in Midtown and the Historic District, our Savannah hotel provides easy access to Savannah State University, Hunter Army Airfield, Tybee Island and the sparkling Savannah waterfront. After an eventful day of Georgia adventures, retire to rooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and plush bedding. Visit our stylish lobby area with The Bistro, providing breakfast and dinner offerings in addition to a variety of comfortable areas to work and socialize. Stay active in our fitness center, featuring free weights and cardio equipment, and go for a refreshing swim in our sunny outdoor pool during downtime. Whether exploring the city's best shopping and dining or visiting nearby colleagues, let us treat you to a successful stay at Courtyard Savannah Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing