We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a charming city”
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Cozy rooms, fabulous views of the park while enjoying beverages on the porch, "hidden" courtyard abloom with flowers and Spanish moss draped trees - a Southerner's Dream!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinainJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Scrambled eggs with feta and spinach were delicious. Wonderful house full of character and stories. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. The view from the porch is spectacular and the original window doors are outstanding. Well worth the money when you are in Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siropderable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a couple of nights with their latest groupon offer and I was very pleased with the Inn. It was perfect for our 'girls weekend'. The location is beautiful- a bit of a walk to the 'action' at City Market and River Street, but I thought the view of the park was well worth it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great- and there were appetizers and desserts put out at various times of the day. The rooms were comfortable- make sure you get a room with a working fireplace- great ambiance! It was chilly there this weekend, so the fires were going full-force! I am looking forward to staying here again next time I come to Savannah!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhd2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn for three nights and had a generally pleasant experience. The location has a lovely view of Forsyth Park from the large porch accessible to all patrons. Prices were reasonable (we used a Living Social coupon for one night). The common areas, including a nice enclosed courtyard, were well maintained. The nightly hors d'oeuvres with wine followed by dessert with coffee were a wonderful bonus. The parlor where all were served was cozy, warm and comfortable. The staff were generally very genial and helpful. The breakfast experience however was quite different from our previous B & B experiences. The food was good but not exceptional and was served with minimal fanfare. There was no interaction between the guests and the breakfast staff - they brought the food and left. In many B&Bs breakfast is the time when the owners (or staff) interact with the patrons giving interesting information about the house, the town or themselves. I consider this one of the reasons to stay in a B&B - the unique opportunity to meet interesting people and talk to them.

I had only two issues with our visit. First, we stayed in the cottage adjacent to the courtyard. It was very roomy with a generous sitting room, small bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. We really enjoyed the extra space. However, I agree with a previous reviewer that some updating, especially in the kitchen and bathroom, would greatly enhance this offering. Secondly, when we initially arrived in the cottage, the kitchen had not been cleaned. There were old coffee grounds in the coffeepot and greasy residue on top of the stove. When I mentioned this to the staff person on duty, he was not particularly apologetic. I know things happen sometimes, but at least act like you're really sorry....

That having been said, overall we had a pleasant stay and would certainly consider staying here again if we are in the Savannah area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docwgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Exquisite and Romantic. Love the friendly and professional staff. Enjoyed the delicious and scrumptious breakfast on the front porch. This place is really "Heaven on Earth", everything about it is just magical. Excellent Bed and Breakfast to stay in while visiting Savannah. Lori Blass makes it all come together with her friendly and welcoming smile. Everything here is just beautiful!!!

Room Tip: Loved every room we have stayed in. They are all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This property exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by the owner, experienced a wonderful room (#3 has twin Queen beds and a fireplace!). The amenities and breakfast were wonderful. The property is located directly across the street from Forsyth Park, which we enjoyed walking. And, we were within easy walking distance of a great restaurant which was recommended by the Forsyth Inn.

Room Tip: We peeked in a couple of rooms, and they were both unique and very nice. We selected #3, on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterButzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

this is hands down the best bed and breakfast in savannah. it sits on forsyth park, and i can tell you that none of the others do, no matter what they claim. we've been visiting savannah once yearly, often twice, for the last 6 years. we frequently go on the christmas home and inn tours to scope out the other inns. they are pretty, but they're not on forsyth park. in the springtime, you can have the windows open or sit on the front porch, or just walk 20 feet into the park, and hear the fountain and see the azaleas. the breakfasts are always great, the evening wine and cheese hour provides a hot appetizer, and the nighttime desserts are homemade too. we barely even need to eat anywhere else! the staff is always charming and helpful, esp the 4 footed staff. Though Misty passed away a few years ago and Sadie Mae only visits now on special occasions, both girls were always eager to welcome new and returning guests. Sadie is the epitome of what an innkeeper cat should be: gorgeous decor yet friendly, affectionate and willing to snuggle.
We only stayed elsewhere once and it just wasn't the same. for us, the proximity to the park, the food, the friendliness all make it a trip to savannah and forsyth park inn is an integral part of the experience. we'll never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowgliworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £131 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing