We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of service has decreased”
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here 7 years ago and were delighted with the stay. This time, we found it not so great. The rooms were not cleaned. For example, they did not empty the garbage and we had to ask for fresh towels. The breakfast is good and enjoyable on the veranda outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BebIce234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The service at Inn at Forsyth was incredible! This was our first time visiting a B&B and they consistently went out of their way to make our wedding weekend something truly special. Each staff member was professional, polite, and accommodating. Breakfasts were home cooked and delicious. My husband and I really can't say enough about this place! We will definitely be back for a visit.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a view of Forsyth Park and the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassiefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are pleased to hear that the service you received from our staff was "incredible!" We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My stay at this property was all I'd imagined it would be. The room I was allocated was spacious very clean and was decorated beautifully. They had a wonderful courtyard garden so serene and peaceful full of lush plants, a water feature and beautiful flowers. The food and service was also excellent. I found all the staff to be most welcoming, helpful and very pleasant. The service given at all times (I stayed 3 nights) was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. All needs very pleasantly catered for. The view from their veranda to the wonderful park opposite was another pleasant surprise and my friends and I enjoyed many lovely moments just relaxing in the rocker chairs they provided. Would certainly recommend this property highly and would stay there again if I was in the area. I know my friends are planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have to say the hotel has an old beautiful style, very nice yard, great breakfast and the people in front desk were all nice.
My future husband booked 4 nights here and asked for a special room for us because we were eloping and needed something very special for our wedding. It was ok the room until we went to sleep. The bed was way to high, squeaky, the matress is old and misshapen. We did not rest any night we slept there. The style of the room was supposed to evoke the old times but everything looked old and worn:pillow covers, chairs, cushions,air conditioner. I sow 2 other rooms and they were way nicer, different wall colors, nice beds, chairs, nice bed covers. There is nothing good to black out the light and these bothers when you do not need to get up early. The room was # 7. Very dark room, rusty tiny toilet trash can that you have to touch to open it up. I like the old style but this room was just old, dark, boring, dusty looking room. I felt bad when i got to see the other rooms. We ended up leaving the hotel 1 night before. We were happy in Savannah, wanted to go to Tybee but haven´t slept nice one night. We are not people that demand too much or bother for little things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn for 3 days in May, as this was also where we had our wedding. The B&B was absolutely stunning! The entire staff was extremely accomodating and kind. They made our stay wonderful and our wedding was absolutely perfect! The wedding took place in the courtyard there and was picture perfect. We have the best memories from our stay there. Savannah is definitely a place we plan to visit again, probably for our anniversary! It's beautiful and so much fun. We highly recommend the Forsyth Park Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, which was definitely our favorite, but it can be a little noisier early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evylou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Our staff is very pleased to hear that your wedding was "absolutely perfect!" Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were traveling with my two daughthers ages 11 and 15, and this is one of the few B&B's that would take children (which they are hardly children).We stayed in a cozy cottage with a Queen bed and a twin with trundle. The cottage had a kitchenette with stove, mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave, although there was not a pot or pan to cook with. I'm thinking re heating left overs from a night out might be the only cooking you will be doing in this kitchen.
The bath was off the master room so the kids had to come into our room if they needed to use the bathroom, We had a fabulous courtyard to sit in as well as on the front verandah. This is where our breakfast was served and it was not only delicious but a hearty portion as well. We also enjoyed nightly goodies that were put out for the guests and the beverages to sit and relax with. Location right across from Forsyth Park, so if you want to be where the action is, this is for you. Just be aware it is not in one of the historical squares so it's not as quiet. Overall our stay was excellent and the service was wonderful providing just about anything you would ask!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your input and compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We drove in from Atlanta without a hotel reservation in Savannah, so this was a last-minute booking. Called around to several hotels and B&Bs and everyone was booked. The last B&B we called said to try Forsyth Park Inn because she heard a rumor that they had a cancellation. I crossed my fingers and made the phone call. They did have one room left and it was $220 for the night. We gave our name and they told us just to come on by. So we literally booked this place without seeing it or visiting the website first. When we pulled up, I literally squealed with delight. This gorgeous yellow home faces the park and is the typical southern home you would imagine, with a huge verandah and tons of charm. Jerry greeted us, took our payment, and showed us around and explained the evening appetizers, breakfast time, etc. He was extremely friendly and even gave us a little history of the home and original owners. We came just in time for the evening appetizers and drinks, which was just lovely. Ice cold sweet tea, a fruity wine spritzer, and water were available to drink. There was a variety of crackers, a smoked salmon spread, and a baked brie cheese. Everything was delicious. We loved sitting on the verandah, rocking in the chairs, and drinking sweet tea. This is the life!
The inn is a few blocks away from the main historic area, but still an easy walk. We were able to park along the street by the inn without any trouble. After returning in the evening, they had cupcakes, decaf coffee, and tea, which we enjoyed while rocking on the porch. The courtyard is beautiful and a wedding was taking place the day we checked out. Breakfast was equally lovely and service was wonderful. The fire alarm went off at 7:45, which was a bit of a rude awakening, but they apologized profusely at breakfast. We were told that bacon was overcooked in the kitchen, which is what set off the alarm. Strangely though, no bacon was served with breakfast. :)
My only suggestion would be to avoid room #1. Clearly it's the least desirable room but we were stuck with it because it was the only one left. It's on the main floor and shares a wall with the breakfast area and windows that go to the verandah. It's actually the original dining room of the home. It's a huge room but has a queen bed even thought it could easily fit a king. The bathroom is tiny and there isn't much place to put your toiletries. The problem was the noise. Traffic noise all night long, and then lots of noise in the morning from the kitchen, people on the verandah, and people in the eating area. We could hear their entire conversations like they were sitting in front of us. Don't plan on sleeping in! There is just no insulation from the noise and it was not a good night in terms of getting quality sleep. We didn't get to see any of the other rooms, but I would suggest a room on a higher floor and in the back of the building, away from the park.
Despite the noise, I still give this inn 5 stars because everything else was on point. We were just unfortunate enough to get the worst room in the house. I'd absolutely stay here again and just request a different room.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room #1. It faces the noisy street and you won't be able to get a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your compliments. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,393 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,460 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £100 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing