We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not returning....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not returning....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Hotel was not kid-friendly. Staff was a mix - kitchen staff was great, front desk person sent us on a "wild goose walk" to find a restaurant that was 10 blocks away...not j"ust around the corner".
Hotel is WAY too far from the river and City Market - a real hassle. Bring comfortable shoes because you'll be walking ALOT. Food was good. However, the porch area for breakfast was over-crowded and they did not keep to the scheduled breakfast time slots, so we had to wait 15 minutes in their small parlor while others who lingered over their allotted hour finished. When we got on the porch, the LOUD cars whizzing by on the bust road it is on were quite a distraction. Not worth the money. Stay at a place closer to the action.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank TravelMasterGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    105
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
82
342
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
forsyth park inn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

My sister's and I stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn, May7-11 07. We had so much fun in Savannah, But it would not have been the same if we did not stay here. It is the definition of southern comfort. The mansion is so beautiful and the B&B staff were very nice and helpful1 There was one individual who worked there was a bit abrupt and at times she seemed put out by any asked of her and I think she knows who she is. Not Mary,or Corinne, or the women who care for the home. Jerry, Fred, Earl and everyone are great!!!! Lori the inn keeper is very nice also. The inn is so pretty! High ceilings in the rooms. #3 is where we stayed it has a view of Forsyth Park and 2 , 4poster beds there is a fireplace, whirlpool bath the hardwood floors are so beautifully inlaid wood pattern is so pretty. The parlor is the entry way to the veranda where you may sit and watch the park and moss laden oak trees in the warm southern breezes blowing through them. In the parlor there is always ice water , sweet tea and you walk through a window/door to the veranda to the rocking chairs. The backside of theB&B is the courtyard and a beautiful fountain/pond with goldfish swimming in it. you look above you into a tree covered in spanish moss! I heard about the B&B on the Travel Channel Haunted Hotels. The only experience we had was afoot tickling myself and one of my other sister's. But it did not scare us. It is a very peaceful and happy place to stay . I could not be persuaded to stay any where else! The breakfasts are amazing and there is an evening sitting with wine and goodies and an late night dessert at 8:30. Every thing is amazing. And like I mentioned earlier 99% of the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and gave great recommendations for restaurants, tours etc.. except they do not mentions Earl's walking tour. Earl works at the B&B and he is a local native who knows it all!! I am writing this on my own volition I hope when you are there you take his walking tour. I can't wait to return to stay in room 3 :) Thank You Lori, Jerry, Fred, Earl, Mary the ladies that work with Mary, Corinne? and Nathan. and the kitties Sadie and Misty? what fun!!!!!! WE will be back !! Christine and the sisters.

  • Liked — location, home, southern comfort
  • Disliked — jennifer
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sweettea07_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forsyth park inn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

To anyone who is going to Savannah, Georgia!!! My 4 sister's and I planned a trip to Savannah. We stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn Bed & Breakfast on Whitaker & Hall Street, across the street from Forsyth Park! This inn is truly beautiful and it is everything you could imagine a southern mansion to be! You are greeted by a very polite and helpful staff who are very accommodating and friendly,Especially, Jerry, Fred, Earl, Mary and Everyone who's name I've forgotten :( . Our room was beautiful with at least 18 ft. high ceilings a fireplace, whirlpool bath, beautiful hardwood floors with an amazing pattern in the woodwork. The room also looks out to Forsyth Park across the street. Out front through the parlor you may sit on the veranda in rocking chairs if you wish watching the breeze blow through the Spanish Moss laden Oak Trees at Forsyth Park, you can also see the fountain from the B&B. Every morning you receive an amazing breakfast! We were never disappointed! The food was so delicious! A different meal every morning served by an amazing staff. The parlor always has ice water ready as well as sweet tea! The staff has coffee ready by 7a.m. but we ate at the 9am sitting. At 6ish there is a sitting on the veranda where you may have wine and a different snack like french breads and vidalia onion spreads things like that all very tasty. And at 8.30 there is a dessert out in the parlor. The place is amazing!!! The courtyard is so pretty with an amazing tree covered in moss, with a beautiful fountain/pond with gold fish. I can't wait ti return and I don't think anyone could persuade any of us (my sister's) to stay any where else. The Inn Keeper is Lori Blass and she was very nice. I first heard about the inn by watching the Travel Channel and saw a haunted hotels show and the B&B was one of the stories. There is suppose to be a resident spirit named "Lottie" and you may sense her. One of my sister's and myself both had a foot tickling experience and I had my foot wiggled while in bed but nothing scary happened. We also caught "orbs" in a couple of our pictures of the room (#3) but we were not frightened by any of it. So, if you stay in Savannah stay there you won't regret it!!! Lori and her staff are great!! Also, the hotel will give you ideas on tours,restaurants, etc. if you ask but they don't tell you about Earl's walking tour. He works at the B&B and he is a local guy who has a great tour!! So ask Earl to give you his tour you won't be sorry. I don't have my photo's on a disc yet I will post again when I do . Have Fun!! Christine one of the sister's!! :)

Helpful?
6 Thank sweettea07_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

My husband and our very best friends spent 4 days in Savannah at the Forsyth Park Inn. It was absolutely beautiful. Overlooking a gorgeous park called the Forsyth Park. Full goument breakfast each morning on the veranda overlooking the park. Wine and appetizers from 6:00-7:00 each night. Desserts, coffee and tea each evening at 8:30. The staff was very courtesy and the Inkeeper Lori Blass was very friendly. The room we stayed in was Colonial with a sitting room overlooking the park. Our friends room was a Garden room overlooking a beautiful pond. Savannah is a romantic and historic town with wonderful resturants. We definitely will stay at the Forsyth Park Inn again.

  • Liked — Lovely room and very clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Frangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2007

While the B&B is a beautiful old home, we were disappointed with the reception that we received by the front staff for the duration of our stay. There was no "southern hospitality" except for the breakfast crew. Staff never introduced themselves to us, and to them, we were a number. We were frequently referred to by our room number.

Additionally, it did not appear as though the rooms and bathroom were cleaned regularly. There were large amounts of dust on the lamp shades, under the dresser, along all dustboards and the doors. Additionally, the bathroom had beadboard along the wall, which reflected how dirty the crevices were. Crumbs were also visible throughout the room.

Finally, the shower head needed to be replaced 25 years ago.

On a positive note, the B&B was well-located, easily accessed from the highway, and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and southern hospitality
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank highest_expectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn in May 2007 on our first trip to Savannah. We both had a great time and would definitely stay there again if we go back.

We had room 4, which was on the first floor overlooking the courtyard. The room was huge (which is not obvious if you look at their website), with a nice-sized bathroom, entryway, large bedroom, and small sitting room. We loved that we had space to spread out. The room was quiet because it overlooked the courtyard rather than the street.

The service at the Inn was also outstanding. Although most of the staff were fairly young, they were friendly and able to answer all of our questions. We also appreciated the turn-down service we received every night. We weren't expecting that!

Finally, the food. This is one of the most important things about a B&B, in my opinion. The breakfasts were awesome--I loved everything that I ate! I enjoyed eating on the porch overlooking the park, but I have to admit that the meals did feel a tiny bit rushed. (Mostly because they get your food to you very quickly after you sit down.) I also enjoyed the desserts that they provided in the evenings. I didn't have any of the appetizers, but my husband thought they were good.

I would definitely recommend this Inn, room 4 in particular, and would stay there again if I return to Savannah.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The location--was in a good neighborhood, but a bit of a walk to most things
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

Just returned from a Mother-Daughter trip to Savannah. Stayed at Forsyth Park Inn for 4 nights. We could not recommend a better place to stay. Lori and her staff are top notch and helped make their guests' visit something special! We stayed in Room 3, and it was simply beautiful! The entire house is restored beautifully. We thoroughly enjoyed our daily breakfast, afternoon hors doeuvres and wine, and evening desert with tea and coffee . Each offering was simply outstanding. The Inn is situated across the street from the Forsyth Park Inn. Nestled in a neighborhood with grand homes. This was a nice relief from coming back from the center of the Downtown area, which is under heavy reconstruction and traffic tieups. It was so nice to come back to the Inn for peace and quiet and the warmth of the hosts and other guests. I would highly recommend this inn and plan to come back again.

  • Liked — Beautiful Home in a wonderful area
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ipaws4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Property: Forsyth Park Inn
Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing