We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stench all over hotel ... Not much more to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible stench all over hotel ... Not much more to say”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Smell was like a cesspool from the moment we entered the hotel can't believe we paid to stay there but too late to leave, bed very uncomfortable, breakfast was greasy, really nothing at all good to say

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. We are positive if given the opportunity again we could achieve this goal. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    850
    444
    205
    105
See reviews for
530
967
75
781
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location wise, this can't be beat. The hotel opens right out on to River Street, the views are amazing and the value was great. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful for all and the bar was excellent. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio watching the ships go by. The hotel itself was a touch dated and showing a bit of wear but overall this was a fantastic stay and we would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jshn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear jshn1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Windows and Vu Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back again during your next trip to Savannah.

Best Regards,
Nora Temelkova
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just started driving after thanksgiving and ended up in Savannah for a short one night getaway. We had stayed here before and knew that it was a little expensive. But it's elevator lets out on Riverstreet. So it's worth it. And you can walk one block or so to city market square. I recommend this hotel. There may be cheaper or nicer but I like this one for convenience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear David T,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your visit with us and for your recommendation. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and find our location perfect during your visits. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed at Hyatt Savanna last week. Loved the location. Right on Savannah River. Staff was excellent! The large ships passed thru on the river in the mornings... Fantastic to watch. Within seconds of all the river shops, etc. Our concierge - Susan - was fantastic.. Helped us to find just the right historical tour to fit our needs. Will definitely stay here on my next trip to Savanna

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMY39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear AMY39604,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location perfect and staff excellent. I will pass along your comments to Susan as she will be pleased to hear them. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Savannah.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have been staying at this Hyatt since in opened in the 80's and we keep coming back once or twice a year (every year) for a reason......we love it!!

We were there this past weekend Nov. 29th to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a wonderful time. This hotel is convenient to River Street and also to the famous Squares and City Market. You will find the staff there to be personable and eager to please. We could not have asked for better service!

While there we met a nice young man who is the sales manager for the Hyatt in Austin TX who was there visiting his family. He asked us what kept bringing us back to this particular Hyatt and we told him hands down it was the people on staff. Because we have been coming for so long we know that some of them have been here for many years. It just makes it nice to see the same friendly faces visit after visit.

Can't wait until it's time for us to come back again, because we truly do feel like this is our Savannah "home".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapopdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear nanapopdavis,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. First, I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt and Hyatt Regency Savannah over the past 20+ years. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits with us and continue to return each year. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team and to welcoming you back to your home away from home again soon.

Best Regards,
Scott Snipes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Savannah Hyatt on Saturday, Nov. 30, 2013 for one night only. We booked directly with the hotel and did not use an internet booking site. I called around 11 am on Saturday and was told that a Room overlooking the river would be about $284.00. When my wife called back that afternoon around 1 pm, she was told they had a "special" going and we got the same room for 149.00. For 149.00, we found the hotel and room to be very nice, however I would have been a little disappointed at 284.00. Overall, the location was great (sandwiched directly between the North end of the Historical District and the River). We got a room on the 6th floor overlooking the river and the view was great. The staff was very friendly, and the valet parking was the only parking available at 22.00 per night. Two breakfasts were included with our "special" deal and the breakfast buffet was very enjoyable in the Windows Restaurant of the Hotel. We have stayed in some beautiful five star hotels over the years, and I would say that this hotel was just slightly below the five star level, yet very nice. Drinks in the hotel lounge seemed a little expensive, but I guess thats the price of having a drink in a popular tourist destination. I was a little disappointed that there weren't heaters outside in the patio area off the bar, as I would have enjoyed having a cigar overlooking the river. As it was, it was too cold to sit outside.

Room Tip: Calling a little later on the day of arrival and you might get a reduced rate, but of course you run...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nelperinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Nelperinj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to taking your feed back to appropriate department heads for review and discussion. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
625 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We came here for a night (I'd stayed here before nearly a decade ago and enjoyed the stay) and really enjoyed our stay. The location is great, so close to the river and the downtown restaurants and squares.

When we checked in, we didn't realize the hotel room we booked came with complimentary breakfast for two at the hotel's Windows restaurant (a $17.95 value per person) and free Wi-Fi (which normally costs $9.95 a night).

Our room was great - it was quiet and had everything we needed. You could tell it had some wear (chipped headboard and closet doors) but it wasn't anything that concerned us. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked but we loved going for our morning run out near the river!

The valet parking is a little steep at $22 a night but this hotel had everything we needed and we definitely will consider returning in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear kurokitty,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and amenities offered. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Property: Hyatt Regency Savannah
Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing