We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night in December. She went to SCAD so I have visited several times, but I usually stayed out near the 95. This was only the second time I stayed downtown. It was a nice location and we were able to walk down to The Pirate House for dinner. The room was nice but again not outstanding. The service was good and overall I don't have any complaints, it just wasn't up to what I would call Hyatt Regency standards. I gave it only 3 stars because it wasn't outstanding, however, keep this in mind that it is 3*'s on a 4* hotel. You could stay in a 2* hotel and give it 3*'s and it wouldn't be comparable. You wouldn't be comparing apples to apples. Compared to a normal 2* hotel this would get 4*'s easily. It's all relative.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Heidi M.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns for the hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate feedback such as yours as it allows us to work harder to improve our operations for our guest. If you have any time to share your thoughts on ways we could have exceeded your expectations and made your stay outstanding, please do not hestiate to contact me at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com


Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,096 - 2,102 of 3,136 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel has many facilities, great gym and nice pool. If you don't get a river view then stay somewhere else better and cheaper. It is fantastic to watch the ships go past! Book it cheap on one of those websites. We would have been very unsatisfied if we paid the full rate. Very central location. Rooms are worn and the hotel is due for a renovation (late 2014 we were told it was getting one) Phone, tv remote and most places were not very clean is our room. Overall, if we didn't have a river view, our experience would have been below average. Hotel - please don't thank me for my feedback just deep clean your rooms for the next guests.

Room Tip: River view is what this hotel is about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Cadepia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns on tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Savannah overall and we hope that you will allow us to host you again after we have gone through some renovations. We do apologize for the cleanliness of the room not meeting your expectations and I have shared that information to the houskeeping department. We really appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to improve our operations. If there is anything else we can do to exceed your expectations, please do not hesitate to contact me at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com


Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We enjoyed our two-night stay last week at this refurbished Hyatt. The location was very convenient for access by boat shuttle to the convention center. Rooms are comfortable, although not quite to standard of many other Hyatt properties. The bathroom is quite small. Rooms are neat and clean to start, but housekeeping did not remove our towels we placed on the tub nor put away the ironing board and iron (even though we left a good tip). The river view room was worth the nominal extra charge. The breakfast buffet had several starchy and high fat dishes, but food was decent. I dined there for lunch one day as well, and the chicken sandwich was quite good, and I was treated well even though they were about to close up to prep for dinner. A major negative is the extra charge for internet, that had a security certificate problem. Don't use it! Recommended only with a special pricing deal.

Room Tip: Choose river view at level five or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your full expectations. We have made note of your comments and have shared it with appropriate manager about the comments you had about the hotel. Feedback such as yours is important to us because it allows us to correct and improve our operations, if we have the pleasure to host you stay again. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more depth, please contact me directly at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay overall in Savannah and I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Guest Serivces Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

On December 27, 2013, I attended the Sol C. Johnson High School "Grand Reunion" banquet at the Hyatt Regency Savannah. The dining room appeared to be under-staffed because my food was served noticeably late. I never received the sweetened ice tea I requested at least three times. After overlooking me for several minutes, the waiter finally announced that the hotel had "run out of tea." I have much difficulty conceptualizing that a hotel as grand as the Hyatt Regency leaves its paying clients thirsty because they had no means to serve a single glass of iced tea! Needless to say that this incident was handled very poorly by the food and beverage staff... "in bad taste."

Dr. James E. Carter
Durham, NC

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations due to the lack of service when dining with us . We have made note of your comments and have shared it with upper management about the comments you had about the hotel. Feedback such as yours is important to us. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more depth, please contact me directly at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay overall in Savannah and I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was only there for a weekend, but when you pay that to stay in a Hyatt, you expect a whole lot more! And being a part of their rewards program, well they don't even give you a bottle of water! Got treated better staying across the street at the Ha__t_n I_n! They could learn something.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceman2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. We have made note of your comments and have shared it with upper management about the comments you had about the hotel. Feedback such as yours is important to us as it allows us to correct and improve our operations. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more depth, please contact me directly at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay overall in Savannah and I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have stayed in Hyatt 5 times before. This was the worst. I was in a river-view room with balcony. The room was just average, not Hyatt standard. Bathroom fixtures were quite old. Customer service was poor. The only good thing about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SECON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. We have made note of your comments and have shared it with upper management about the comments you had about the hotel and our staff. Feedback such as yours is important to us as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operations. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more depth, please contact me directly at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay overall in Savannah and I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 27th -28th
Wow I dont even know how to start review this hotel let me start by saying I am a Hyatt gold member so in this case I know what I am talking about. If I didnt know the group I would have said was a sub par group and that this was a 3 star at best. The reason I gave it a 1 is because I could give it a 0. I booked 2 and half months in advance and mail and confirmed and made sure everything would be in order as this is a special time of year so I arranged for a late check in as we where driving from Nashville to Savannah. So arriving there I wasnt worried stood in line with the other guests checking in around 9pm heard one of the staff saying to the Manager on Duty Daniel that thought we where full didnt know we took "walk in's" I then had the pleasure of being checked in by the Manager himself when I then said we arrived he pulled a face and I said what is wrong and after all on the 2 month arranging and mailing went out the window....they gave our room away. Ok they can send an extra "double"bed to the room, and dont forget about the crib for my 14 month old that had to fit in as well. Well lets just say this all took about a hour to sort out and the room was wall to wall beds. They gave the room for free but if I wanted to stay for free I would have stayed at home. The next day they moved us to another room and this was ok at best. I will never stay there again and this was the worst Hyatt if have ever been to. If you want to visit Savannah do not stay at the Hyatt!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JacoRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. We apologize for the misunderstanding with your reservation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,214 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £96 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restyled Hyatt Regency Savannah is located on the Savannah River and in the heart of Savannah's Historic District. Our guests can enjoy the newly opened Moss + Oak Savannah Eatery or walk to many of Savannah famous restaurants. Within blocks of the hotel is shopping, dining, museums and nightlife. The hotel offers three guest room views atrium, historic city view and river view with contemporary guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing