We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an awesome but okay!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My sister and I thought it would be an ideal place to go since it is the oldest hotel with a lot of historical aspect -- it was not that awesome but okay. It was too pricey -- the breakfast could be better -- if I go to Holiday Inn Express, it would outdid this one. It was disappointing especially how much we love breakfasts. Oh well. On the positive, it is well-located and easy to access -- within the walking area. Would pick another hotel or BB inn if we decide to go back again.

Room Tip: Pick two Queen Bed. My sister and I had to share the Queen bedroom -- oh my gosh, the room was so T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisePaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,539 - 2,545 of 2,961 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Marshall House staff helped my husband and I make the most out of our very short stay in Savannah. We had only one evening in town, so the staff helped us map out a self-guided walking tour, select some restauarants that suited our tastes and price, and offered to provide a 2 a.m. wake-up call and have our car ready at the front door by 3 a.m. As soon as we walked in the front door, we felt like we'd walked into a friend's home. It was a wonderful experience.
One should note that the room was cozy and clean, but very small. We didn't mind at all, but if room size is important to you, you may want to inquire before you book.
Lastly, the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small and some views are better than others, so if that's important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Marshall House is an excellent value, convenient location with friendly staff when you visit lovely Savannah, GA.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel was so charming, very clean and inviting. The location couldn't have been better, we could walk everywhere. The breakfast was great and enjoyed the wine and cheese happy hours. We recommend the veranda rooms, that was a great extra. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms with the veranda, it was fun to sit out on the rocking chairs and watch the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The room, a suite, is nice. The bathroom is tiny and has no amenities - including no tub. The toiletries are cheap and smell terrible. Housekeeping never replenished the toiletries. The sofa is very dirty and looks very old. The rug in the bedroom suffers from the same troubles.

The ac is very loud, but that is actually a blessing, as the Juliette Gordon Low suite overlooks the atrium, which is used for breakfast at 7am and for wedding receptions all night. You will not sleep in this awful hotel. They care only about the drunk idiots at their reception, and not about their paying guests.

As of this writing, the reception is going strong, we are unable to sleep, the front desk says the reception will continue as long as anyone wants to stay -- all night, I guess -- and the hotel staff refuses to even offer a solution. There's no manager on duty anyway, so the singularly unhelpful Charles at the front desk refuses to help us. I only want to sleep in the room I've paid to stay in -- but that is too much to ask at the Marshall House - the worst hotel in Savannah.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard suites, or at least 223, at all costs. In fact, avoid all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank doctoraicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Marshall House is centered in the historic district of Savannah, five blocks to the river, restaurants and historic landmarks. Good sized room with comfortable beds. Breakfast included, wine tasting in the early evening. Staff was very helpful. Very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MplsguyMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel itself is immaculate, our room had all of the charm of the 19th century with luxurious modern appointments. All of the staff we encountered were very courteous and helpful. While making reservations I had mentioned we were coming to celebrate our anniversary, there were 'happy anniversary' balloons and card waiting on our bed when we checked in. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the best Savannah has to offer. The morning breakfast was very good, and the wine and cheese social in the evenings are a nice touch as well. It has the privacy of a hotel and the charm of a bed and breakfast. We had a wonderful experience at the Marshall House, and we will most definitely be booking with them again, soon!

Room Tip: Book a Broughton Balcony King... there isn't a better place to relax in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,420 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,167 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £107 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing