We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marshall House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Ga
1 review
“Marshall House”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great hotel and location. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    538
    111
    42
    23
See reviews for
456
1,356
94
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We chose the Marshall House because of the location in the middle of the Historic District and the reviews here and we couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect for exploring Savannah on foot and excellent restaurants are just a few short blocks away. The staff was great and were well equipped with dining and entertainment suggestions to help make our weekend fun. The rooms are really lovely and comfortable. Breakfast is included and has a decent offering including quiche Lorraine, broccoli quiche and a citrus compote. We really enjoyed our weekend here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I love to stay in historical places, so we stayed at the Marshall House. Because we stayed there on a Tuesday night in November, pur rate was much less than it would have been on a weekend. We splurged for the the "superior" Queen room at $10 more. We were not disappointed; the room was lovely and roomy; the bathroom was large and spacious (we were in a corner room). All of the bedding was lovely, and the room was very clean. (the bed was a little too hard for our liking).

The Marshall House itself is fun to walk around in; every floor has pictures/memorabilia from a different era in Savannah. It is right downtown, so it is easy to get to all of the historic sites (not to mention Leopold's ice cream!)

The breakfast exceeded our expectations, as we had fresh fruit, as well as quiche, yogurt, etc - not a typical "continental breakfast" at all. And the setting for the breakfast room is lovely - they have enclosed a courtyard with a glass dome, and set palms around the room - the Marshall House's breakfast is a relaxing experience.

The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We did not need their help in finding anything in town, but they were very solicitous, let us park our car for a slightly longer time in reserved parking while we both checked in and checked out, etc.

In sum, if you can stay on a weeknight, the Marshall House is DEFINITELY worth the price; although it was a lovely experience, I'm not sure we would have spent the extra money on a weekend.

Room Tip: Our "superior" queen on the corner was worth the extra $10, as it was quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherbarbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My sister and I thought it would be an ideal place to go since it is the oldest hotel with a lot of historical aspect -- it was not that awesome but okay. It was too pricey -- the breakfast could be better -- if I go to Holiday Inn Express, it would outdid this one. It was disappointing especially how much we love breakfasts. Oh well. On the positive, it is well-located and easy to access -- within the walking area. Would pick another hotel or BB inn if we decide to go back again.

Room Tip: Pick two Queen Bed. My sister and I had to share the Queen bedroom -- oh my gosh, the room was so T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisePaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Marshall House staff helped my husband and I make the most out of our very short stay in Savannah. We had only one evening in town, so the staff helped us map out a self-guided walking tour, select some restauarants that suited our tastes and price, and offered to provide a 2 a.m. wake-up call and have our car ready at the front door by 3 a.m. As soon as we walked in the front door, we felt like we'd walked into a friend's home. It was a wonderful experience.
One should note that the room was cozy and clean, but very small. We didn't mind at all, but if room size is important to you, you may want to inquire before you book.
Lastly, the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small and some views are better than others, so if that's important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Marshall House is an excellent value, convenient location with friendly staff when you visit lovely Savannah, GA.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel was so charming, very clean and inviting. The location couldn't have been better, we could walk everywhere. The breakfast was great and enjoyed the wine and cheese happy hours. We recommend the veranda rooms, that was a great extra. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms with the veranda, it was fun to sit out on the rocking chairs and watch the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing