We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at the Marshall House for three nights and it was one of the most delightful experiences I've ever had at a hotel. The staff was courteous, the room had every amenity I could hope for, and the building itself was a virtual travel back in history. The complementary breakfast was well prepared and the garden-like atmosphere of the dining room was incredible. From the doormen to the desk staff, the waitstaff to room service, there was someone at the Marshall House looking out for my needs every step of the way. Decorated for Christmas and bejeweled like a true southern belle, the Marshall House will remain a hotel forever imbedded in my memory.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,491 - 2,497 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Great location. We could walk everyware. Beautiful room too. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravedancer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Beautiful location in the center of Savannah, very nice historic building with lovely rooms and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed at The Marshall House for five nights, and I didn’t want to leave! What I loved most about this hotel besides the rich history, the beautiful architecture, and the artwork was that I felt like I was spending the night at a friend’s. It doesn’t feel like you’re in a hotel, but a guest in someone’s home. I love all the paintings and furnishings and the hardwood floors! The bed in our classic king room was exceptionally comfortable... Breakfast was delicious, with lots of yummy options to choose from. The entire staff was friendly and the service was outstanding. Also, it is within walking distance to almost everything. Perfect location! We can’t wait to come back. I will never stay in a chain hotel again while in Savannah.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great hotel and location. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We chose the Marshall House because of the location in the middle of the Historic District and the reviews here and we couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect for exploring Savannah on foot and excellent restaurants are just a few short blocks away. The staff was great and were well equipped with dining and entertainment suggestions to help make our weekend fun. The rooms are really lovely and comfortable. Breakfast is included and has a decent offering including quiche Lorraine, broccoli quiche and a citrus compote. We really enjoyed our weekend here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I love to stay in historical places, so we stayed at the Marshall House. Because we stayed there on a Tuesday night in November, pur rate was much less than it would have been on a weekend. We splurged for the the "superior" Queen room at $10 more. We were not disappointed; the room was lovely and roomy; the bathroom was large and spacious (we were in a corner room). All of the bedding was lovely, and the room was very clean. (the bed was a little too hard for our liking).

The Marshall House itself is fun to walk around in; every floor has pictures/memorabilia from a different era in Savannah. It is right downtown, so it is easy to get to all of the historic sites (not to mention Leopold's ice cream!)

The breakfast exceeded our expectations, as we had fresh fruit, as well as quiche, yogurt, etc - not a typical "continental breakfast" at all. And the setting for the breakfast room is lovely - they have enclosed a courtyard with a glass dome, and set palms around the room - the Marshall House's breakfast is a relaxing experience.

The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We did not need their help in finding anything in town, but they were very solicitous, let us park our car for a slightly longer time in reserved parking while we both checked in and checked out, etc.

In sum, if you can stay on a weeknight, the Marshall House is DEFINITELY worth the price; although it was a lovely experience, I'm not sure we would have spent the extra money on a weekend.

Room Tip: Our "superior" queen on the corner was worth the extra $10, as it was quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherbarbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#27 of 115 in Savannah
1,397 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,179 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £114 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing