We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel was everything I expected it to be...close to shops, river, attractions, and dining. Very comfortable bed and friendly, knowledgable staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,377 - 2,383 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We only had one night to spend in Savannah, but the staff at he Marshall House treated us like long term guests. The decor in the common rooms and our guest room was lovely and the hotel was filled with Southern history and charm. The location was within walking distance to several of Savannah's beautiful squares, the market area and many restaurants.
We would definitely stay at the Marshall House again when returning to Savannah..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winelover0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As a gift for our wedding last year, we were given a gift certificate to stay at the Marshall House. We waited until close to our one year anniversary to book and spent a long weekend in Savannah. We ended up booking the Mary Marshall Suite, room 205 for two nights.

From the moment that we pulled up to the valet parking stand to when we left, every employee and staff member greeted us with a smile and was more than willing to help with anything that we needed. Although our room wasn't ready yet, they helped us unpack our luggage and stored it in the hotel while we went and started to explore Savannah. Within an hour of leaving on our exploration trip, they had called to tell us the room was ready for us to check in.

The Mary Marshall suite is the most expensive room there and as well it should be. It was two rooms: a sitting room with chairs and a small sofa and flat panel TV, as well as a desk and then the bedroom with a large king size bed and another flat panel TV. The bathroom was off the bedroom, with a clawed foot tub and shower, and then a separate shower stall as well. I was really impressed with the quality of the furniture and how comfortable the bed was, especially with how picky I am with beds. The wood floors were gorgeous and slippery in socks/bare feet (yes, bare feet). There were two ceiling fans, one in each room and they helped regulate the temperature as it started to get hot that weekend. AC worked great as well.

Staff was great. I don't think there was anything that we had asked for or needed help and advice on that wasn't met smile and what can we do to help. If we needed a cab, they got one. When we had a problem with the shower head in the stall shower, it was fixed when we got back from our tour that afternoon. The turn down service is a nice touch as well.

We at breakfast on Saturday morning and thought it was just OK. Food is always subjective when it comes to any persons reviews and there are just some things we are particular about and one of them is quiche. Although tasty, we felt it was a bit on the undercooked side for us. There were however other options such as various fruit, yogurts and rolls/pasteries/biscuits and bagels. We did not eat here on Sunday morning, partly because we woke up after 10AM, which is when I think they stop serving breakfast. They had quiche again as well.

Overall, I think the Marshall House is a great place to stay due to the location. It was a little noisy at night and you could hear cars zooming up and down the road, but after walking the entire city each day and a few cocktails, you can fall right asleep. The only reason why I didn't give it an Excellent was for the value. A two room suite like this one at hotel such as a Marriott or Hilton would run you about $200/night. We paid $350/night. Granted, we had a gift certificate but I still felt this was expensive for this type of room. You are staying in one of the most historic inns there with some rich history, but I don't think that it carries that much more value. I would recommend this place to my friends and family however for the historical aspect and how nice everything was there. If anything, the staff really makes this place what it is.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SliderNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent 3 nights at the historic Marshall Inn. It is wonderfully located in the historic district of Savannah. The lobby is lovely and comfortable surrounding you with history of the city. The concierge, Brant, is helpful and friendly. A true example of a Southern gentleman. The rooms were adequate, but in desperate need of a good cleaning. Bathroom sinks, toilets, and floors were not cleaned daily. The towels smelled sour from age. There was heavy dust on all edges, window ledges, and floors around baseboards. The final night we were there I found a pillowcase on my bed that had a large food stain on it. I did not eat in bed! Yuck! It is wonderful to step into history in an old hotel, but not dirt from the period!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRC590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed at the Marshall House several weeks ago when in town for a wedding. The hotel is perfectly located downtown and the lobby is historic and nicely done. Breakfast was nice, with three different choices of quiche, which were delicious. Our room was small, but charming with a comfortable bed and updated touches. The problem was the bathroom. I'm all for B&B quaintness, but the bath consisted of a pedestal sink with a narrow shelf over it, a toilet with a another two narrow shelves and a clawfoot tub. Clawfoot tubs are charming for BATHS, but this one had a jury-rigged arrangement where the shower head was attached to the side of the tub with a shower curtain on an oval hoop enveloping the whole contraption which was attached to the ceiling. Never mind that the showerhead was ridiculously low and useless for anyone over 5'5", the tub was so narrow that if you tried to turn around you risked slipping, and since the only thing you could grab onto was a flimsy shower curtain, good luck on breaking your fall. Add to that the fact that there was nowhere to put your soap and shampoo while showering, so you had to reach over to the sink, while balancing precariously in the tub, and grab your stuff from the adjacent shelf. I guess you could also put your supplies on the floor, but that seemed an even more dangerous option. Needless to say, showering was a comedy of errors. Add to that the fact that half of my toiletries ended up in the toilet when they careened off of the narrow ledge above due to the wind created while the door closed. I heard that some of the rooms had actual showers instead of the tub arrangement, so unless you're blinded by the "charm" of an old clawfoot tub, I'd request one of those. At $200 plus per night, they could do better on the comfort end.. Since clawfoot tubs are all the rage these days, the Marshall House should sell all of theirs and use the money to update their bathrooms!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with the clawfoot tub/shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Loved our recent stay at the Marshall House. A charming hotel that felt more like a B & B with a great location. The staff did an outstanding job & the breakfast was wonderful. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calwjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The place is grand and has an interesting history (with good ghost stories). Rooms and halls had tremendously high ceilings, but could have been a little nicer. It's a bit pricey, but most decent places in the area are. The evening wine and cheese complimentary spread was a nice touch, but the restaurant closes too early and the breakfast is nothing special. There is a prevailing antebellum feeling to the hotel, but this is historic Savannah we're talking about (not uncommon to the area). Glad enough that we stayed there one night, but probably not coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaveDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,185 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £113 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing