We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old Inn”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a very quaint hotel in the middle of Old Savannah. There are many restaurants within walking distance and it is only a few blocks from the river. The rooms are small and the A/C unit is loud but we were very comfortable and would return.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrTEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,093 - 2,099 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our daughter is a junior at SCAD so we travel to Savannah a few times a year to visit. During our first few visits to the city we stayed at a few other hotels. Once we stayed at Marshall House we never have stayed anywhere else. The location can not be beat. The rooms are great. The mattresses are so comfortable. The people who work here are delightful. The bar is nice. The restaurant is unbelievable. We just love this hotel. We never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToastingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Marshall House hits all the high points for what to expect in Savannah. A strong historical background, a gracious staff, beautiful rooms, and a location that can't be beat for exploring the historical downtown (and River Street). And it's reputed to be haunted. I can't speak from personal experience. If you are exploring Savannah with the energy it warrants, you will be far too exhausted to let ghosts keep you up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmdurant2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had reserved a room at Marshall House because of TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, my husband had to return home early and we had to cancel our reservations. I am writing only to warn people that the cancellation policy at this hotel is very punitive. We attempted to cancel on Monday for a Thursday/Friday reservation. The hotel charged us for Thursday. Four days is not enough!! Make sure that you read their policy and if you have a hesitation, don't reserve!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JRO487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am so glad we chose this hotel, the location was excellent to walking the historic district. The charm of this place felt like you were part of an era forgotten. We had a king size room which slanted a little, but considering how old the place was, it was part of the charm. After walking along the river at night after dinner we came back and played cards down in their lobby area. Highly recommend this place for its character. The staff here was FANTASTIC! The southern charm flowed from everything they did!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The place was beautiful. The room was cozy. The robes were a nice touch. Nicely appointed bathroom. Terrific and helpful staff. Great location, walking distance to most everything you would want to do. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 370_CWBYRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We love old restored hotels in the heart of the city. The Marshall House really fits that description. We were able to walk to everything. Had a wonderful dinner and went to a concert during the Savannah Music festival. Came back to the beautifully restored hotel, had a late night drink and went to a beautiful room and slept like a dream. Had a delightful breakfast and left the next morning. We loved the hotel and the staff.

Room Tip: I really only saw ours. It overlooked the main street and was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 493bettyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 115 in Savannah
1,421 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,859 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £100 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing