We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and style from a bygone era.”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wonderful staff and an olde worlde feel makes this a memorable place to stay. If you prefer all mod cons and large rooms stuffed with the latest comfortable furniture maybe its not for you!!

The hotel is right in the heart of the historic area you will not need your car again until its time to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,913 - 1,919 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great location in the middle of everything but quiet and relaxing ideal for a nice gateway. Classy surroundings, beautiful traditional house updated with comfort in mind. Upgraded to a bigger room with a king sized bed and it was worth it for the extra space. Employees were very friendly and provided excellent customer service. Free cheese and wine provided a nice respite after a long day. Large continental breakfast also provided with no charge. Wi- fi available too.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Raquelina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel is really nice and its' location is perfect for walking all over historic-downtown. All staff members are efficient, helpful and very nice. Our room was a king room on the 3rd floor with windows facing the street. I was worried about the noise from the street but wasn't at all. Breakfast was very basic and is included with the room. We parked on the street a few blocks away and wheeled our luggage so we did save alittle. The wine & cheese at 5 pm is a nice touch. We dined at the Jazz'd club & their tapas menu which was excellent. We fully recommend this Hotel if you are looking for that old-southern-era style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gburelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in Savannah. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the hotel has a beautiful combination of a traditional southern style, with some modern touches like the lobby floor and amenities. ONly negative we encountered was getting our car and luggage delivered. the guest rooms were nicely decorated, we had a room with a shower, not bath and it was spacious with beautiful original plank wood floors. The mattresses and bedding were not the quality that most 4 star or diamond hotels offer, but we slept comfortably anyway. The breakfast was very good. We would stay here again, although we tried the Mansion hotel the last few nights of our stay because we enjoyed it when we dined there while staying at the Marshall house. We were disappointed with the Mansion's service because honestly the staff at the Marshall house offered much more hospitable service than the front desk staff at the Mansion ( they were rude!)

Room Tip: We requested a high floor as we knew it was on a main road. We did not encounter any noise. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

From the time we arrived and were met by the valet until our car pulled away from the curb for the last time, we were treated wonderfully! All of the staff were knowledgeable and welcoming. The card left in our room congratulating us on our 25th anniversary (that was actually signed by the staff) made us realize this hotel is different than all the others and proves they listen and care about your time spent with them. Wonderful time,

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wudadandmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This historic hotel in the historic district had a perfect location for walking everywhere. Every single staff person offered excellent service. The hotel, while historic, was maintained beautifully. The lobby was very comfortable, as was our bed. We ate breakfast and dinner there. Both meals were very good. The bar was also fun. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Absolutely the best for family, location, friendliness, and value.
This was a family trip to see historic Savannah. We chose the Marshall House for location, value, and history. The rooms were nicely appointed; comparable to 4-star big names like Hilton, Hyatt, or Marriott. Walking distance to dining and any number of local attractions. Two more big plusses for this place: free cheese/wine in the evening and a wonderful heavy continental breakfast.

Big thanks to John and Blake for the welcoming and helpful atmosphere! We WILL be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Crewrest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 116 in Savannah
1,444 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 116 in Savannah
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 116 in Savannah
1,417 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#8 of 116 in Savannah
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £109 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing