We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience Overall”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience Overall”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A generally pleasurable experience. My wife & I spent 4 nights here being in Savannah for our son's graduation. The location is excellent & the staff is friendly and professional. The only low note was getting our car from valet. Several times there seemed to be confusion as to who, if anyone, was sent to get the car. It is in a public parking facility on a side street. At $15 per day, I would have hoped it would have been smoother & less noticeable. Internet connectivity was not the best; seemed slow &, at times, intermittent, but we were at the far end of the hallway & that could have been the reason. The room was clean & the hospitality staff was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Decker711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,899
    552
    114
    42
    25
See reviews for
485
1,439
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed at the Marshall House several times now and have enjoyed it. It is not like some of the grand inns of Savannah; however it has a certain character about it. Historically...it was the first hotel built in Savannah. It has been done over several times now, and it a mix of the old and new. It is conviently located and the staff is very friendly and helpful. If planning a trip to Savannah, I reccomend you bring a bike. It is the best way to get around and the hotel is real accomodating to store it for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for four nights in this historic inn. It has been meticulously restored, and the decorations are traditional yet not boring. I enjoyed all of the historic memorabilia, including framed historic prints and costumes from the era. The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions about the area. The location is very central to the downtown and historic areas. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

After staying here for Thanksgiving weekend I can say this is definitely the nicest hotel in savannah. The staff are very attentive and super helpful. Along with it being the oldest hotel in savannah, it has amazing rooms and some say it's even haunted. This is a must stay if your ever in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
326 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was very pleased, for a number of reasons, to have chosen Marshall House for our first trip to Savannah. When traveling, I always try to find local hotels and restaurants. We stayed three nights.

Rates: I booked on the hotel's web site last summer and obtained excellent rates; actually, changed from a queen room to a courtyard suite for only about $30.00 more. Our spacious suite offered two separate rooms and more than adequate space for two grandparents and a six-year old grandson.

Location: We found the Marshall House to be situated in an excellent location on Broughton Street. A brief drive down Bay Street and River Street affirmed my decision not to stay on those very touristy streets. We were within easy walking distance to many sites of interest, near restaurants and interesting shops.

Service: I cannot say enough about the service. The parking valet greeted us promptly. Staff addressed us by name, a new experience for us. Everyone was most helpful. For example, I mentioned that we wanted to find a restaurant that served crab cakes Benedict for breakfast and forgot about the comment until we walked through the lobby and the clerk told us that she found a restaurant for us. WOW! Oh! The wine and cheese reception provided a welcome late afternoon respite. Also, housekeeping kept our room impeccably clean. Staff offered assistance and directions every time we left the hotel.

Just a few additional comments: Yes, I read reviews that complained about the view from hotel rooms that overlooked a parking garage. That was the view from our room; however, we were not there to sit in our rooms to view Savannah. Also, I read reviews that included complaints about creaky wooden floors. Well, this is a very old and historic building where original fixtures and character were well-maintained. Not a problem for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the service, character, ambiance; actually, just everything about Marshall House. If we return to Savannah, we will return to the Marshall House. If you prefer sterile "big box" hotels, Marshall House is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy historic character and charm, the Marshall House will meet your needs.

Room Tip: I did not intend to rate kids activities; Marshall House is not a resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Marshall House is a great hotel located in the heart of the historic district of Savannah. It is within a few blocks of Reynolds Square, Bay and River Streets, and the Olde Pink House restaurant. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and the building itself is beautiful. The rooms are decorated with classic southern charm and all the most modern conveniences like high speed internet, HD televisions, and great bathrooms. The complimentary breakfast is very good the courtyard it is in is lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and it the perfect place to stay on a romantic trip to Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broughton St on the second floor open up onto a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location, lovely restoration of an old hotel. Because it was updated in 1999, it has many modern features such as a refrigerator and large, flat screen TV. Breakfast is included in the atrium with a hot entree and well as the standard cold breakfast offerings. The highlight of our stay was the wine and cheese gathering in the parlor. Nice cheese and very acceptable wine in a lovely atmosphere. You can meet other guests or stay in your own group.

The staff was welcoming and attentive with a full five stars for Michelle, the concierge. She recommended two restaurants that were perfect for our needs (we wanted live music) and she was helpful about sites to see and other information. Most of all she does her homework and knows what's happening.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,262 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,001 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing