We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Old Hotel”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Marshall House is the grand dame of historic Savannah hotels, which naturally means its haunted. I didn't experience any paranormal activity here, but I did have a perfectly pleasant stay. The room was nice, but the hotel is decidedly old. That adds to the charm, but also adds to the creaks in the hallway and to difficulty keeping other hallway noises out, too. Ghosts probably would've been a little quieter than guests and staff walking past our door.

We didn't have a lot of interactions with the staff, but got some good assistance from the concierge. Unfortunately, one of his recommendations had just closed to make some renovations. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast and the lobby and common areas are very well appointed.

The Marshall House is located on Broughton Street, one of the main streets through the heart of Savannah. You are easily within walking distance of all the downtown historic sites, but Broughton Street itself is a little weak. There are pockets of cute stores and coffee shops, but then a string of vacant or blandly decorated storefronts, too. Still, it's better to be there then by the larger chain hotels closer to the river.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent an excellent weekend at the Marshall House celebrating our anniversary. We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable. The king size bed had a very firm mattress which made for a nice night's sleep. This is a historic restored hotel, which is lovely and quaint and a bit quirky in places. The beautiful old hardwood floors are a warped in places which can make for a bit of an uneven walk, especially if you have enjoyed the especially accommodating 45 Bistro bar in the hotel. The bathroom in our room was smaller than what I have seen in other similarly priced suites, but it was clean, comfortable, and the shower had sufficient force and plenty of hot water.
The staff was amazingly attentive. In addition to the valet parking, and the assistance with bags, they went the extra mile to assist with ice, refreshments, reservations, directions, really anything you could think of. We even left our Ipad in our car. No problem. That was retrieved straightaway and was securely in our room upon our return from lunch.
Highly recommend this elegant, yet comfortable hotel right in the center of downtown Savannah, within walking distance of nearly everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicksSpringfield_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a wonderful pre-Christmas stay here. The inn is conveniently located to all of the historic sites in Savannah. We loved the breakfast and wine and cheese. Mr. John is our favorite! What an excellent trip we had!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Marshall House. The location is great, very central. Our room was very nice, our only complaint is that our windows looked out on a large parking garage. Not the best view considering how much we paid for our room. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetigger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husand and I spent one night at the Marshall House in November. From the time that we checked in until the valet returned our car, we were welcomed with friendly respect. Neil at the desk was warm and efficient, and that extended to all the staff that we encountered. The hotel is charming and "antique-y". Our room, a superior king, was lovely in its decor and comfortable in its amenities. The hotel had a fun wine and cheese party where guests had a chance to mingle. The location of the hotel is excellent. We walked to Lady and Sons for dinner, and the next day we further explored the historic district of Savannah on foot. Breakfast, served in a former courtyard (now roofed over), was plentiful and, if not delicious, certainly adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I came to Savannah for our honeymoon and stayed at The Marshall House for 4 nights. Bridget, Amelia and Neil at the front desk were so helpful! They helped us get around the city and book our tours. John is a great valet. We stayed in The Mary Marshall Suite so we didn't have any ghost appearances. (Whew!) We would recommend to others to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a lovely night at the Marshall House and wish it had been longer. After staying in hotels around the world we consider this to be among our top 5 favorites! Location is wonderful, the staff was genuinely friendly and helpful, and the hotel retains original charm. We booked a queen room and it was nice for the two of us for a one night stay although I would recommend booking a larger room for longer stays. The included continental breakfast was served in the lovely courtyard and was very nice. It included several juices, cereals, danish, fruit, and muffins.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a night or two, book one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhall85917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,136 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,377 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £110 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing