We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights in Savannah”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two Nights in Savannah”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I and another couple stayed for 2 nights in The Marshall House. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay, providing helpful advice on restaurants we might like to visit in downtown Savannah. Our room, whilst perfectly comfortable with excellent facilities, suffered from us having a view of a City centre car park at the rear of the hotel. Each evening the hotel offered guests wine and cheese in the early evening, and other hotels might usefully learn from this generous gesture on the part of management.

Breakfasts were no more than adequate, indeed on the second morning we decided to eat at a nearby restaurant. Overall, we would most certainly stay again, mainly because of the close proximity to the old town.

Room Tip: Specify in advance the room you would most like to occupy ( away from elevators and air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    552
    114
    42
    25
See reviews for
485
1,439
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Marshall House. Room was clean and comfortable the staff were very helpful. Great location in the historic district. Restaurant and bar were excellent. Would definitely stay there again on future trips to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a gorgeous and well-kept establishment. Rooms are beautiful and clean. We liked the proximity to local attractions and being in the heart of the historic district. Wine and cheese in the early evening, in the parlor also was fun. One downside, the floors in the hallway should be covered with carpeting or a runner as the sound of suitcases rolling was sometimes loud.

Room Tip: The suite is great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived early (1:30) & our room was ready! Front desk, house keeping, concierge & valet staff were all extremely friendly. Room clean & comfortable beds. Breakfast was okay, room for improvement. Location was prime, close to everything!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2Hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and service. However, it is old, so you can hear everything all the other guests are doing all the time as well as people on the street- very hard to sleep. Rooms and bathrooms are much, much smaller than standard hotel rooms. You pay for the location and to experience history; not for comfort.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

First visit here was after filming Forrest Gump, and since then I have been coming back. A few years ago, in 2009 or 2010, my buddy and I stopped in the week of Mardi Gras and took the Mary Marshall suite.

They were normally closed for spring cleaning, but they let us stay. I slept in the bed and my buddy took the couch. He could not sleep at all that night because of the sound of kids shoes on the hardwood floors. You know that clunky sound. Well guess what, the halls are carpeted and the only other guests were an elderly couple on the opposite side.

To this day he will not speak of it in public, and the ghosts are quite hospitable to a Yankee like me.

Room Tip: Get a balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great architecture, lovely rooms and brilliant service. What more to say. Difficult to fault. Quiche for breakfast was a surprise. Well done to the whole team. Topped off by Savannah being a great place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wondering_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,262 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,999 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing