We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot of noise...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marshall House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lot of noise...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

There was a wedding on our second night in the hotel. While we appreciate the need for everyone to enjoy their nuptials, it would have been nice if the ownership had shared that a wedding was planned. We loved the proximity to the city's historic district and restaurants...the hotel was just very loud....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    535
    109
    41
    23
See reviews for
443
1,333
92
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Many of the same comments as others reviewers--rooms are small, staff is pleasant, location is great for visiting the historic district. Water pressure is low and there is some noise from within the hotel. Our room faced the street, that noise was not as loud as I would have anticipated. Very nice public areas with newspapers, chess, and backgammon all available. I would stay here again if visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Post765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a long weekend with my wife on the 4th floor of this place. Walking distance to EVERYTHING downtown. Fantastic staff, old charm and you can't beat the valet parking. This place is old...small rooms (the one we where in), thin walls and has some real history. This place is Haunted. I've read reviews about the Marshall House before we visited and thought nothing of it. We stayed in room 415 and experienced everything from noise in the hallway in the wee hours that sounded like pool balls hitting each other, rubber balls hitting the walls and a loud crash which was weird. Inside the room was more creative with hangers rustling in the wardrobe amongst other things. Nothing was threatening and made the stay interesting.

Room Tip: The 4th floor gets going at the wee hours of the morning if you're looking for some paranormal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EROCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We only had one night with a full afternoon and morning on either end of the stay to explore Savannah. Pricewise and location made this an excellent choice. The valet/bell hop and front desk personnel were extremely pleasant and helpful. We were able to check in early. Our room was a discount room, so it was not facing the street, but the roof. It was perfect for one night. This hotel was similar to the Historic Inns of Annapolis. The lobby and lounge were very nice, and they hosted a pleasant wine and cheese reception for guests. It was an easy walk to several landmarks and the waterfront bars and restaurants. Care is recommended walking back to the hotel too late at night as there were not many people on the side streets and police presence seemed nonexistent. The front desk was very helpful arranging for a tour the next morning before our departure. They kept our luggage until we returned around noon. The valet retrieved our car and we were on our way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had my my wedding reception at the Marshall house on march 1,2014... I cannot put into words how amazing our experience was. John at 45 bistro is a God send... Not only did he set
Up and arrange my reception to my exact specifications, he also did my all my floral arrangements which were out of this world!!!!!!!!! The good was delicious and the staff was amazing... I will go back every year to celebrate our anniversary and other special occasions at 45 bistro. I really love this establishment and what it represents. It is an integral part of the savannah community !!!!! Best wedding reception!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had some small issues when checking in, but these were cleared up quickly by the staff (and we were compensated for the mix up without asking). Wonderfully historic hotel with the amenities you need for a higher end stay. Perfect location between 4 beautiful historic squares and right on the main street no less, walk-able to almost any destination in the historic district.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Marshall House first opened in 1851 and was renovated around 1999. This is a well maintained building on the edge of the Savannah historic district. All locations and squares are within walking distance of the hotel.

The rooms and public areas are beautifully furnished. Our room included a comfy king bed, classic tiled bathroom with a great shower (no tub), hard wood floors, and just a pleasant place to stay. Do remember that this is an old building, it is a long way from the accommodations at any of the name brand hotels in the country. Regardless, we love this type of place.

Great staff, smiling and helpful. Wine and cheese served every evening in the lobby, a pleasant time to relax and visit with other travelers. A superior breakfast also included in the morning.

Very little not to like here. We would come back to Savannah and this hotel in a minute. We loved it here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing