We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Great Location & Wonderful Customer Service”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Great Location & Wonderful Customer Service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at this property multiple times. First I came for business, and immediately, I rebooked a trip to bring the family. The provenance of the House itself is exciting. The restoration is beautiful. The location leaves everything in historic downtown Savannah within walking distance. The staff is amazing. I can confidently say I have never experienced more helpful and knowledgeable staff. I will be returning as soon as possible!

Room Tip: As for a room with a tub - big beautiful claw foot tubs are so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    561
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
504
1,482
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My son and his family and I stayed at the Marshall House for the wedding of my niece Megan. We are originally from Savannah, so for us coming home was very important. We were very familiar with the downtown area and enjoyed revisiting many of our favorite spots. And the wedding reception was beyond our expectations. Everything was so beautiful and tastefully done. The food was wonderful.
We enjoyed everything about our stay: a courteous and helpful staff, wonderful valets to take care of our car, great room service, all enhancing an extraordinary downtown location.
I would definitely stay there on another trip home. It is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Awesome stay. EVERYONE was extremely friendly. We would go back for sure and take friends with us. Only thing, we would request a room on the second floor for the veranda. Loved it :) We did not find it haunted but we heard a few noises probably the wood floors. :) Go and enjoy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dexter523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Marshall House with another couple for 3 nights during the St. Patrick's Day festivities. The location was perfect: close to shopping, dining and all the beautiful architecture of the historic district of downtown Savannah. Once your car is parked, you will enjoy walking everywhere in this beautiful city. The hotel was everything we hoped for and more. The staff are so welcoming and helpful and I can't say enough about Charles and Joseph at the front desk. Our rooms were lovely, the complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and it was a nice perk to have complimentary bottled water delivered to our rooms each day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Checked into room 405 with husband and 5 year old for two nights. Marshall House is in the perfect location near the river and within the historic district, close to shops such as Paris and Kate Spade and many great restaurants. We were drawn to the history and southern charm of this hotel from the 1850's. Our room was small but beautifully furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was in the lovely glass atrium that truly felt like old Savannah. When we checked in, the painting of the original owner, Mary Marshall, seemed to be sizing me up with a penetrating stare. When I asked about it, the friendly front desk provided me with several pages of the hotel's history as well as several pages of ghost stories! As I stayed up late reading, I heard many strange noises in the hallway outside, such as a woman walking on a wood floor and a baby crying which coincided with the stories. I was too afraid to open the door to see if anyone was actually there. I would stay there again, as the room felt welcoming....

Room Tip: The 4th floor apparently has had the most paranormal activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_B655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Loved the Marshall House! The rooms are small but that was not an issue. It was noticed more in the bathroom where there is not a lot of counter space, if any. Certainly not a deal breaker for us! The uniqueness and character of the place outweighed the size of the rooms. Staff was friendly and willing to arrange dinner reservations at the local restaurants or a pickup for the on-off trolley. Everything was so close, there was no need to get your car out of the parking garage. The wine/cheese in the evening in the comfy den made it feel more like home instead of a hotel. I recommend it highly and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the roof on the 2nd floor. Not a good view - but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

There was a wedding on our second night in the hotel. While we appreciate the need for everyone to enjoy their nuptials, it would have been nice if the ownership had shared that a wedding was planned. We loved the proximity to the city's historic district and restaurants...the hotel was just very loud....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing