We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time at the Marshall House!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Time at the Marshall House!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I planned a visit with friends and selected the Marshall House after looking at several other options. It has a great location for walking to many places in the historic district. The library inside was nicely decorated and we appreciated the wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. Our room was clean and comfortable. We found the staff considerate and helpful. We worked with Charles and Joseph, and found them to be most helpful in providing local information, and accommodating our schedule. If we ever return to Savannah, we will be sure to go to this location again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor were quiet and provided good sleep atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    560
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
502
1,477
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW area
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed three nights in room 422 and enjoyed a great stay in Savannah. The Marshall House is centrally located, we were able to walk everywhere we needed. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. The breakfast room is charming, and though the offerings were basic, it was all we needed as we had planned to eat in many of the city's fine restaurants. The wine and cheese reception in the evenings was relaxing and the staff were helpful and full of Southern charm.

Room Tip: Room 422 was on the top floor at the end of the hall - a great location and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanDFWarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our visit to Savannah was made more special by our stay in this wonderful hotel. The convenient location made it possible for us to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit. The staff was warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. We felt like we were staying with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a charming hotel right in the heart of the Savannah Historic District. Its storied history and the fact that it is presumed to be haunted, certainly add to the ambiance. The Superior King room was nicely appointed and comfortable, overlooking the street. Service was friendly and unobtrusive. Breakfast is served in a beautiful atrium and evening wine and cheese in the adjoining library area. Both were nice features. The only complaint is that the bathroom was small and cramped, owing the the fact that it was obviously retrofitted into the room. You may also hear floors creaking around you but I didn't mind since it wasn't happening late into the night. What I like best about the place is that it truly reflects the character of Savannah...stately yet unpretentious and authentic. Indeed, it's a big part of its history. Don't go here if you're looking for the latest amenities like a fitness center. Instead, get your exercise walking to the sights and restaurants which are all accessible by foot. I look forward to returning soon.

P.S. The restaurant in the hotel, 45 Bistro, is a very good fine dining choice with a very nice bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Walking distance all around historic district - 5 min walk to water street. Valet parking $15 a night. Stayed for 2 nights. Historic building, renovated, old civil war hospital, ghosts and all. Rooms have high ceilings, smallish but not your cookie cutter rooms like hilton which I prefer, great height ceilings. Complimentary breakfast is fine. Staff friendly. Perfect for short stay and reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ross7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Ignace, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed on the second floor king balcony for our 28th anniversary. It had all the southern charm and expectations we had hoped for. A wonderful two day experience, with wonderful next door neighbors we met on the balcony! We had the time of our lives.. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8323kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the superior room with King size bed. I love the design of this hotel. Service was great overall. Room size was good with lovely colonial design. Bathroom was small with only shower but it was clean and good design.

We took advantage of the complimentary wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Breakfast was average but still lovely.

Location was great, walkable to all the attractions. The hotel is well suitable to the gorgeous city of Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,216 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing