We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark Hotel”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Islip,ny
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Landmark Hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Marshall House is a landmark in Savannah. Any of the trolley tours will go past and point it out as the oldest hotel in Savannah, however it is totally modern, well maintained and charming hotel. The complementary breakfast was excellent, as was the wine and cheese offered in the afternoon. The staff is attentive and helpful, especially Jackie and Charles at the desk. My husband and I enjoyed staying in one of the balcony rooms which was a delightful place to have our wine. The balcony is accessed by means of a full length window (which might be a little difficult for some people). The hotel is within walking distance of everything, but most importantly is across the street from Leopold's and the best ice cream ever!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are really cool, but the balcony access via the window is a little tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    561
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
504
1,482
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Marshall House. Although the rooms are small due to the historic nature of the building, everything was lovely, clean and the staff friendly. The location was perfect for exploring all Savannah has to offer on foot, and the only time we actually had to drive was to go out to Tybee Island.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Artscampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southside, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our first stay in a B&B and we chose a winner. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The Marshall House is located just right to walk to just about anywhere in the historic district. We walked everywhere!! We chose one of the smaller rooms but it was perfect for 2. Very lovely and charming. Room 220 at end of hall was quiet. Sometimes at night I would notice the heating/cooling unit coming on but I guess I was a light sleeper due to the ghost stories we heard on one of our tours.

Room Tip: Room 220 is at end of long hall and we found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Marshall House in downtown Savannah was both comfortable and relaxing. The staff was very helpful, especially when providing tips for getting the most out of the city in a short amount of time. This historic hotel has managed to meld old and new, maintaining the antique atmosphere while providing modern amenities. The evening wine and cheese service was well stocked and replenished as needed. The breakfast, too, was plentiful and varied enough in choices. We will definitely stay at the Marshall House on future visits to Savannah.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I planned a visit with friends and selected the Marshall House after looking at several other options. It has a great location for walking to many places in the historic district. The library inside was nicely decorated and we appreciated the wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. Our room was clean and comfortable. We found the staff considerate and helpful. We worked with Charles and Joseph, and found them to be most helpful in providing local information, and accommodating our schedule. If we ever return to Savannah, we will be sure to go to this location again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor were quiet and provided good sleep atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW area
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed three nights in room 422 and enjoyed a great stay in Savannah. The Marshall House is centrally located, we were able to walk everywhere we needed. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. The breakfast room is charming, and though the offerings were basic, it was all we needed as we had planned to eat in many of the city's fine restaurants. The wine and cheese reception in the evenings was relaxing and the staff were helpful and full of Southern charm.

Room Tip: Room 422 was on the top floor at the end of the hall - a great location and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanDFWarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our visit to Savannah was made more special by our stay in this wonderful hotel. The convenient location made it possible for us to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit. The staff was warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. We felt like we were staying with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing