We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love This Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Marshall house has a great location in the historic district and has the best employees of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The interior is beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a suite and it was huge! The bed was very comfortable for us.. I have had nine surgeries on my spine and a comfortable bed with proper support is a must so I can move in the morning. The complimentary breakfast was very good and much better than you normally have with a free breakfast. There is a wine and cheese reception Sun thru Thurs and the wine I had was really very good. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    538
    111
    42
    23
See reviews for
456
1,356
94
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We could not have been more pleased. Easy walk to the riverfront and most restaurants and shops. The hotel has the feel (no ghosts seen or heard - sorry) of a 19th century hotel - which it is. This Savannah hotel is one of the few that was purpose - built before the civil war to be a hotel. The hotel was refurbished in 1999 throughout but still has the original woodwork and 15(?) foot ceilings in the rooms and the common areas. The lobby sitting area is beautiful and the glass-ceiling courtyard dining area is a treat.

We recommend highly.

Room Tip: The second floor front rooms have access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The food was great, the service was outstanding. The Marshall House is beautiful inside and out. The rooms were great-Wife and I stayed in a Petite Queen. The room was very clean and looked great - from the fireplace to the original wood floors, definitely beat any of the hotels we have stayed in thus far. The staff is always there when you need them and all employees say hello they ask about your day when you walk in. We did the Valet parking, it was 15 a day. The parking garage is 12 for 24/hr parking and you are not guaranteed a spot. 15 was well worth it - when we were ready we would call down and give them out ticket number. By the time we got downstairs the car was ready and air conditioning on. Sun-Thurs they have the wine and cheese hour from 530-7. Wine was great and atmosphere perfect. I would suggest this hotel to anyone visiting Savannah. In-fact, my wife and I will be staying there again next year when we travel to Florida.

Room Tip: Our room was above the main strip. Each room has a great view and all are filled with the 1800's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far Rockaway, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had the best time when we stayed at the Marshall House!!! We came to Savannah because I love history. We chose the Marshall House because it's the oldest Bed & Breakfast in Savannah. As soon as you walk in, you can feel the history! The staff was super friendly and answered ALL of my questions about the Marshall House. They weren't stiff and actually laughed with me during our conversations. They were knowledgeable of the City of Savannah and lead us to better places than we had planned to go. We had the time of our lives! We will be back next year! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Marshall Hotel is a conveniently located in historic Savannah. We selected it due the fact that it is rumored to be haunted and we love B&B's. Although we did not experience any paranormal activity, we still had a great time and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very hospitable and helpful. The valets were awesome! The only complaint that I have concerning the hotel is the breakfast. I have stayed at B&B's that have a full breakfast ( eggs, grits, fruit, etc.) each morning. And they'd change it up each day with something different. Each morning of our stay at Marshall House breakfast consisted of cereal, muffins, danishes, quiche (or egg pie as I like to call it).

Room Tip: 4th floor is where most paranormal activity is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly_Hudler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first time me and my husband visited savannah we where really excited to stay at the Marshall house .
Once we arrived we where told we had to pay $30 for the valet service this was our first time using valet parking we where concerned when it took over 20 mins to receive our items but what happens next was unbelievable when we noticed we forgot out phone chargers we asked to have our keys and we would walk to the parking garage that was right behind the hotel once we got to our new car we opened our door it had a terrible odor of marijauna we where so upset that the valet parking guy would smoke it in our car with no respect .
We where so upset I couldn't believe this hotel would higher people like that.
My husband wanted to go say something but I asked him not to until we left I didn't want it to ruin our stay we
already paid way to much for only 2 days and I wanted to walk around savannah with no worries it was a new town for the both if us he honored my request but we walked around everywhere so we didn't have to use the valet again once we checked out my husband called to speak with a manager he responded telling us he knew which guy it was that he has had problems with him in the past he asked for our email and would be in touch with us and would make sure or next stay would be better!! The sad thing is he never had enough respect to email us back I thought the hotel was better than that since it was our first stay I thought he would take care of us since we had such a bad experience but felt they didn't care and just blew us off .
Never again will we stay there !!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel but the people who work there are the best part by far! The Marshall House is in the perfect location to walk everywhere in downtown Savannah. It is a beautiful place with an interesting history. Every staff member was always so kind and helpful. Joseph and Jazmine were especially hospitable! They were a joy to see everyday! We recommend this hotel to anybody! -Chad & Rachel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing