We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is not what it should be”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel is not what it should be”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is located in the city. Parking is available at a cost. It is overpriced for what you get. We did not get a balcony room as requested. The room was furnished with old style furniture as you would expect. There was WIFI The bathroom had a shower curtain which seemed out of place due to sanitary considerations. The room was not dusted properly. The included breakfast was not acceptable. There was nothing to go with the scrambled eggs. No potatoes, grits, sausage, or bacon. The bananas were not fit to eat. The whole experience was not as one would expect from this landmark hotel. We were looking forward to staying here after a month long trip to Europe but were totally disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a balcony room. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,950
    559
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
500
1,471
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I took a solo trip to Savannah to recharge my batteries and the Marshall House was a great choice. About 3 blocks from river street and walking distance to great bars, restaurants, and other points of interests. It was clean, comfortable, and the perfect blend of historic and modern. The staff was friendly and helpful. They remind you of your own family and friends.The only negative was my view. It was on the back of the building so all I could see was the parking deck. Fortunately, I barely noticed the lack of view because the room was so lovely. One piece of advice, skip the complimentary breakfast and eat out. The restaurant nextdoor supplies the breakfast and it was the low point of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We found the Marshall House to be a fabulous place to stay for our visit to Savannah. It's beautiful, full of history, and within walking distance of everything you'll want to see while you're there. We were lucky to arrive just in time for the evening wine and cheese party. We also enjoyed reading about the hotel's haunted history. Our room was a double queen. It was very clean and posh. The hotel staff was friendly. Our stay was "over the top" enjoyable!

Room Tip: We heard one is more likely to see or experience a ghost if you have a room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here once before and we now agree that this is the only place we want to stay when we visit Savannah. Hotel is beautiful, very clean and centrally located. It is a quick walk to the City Market and Riverstreet areas. Surrounding areas are very safe and felt that way even at night. We enjoying ending the evening down at the bar attached to the hotel. Bed is very comfortable and you do not hear outside noise in the room at all. My only complaint is that I wish people were more considerate of others and did not let their room doors slam shut at all hours. We had room 414 and I did hear some of the ghostly noises in the middle of the night, will it deter my staying here again.... not one bit. The service is always very friendly and this hotel is worth the price you pay and more.

Room Tip: Higher up it is quieter, but you may notice some "bumps in the night" as the hotel is haun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a treasure! This hotel has it all, beauty, charm, history, location, great customer service, modern amenities and an excellent value! Arrived hours before check-in hoping to just drop off luggage and start exploring. Within 10 mins. Jackie at the front desk had luggage secured, dinner reservations made, trolley tour booked and the shuttle for the tour waiting at the front door. Amazing customer service that continued throughout my stay! The location was not only easy walking distance to just about everything in the historic district, but a free city shuttle (connectonthedot) stop was right outside the front door. I reserved a petite queen room (the smallest and least expensive). My room was quiet and elegantly appointed with every amenity I could want and overlooked the courtyard where a very nice complimentary breakfast was served each morning. Loved the ambiance of the original hard wood floor and fireplace. The lobby was gorgeous and complimentary wine and cheese were served in the afternoons. Great opportunity to meet and share experiences with guests from all over the world. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonmimi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the Marshall House for 2 nights with our two children and found it very accommodating. It was walking distance to everything and the staff was helpful in taking the time to write down suggestions of things to see (Thanks Jasmine!). The hotel itself was clean and we loved the history of it. The beds were comfortable and with the air running we couldn't hear anything. The breakfast was good and plenty of it, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was also tasty and a nice break from sightseeing. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Marshall House was historic, beautiful, and accommodating. My two girlfriends and I stayed for 2 days, we had a wonderful time. The staff was pleasant and helpful! I highly recommend, and I would deffinitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing