We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cotton Sail Hotel(Savannah)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The DeSoto(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hamilton-Turner Inn(Savannah)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites(Savannah)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,246)
Filter reviews
3,246 results
Traveller rating
2,422
628
124
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,422
628
124
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichewine and cheesehistoric hotellocal historiancivil warbroughton streetclaw foot tubwood floorsmodern amenitieswithin walking distancesouthern hospitalityfourth floorbalcony roomrooms are smallvalet parkinghigh ceilingstrip to savannah
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 3,246 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time and the staff was more than accommodating and friendly!! Would highly suggest!! We had a balcony and the view was spectacular. The location is also very central to everything. We will be returning!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ethan C,

Happy Anniversary! We are so honored you chose us for such a special occasion. Call us directly when you return so we can properly welcome you back to your home away from home!

Best Wishes,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Marshall House dates from 1851 and the old Southern charm remains. An old boarding house has been updated with modern details, while retaining the historic properties that give it personality. You can find relics from the Civil War on display throughout the hotel and on certain nights a historian comes into the hotel to provide a talk on the history of the hotel and Savannah. This made the hotel come alive as he discussed how a woman became a property owner in the 1800's and how the hotel survived through the years, eventually being refurbished into the gorgeous hotel it is today.

The guest rooms are well appointed, with USB chargers, a mini fridge hidden in the bedside table and bright, clean bathroom. There are fire places everywhere throughout the hotel and the original wood floors are slanted in places, making for an authentic feel. The beds, sheets and pillows were comfortable and soft.

The Bistro 45 was closed on the night we visited (Sunday) and we didn't experience breakfast, though the breakfast room was a glassed in courtyard connecting the two buildings that make up the Marshall House. The concierge staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants nearby that met our family's needs. Leopolds ice cream shop is on the same street, which is a must while in Savannah! The staff also helped us arrange tickets on the trolley tour of the city.

There is a nightly wine and cheese party in the lobby, which we took advantage of. They also feature either a harpist or historian (on alternating nights) to entertain the guests. We were fortunate enough to be there on a night when the historian gave a talk on the history of the Marshall House and of Savannah, which gave us an additional appreciation of the property. We never saw him, but the historian did mention that there is a ghost on the 4th floor of the hotel, whom is a Civil War soldier. Just tell him the war is over and all is well so he can rest peacefully was the advice provided.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of anything within the historic district of Savannah. We had no problem walking to restaurants, shops and bars. There is a parking garage around the corner if you choose to self-park instead of valet. Also there are several huge bound books of local restaurant menus to help you narrow down where to eat while in town.

The central air worked better in certain areas of the hotel than others. We had room 207, which was right next to the central air exchange so the hallway and room were very cool (it was June, so this was appreciated). When walking around the hotel, I would feel extreme differences in the coolness or heat of the air around me that would change dramatically within a few feet - walk a few feet and the temperature would rise dramatically. This is the way of an old building.

I would stay here again when coming to Savannah.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank adqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear adqp,

Wow, thank you for such a generous and thorough review! I am so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, and that you have such a deep appreciation for the wonderful history that makes the Marshall House (and Savannah!) so unique. We look forward to welcoming you back in town soon!

Warmest Wishes,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and 8 year old daughter. We stayed one night before continuing to Florida.

The Marshall Hotel was perfect for us:
- lots of history and character
- very clean
- friendly staff
- perfect location

I play to visit Savannah again. I’ll try to stay at this hotel again when I do.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Amanda W,

Thank you for a lovely review! I am thrilled you all enjoyed your short stay, and hope that next time you will be able to enjoy a few more days exploring Savannah! Wishing you safe travels!

Best Wishes,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yes.. the floors creak.. this beautiful building tilts ever so slightly, and maybe you thought you heard the heaviness of boots pacing back and forth with purpose over your room at 2:00 am. Comfortable beds beckon you after a day of touring Savannah’s Squares. Marshall reigns over Broughton Street with offerings at every glance. The superior staff, always available, and paired with a welcoming smile. The breakfast? we are still talking about the biscuits, by far, the most decadent to ever grace a Southern plate..

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank honest reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear honest reviewer (Great name, by the way!),

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on Trip Advisor. Your recommendation is always the highest compliment we can receive! Yes, we have a few quirks from a historical building that add a lot of character... I love pointing out the slightly "wavy" hallways with original flooring. I am happy to hear you appreciated the historical charm! I look forward to welcoming you back again someday!

Safe Travels!

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Marshall House is in the Historic District there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance; the staff is friendly and helpful and we were there when the hotel hosted a historical talk which was very informative.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane D,

Thank you for leaving us a review! I am so happy you were able to take advantage of our nightly entertainment and wonderful walkability of downtown Savannah. Come back and see us again!

Warmest Wishes,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews