We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget your phone...as it will REALLY COST YOU” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't forget your phone...as it will REALLY COST YOU”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The room was great, and the service staff were exceptional and friendly. It was great until I dropped my phone in the room and didnt notice it until i had gone. The hotel used the MOST EXPENSIVE PACKAGING SERVICE in town. I was charged 75.00 to ship my phone to me.
So enjoy your stay, but just TRIPLE CHECK your room before you leave. IT WILL DEFINITELY COST YOU if you forget something.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    535
    109
    41
    23
See reviews for
443
1,333
92
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

This was our third trip to Savannah, and The Marshall House did not disappoint! Previously, we stayed in chain hotels and on this trip decided to change it up a bit. I'm so glad we did and I think anyone else would be, too.

From start to finish there just wasn't much to find fault with at The Marshall House. When we arrived we were greeted curbside and our bags loaded onto a cart and taken to our room. We valeted the car and went to check in.

The lobby was beautiful--marble floors, period furniture, flowers, etc. To the right is the check-in desk, the left the "library," and directly in front a set of stairs leading to the second level. The library is a large sitting area with local and national newspapers lying about and was a very comfortable place to relax after being out in the heat of Savannah. On weeknights (not Friday and Saturday) they have a wine & cheese reception that was quite nice and relaxing.

After checking in we headed up to our room, which was one of the Broughton Balcony rooms (#219, on the end). We were not disappointed. The room itself featured a King bed, flat-screen HDTV, a large antique armoire for our clothes, two chairs and a desk (with another chair). A mini-fridge was located inside one of the bedside tables (or, more aptly, built into it). The bathroom featured an antique claw-foot tub & shower (some of these rooms only have a shower and no bathtub--you have to confirm when you make your reservation exactly what will be in your room). Everything about the room, from its hardwood floor and rug to its 12 foot (minimum) ceiling screamed "original" and "this is definitely NOT a chain hotel!" Both my wife and I remarked that it was like we were staying with friends at their historic home and not in a hotel. The room's air conditioning was AWESOME--we had no problems getting it as cold as we wanted even though it was pushing 100 degrees outside. The hotel offers a nightly turndown service, which is nice because they leave chocolates for you. Another nice touch was the appearance of two bottles of water daily on our mantle after housekeeping had been there (and don't worry about it costing you like it does other places--they're complimentary).

The main feature of our room, of course, was the access to the balcony that runs the length of the front of the hotel. The balcony is accessible by 6 (or maybe 7) rooms and has several tables, chairs & rocking chairs along its length. As we were travelling with three other couples, we all booked these rooms so as to have a place to hang out together. The balcony was wonderful to have and we spent quite a bit of time out there. As mentioned on the hotel website, access is a bit tricky as it is through a window in the room, but we didn't have any trouble with it. One recommendation: if you go during the middle of summer (as we did), bring a fan and plug it up near the window and run it outside to give you a bit of a break from the heat and humidity Savannah offers in the summertime. Our best night on the balcony came on a day where we had a line of showers move through around 5-6pm, which left it somewhat cool and definitely refreshing that evening.

We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, 45 Bistro, but we did visit the bar/lounge and found it to be wonderful as well. It had plenty of tables with large, comfy chairs (and even a couple of love seats), and the bartenders were excellent.

The hotel itself is located approximately two blocks from River Street and maybe three blocks from the City Market district. It's also 2-3 blocks to the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist. Basically, it's really close to a lot of areas that a visitor might want to see, which makes it easy to just valet your car and not think about driving until you checked out (which is what we did). Valet was only $15/day and, frankly, was cheaper than what we've been charged to self-park at other hotels.

Cons: We found the balcony to be dirty and in need of some attention upon our arrival. I mentioned it to the front desk and within the hour there was a hotel worker out there straightening up. After that, the balcony was cleaned twice each day that we saw--once in the morning and again in the afternoon.

The plugs available on the desk lamp were just too loose to hold a plug (likely from usage over the years). If there was a particularly louder-than-average conversation going on the hall on our floor, we could hear it in our room, but it wasn't overly obtrusive. We also were able to hear on more than one occasion the occupants of the room above us walking in what sounded like high heels on the wood floor, but again, it was in no way overly obtrusive. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed I've ever spent a night in, but it was plenty comfortable for me to get three good nights of sleep out of it!

Honestly, though, that's about it on the cons. I guess that if you're a light sleeper the traffic noise from Broughton may bother you if you have a room facing that way, but it didn't bother my wife and me at all. Each of our two windows had thick, heavy curtains that could be draped across each of them that drowned out most of any noise that made it through the windows.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience at the hotel and hated to leave it at the end of our stay. After each sojourn into the humid heat of Savannah it was such a pleasure to return to the seemingly frigid (wonderful A/C in the lobby!) and welcoming confines of The Marshall House.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArlingtonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

In the heart of beautiful Savannah there is beautiful Marshall House: a purpose-built charming historic hotel, with lovely old staircases and lots of character. Rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. As rooms with two doubles and/or balcony are pricier, we had a queen room, which was perfectly acceptable for a couple and even big for European standards. Elegant lobby and breakfast area, very friendly and efficient staff. Location is superb, walking distance to attractions, bars and dining options. Excellent value for money, three-star price for four-star service and five-star charm.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

The Marshall house was wonderful with such friendly staff and perfect location for walking everywhere in the historic district and riverfront.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btellsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We love Savannah. We just bought a home here and came down to start the remodel. Since we came right after our wedding,it was kind of an unofficial honeymoon night. It's right on Broughton, so you can walk everywhere in Savannah. They had breakfast of pastries, fruit, eggs and breads in the morning. Everything was great. The staff was super friendly and sweet. They knew we just got married and when we went up to our room, the staff had all signed a congratulations card along with laying out robes for us and playing soft music. It was a really nice personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashed427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Although the rooms are small (we got a Luxury King room), the beds are extremely comfy.

Warning: If you have vertigo problems, tell the staff when you make your reservation. The floor in our room was sloped, and I almost fell a couple of times. The building is very old, but I'm sure that some rooms may have floors that are easier than others to walk on.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pithugger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Marshall House is wonderful and the location is unbeatable. Their wonderful breakfast gets your day off to a great start. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. We enjoyed relaxing after a long day in the little bar next door. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaTammy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing