We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best That Savannah has to Offer!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Once again is was our great pleasure to stay at the Planter's Inn (second trip). The champagne provided gratis by the inn for our anniversary was much appreciated and enjoyed. The Planter's Inn staff was extremely helpful. On our trip up from Florida, we developed a car problem and the staff assisted us in finding the local Cadilac dealership where we were able to get it repaired. The bellmen were superb in providing us with assistance and advise on how best to get around the city. Being a short walk to the Pink House Restaurant is definitly a plus. Finally, the room was great as were the ammenities. We can't wait to return.

Rick and Lynnette from Stuart, FL

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RnLStuart_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Planters Inn Savannah is a wonderful place to stay. Not only is it comfortable and graciously appointed, but convenient to everything in the historic district. Reynolds Square is a good place to sit and people watch, day and night, under the live oaks that offer cooling shade. I try to stay at Planters Inn every time I'm in Savannah (2 or 3 times a year), and highly recommend it to anybody visiting the city in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Planters Inn was a lovely place to stay, it's a small hotel on one of the many squares in Savannah. As a base to explore Savannah it's perfect, you call walk everywhere. Our room was very spacious and comfortable over looking the park, it felt very Savannah. The breakfast is quite good, won't set the world on fire but hey it's free. Only disappointment was the attitude of the check-in clerk, really buddy it's not the Waldorf Astoria, lose the bad attitude and try some good old fashioned "Southern Charm" when working in a customer service position. Must be noted that all the other staff were great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank declasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Sometimes when you book online, you just never know. The rate was surprisingly low for this facility, that it made me wonder even more. But my concerns were alleviated as I walked through the front door. From the bellmen to the front desk staff to housekeeping, everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful. A suggestion to eat at Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room by Lance one morning made me go somewhere I hadn't considered and if I had missed it, I would have missed one of the most unique and greatest experiences in Savannah.
The facility is small and quaint, but clean and comfortable. The room was good size, and the bath had plenty of counter space. There were visible outlets in both the main room and the bath so no crawling behind furniture to find a place to plug in the cell phones, irons, etc.
There is always fruit water available in the lobby and wine and cheese tasting that added a nice elegan touch each evening. Late evening, cookies are set out for guests arriving back after a day of sightseeing. And on your pillow you will find chocolate mints. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary there, and upon our arrival was a bottle of champagne. How nice!
Beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Shower could have been a bit more powerful and the free breakfast was nothing but carbs, so I passed on it in favor of eating at Henry's just behind the hotel each morning (very nice, extremely clean place with good food). But those two things aside, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was a great value for the price I paid. I've paid way more for way less in past years while on vacation. You won't be sorry you chose The Planter's Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Planters Inn. The rooms were beautiful and clean with oldtime charm. The wine and cheese party was a nice touch along with turn down service. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The holtel and location were excellent and the attention of the staff was very good. Availability of places to visit and places to eat also very good. Beautiful park in front of hotel and we enjoyed it very much.

Only problem was contacting you due to the fact that my wife became ill and we had to leave a day early. Left message with number to call back because your 877 number on European time. Never heard back. So unable to discuss possibility to taking one night off the bill. Had to pay for a night couldn't stay due to serious illenss of my wife. Hotel said they could not refund one night as reservation made through you and Expedia. I have learned a n expenpsive lesson.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We enjoyed our 3 day stay. Room was comfortable. There was an ample breakfast provided each day buffet style. Then at 5:30 p.m. - a wine and cheese party. Staff was friendly and helpful, more than willing to assist with whatever the need. Would stay here again. Reynolds Square area is just short 2 blocks from riverfront.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 247Roberta_J247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
3,004 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 116 in Savannah
1,444 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 116 in Savannah
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 116 in Savannah
3,152 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2730
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £122 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing