We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Southern Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Southern Charm”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our 2nd visit to the Planters Inn and just as good as the first. The staff helped us find the best room for our anniversary and even sent up a bottle of champagne (VERY nice touch). My most important feature for a hotel though is cleanliness. Was it clean? YES! After great service and a clean room, the next thing is location. The hotel is close to the rest of the downtown, but it's not right on the river or in the shopping district. Last time we visited, that was issue. But now, I realize that is probably a plus as well. The river is close enough to walk, but far enough away to save you from the noise of the crowd. The shopping/stores/entertainment is just as close.

What I will say is, the crowd was very old. This may apply to Savannah as a whole. Find out what you want to do before you go. It may be tough to find something a little more wild if you don't plan ahead. Parking is awful too. Be prepared to use the valet, which was my only negative. There was a young guy helping us the first night. He as perfect. The next day though, they were quite poor. I had to ask for our car multiple times. Don't let this deter you though, this was really the only issue we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. If not, you get to watch the parking deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INARUSH_CHAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    818
    231
    80
    45
See reviews for
400
1,502
110
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I had the chance for a one night two day stay in savannah while returning north from Florida. The planters inn was a perfect place to stay. The rooms were decorated in antique style and was just across from Reynolds square. It was an easy walk to river front shops and restaurants as well as the market place. The valet parking cost was minimal and very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseMarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

CHECK-IN: I chose this hotel based on recommendations of friends, who stayed at Planters Inn on two separate occasions. Unfortunately, our experience did not match theirs. For $200 per night, I expected something better than what would be expected at, for example, a Hampton Inn. We arrived during the wine and cheese hour, which is held in the main lobby. This made for a rather uncomfortable beginning, as it seemed the guests were "dressed for dinner." and we were road-weary. No one greeted us at the door, or offered to park our car, until we requested that at the desk. The front desk staff was not welcoming and I initially felt that we were a bother to them. The bellman, Jamaica, however, somewhat made up for the cool reception at the desk--he was great, helped with our luggage, made sure we had everything we needed. Throughout our stay, ALL of the valets/bellmen were terrific and helpful--assisted with luggage, held doors, gave directions, and there were no problems with our car. However, do be aware that there is a daily charge for the valet parking.

BREAKFAST: The hotel's website claims that the expanded continental breakfast is delivered to your room. It MAY be delivered to your room, if you fill out the menu and hang it on the doorknob prior to 10:00 p.m. the night before. What the website doesn't tell you--they CHARGE EXTRA to bring it to your room. I forget exactly how much, but it was around $5.00, or $6.00--seems kind of tacky, considering the cost of the room. Breakfast was okay, nothing bad, nothing spectacular. As others have mentioned, no meat offered and nothing hot, except grits (which they ran out of and didn't replenish), and warmed pastries. The only protein offered was cold, hard-boiled eggs. The Hampton we stayed at later (for less expense) on the same trip had a bigger selection. The women working the mezzanine in the morning were GREAT--very friendly and cheerful, spoke to all the guests.

ACCOMMODATIONS: The lobby was pretty and inviting. The mezzanine, where breakfast was served, was rather cramped. The room was very clean. There was nowhere to comfortably use a laptop. There were two wing-back chairs next to a smallish round lamp table, but I had to put a pillow from the bed on the chair to try to be seated at a height suitable for typing and the table was STILL too tall (or, the chair too low). The bathroom was spacious and clean, with plenty of grab bars for a disabled person. THE BED WAS TERRIBLE--mattress soggy, with a horrible sag to the middle. We both had trouble sleeping and backaches the entire five days. The mattress was way too soft and when lying on our backs, it felt like a 45 degree tilt towards the middle of the bed. It was so bad, that the last day, we slept ACROSS the bed--one of us at the foot and one at the head, in a desparate attempt to find SOME firmness. Prior to our final night, I did complete the hotel's online survey and received a response from the manager stating that they are in the process of replacing all of their mattresses with new and would have changed ours immediately, had they known. Well, they should have known we had one more night left to our stay and changed the mattress THAT DAY, if the manager's statement was true, but they DID NOT. It was the worst hotel/motel bed I have ever attempted to sleep on. As others have mentioned, the view from the room is just an ugly parking garage across the street. As we weren't in the room much, that didn't matter, really. What DID matter, is that EVERY NIGHT, we could hear loud, drunken conversations from the people on the street below, from the THIRD FLOOR. It was so noisy and loud, that I could repeat exactly what the people on the street below said. One night, I thought I was going to witness a brawl when I got up to see what all the noise was about. We could hear every car and every horse that clopped by into the wee hours. I suggest white noise machines at each bedside. The room was extremely clean, but the decor uninspiring--a picture of a pineapple over the bed--nothing to rave about.

AMMENITIES: The wine and cheese social was a nice touch, with a pianist playing in the lobby, but done a bit on-the-cheap. Choices were red, or white wine, and white, or yellow cheese, with one kind of cracker. Karen, the concierge, served the wine and offered assist with arranging for tours. Be prepared to give cash down on the tours, though. Not sure what the deal was with that. NIghtly turn-down service was nice, also, including ice brought to the room and mints on the pillows. The website claims bottled water would be provided in the room, but there was never any in our room during the five days. For the price, they could provide a refrigerator in every room, too, but they charge extra if you request one. No microwave in the room, either. The room did have a safe and coffee maker, though, which was handy. Terry robes provided for use during the stay, but were a smallish size.

OWNER / STAFF: We ran into a man, who I assume was the owner, one morning, as we had heard the staff talking about him being there. He said good morning, asked how we were, or something similar, but I was surprised that he did not introduce himself, or enquire about our stay. Considering that he had made over $1,000, in five days, from us, he could have at least asked if everything was okay. Denice was charming when I made phone reservations--very helpful. The front desk staff was impersonal and unable to offer much assist with tour/tourist info. We were told we would have to ask Karen, the concierge, when she arrived, which was not until mid-afternoon. Karen, when available, was great with setting up a tour for us, very accommodating. I am unsure if there was a charge for her services, or not, as I have yet to go over the receipt. The housekeeper did a great job keeping things neat and clean, and greeted us in the hallway. The mezzanine staff were very pleasant. The valets / doormen were great!!!

HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE (sort of): There are a few steps up to the front door and the door itself is narrow. Must cross the lobby to reach the elevator. Elevator is small and sloooow. The mezzanine is crowded, so difficult to maneuver a wheelchair through it. The room was average in size, with little room between the walls and bed. The bathroom was very spacious, with a large counter, and had lots of handrails in the tub area.

CHECK-OUT: Fast, no problems.

SUMMARY: Despite most of the staff being accommodating, I probably would not stay at the Planters Inn again. A vacation should be restful and it was not, due to the noise and crappy mattress. Even after I notified management, nothing was done about the terrible bed--no change of mattress, or room, no offer to discount the room. We could barely wait to check out and get to the next hotel on our itinerary, so that we could sleep decently.

Room Tip: Apparently, all rooms face the parking garage, except for two, which have a shared balcony. Perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We were three couples gathered for a reunion at the Planters Inn. We were located conveniently near each other in lovely, comfortable rooms on the 6th floor which was bright and far above any street noises. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more accommodating, especially the ladies in the breakfast room and the staff at the front desk. Recommendations for dinner were perfect. The wine and cheese hour was well attended and convivial. The location was ideal for exploring beautiful Savannah. We hope to return and would definitely recommend the Planters Inn to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel has nicely appointed and comfortable rooms, a good breakfast buffet, and a nice lobby for the daily wine and cheese in the afternoons. The location is ideal and the staff is friendly and efficient. We had only two complaints - there is a lot of street noise on weekend nights with drunks walking down the street yelling, and the pillows are way too thick. Be sure to dine at the Olde Pink House next door. Everything about the restaurant is top notch - the decor, the service, and most importantly the food and wine. It is a good value for the money even though it is a special occasion restaurant - one of the very nicest and most memorable places I have had dinner in my life.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and a flatter pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamaica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A nice hotel, within easy walking distance of the riverfront & on one of Savannah's historic squares. Friendly, helpful staff made our stay a very pleasant one. The view from our room on the Congress Street side wasn't exactly inspiring (the consolation being that we could see our car in the parking garage!) but we weren't troubled by noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend this past weekend. The place is clean, the staff is great and it's conveniently located to everything around downtown, historic district and the City Market area. We plan on going back to Savannah more often because we loved it and the hope is that we can stay at the Planters the next time we go. There's no gym and there's no pool so that would be draw backs, but otherwise it's all good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,626 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing