We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planters Inn is a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Planters Inn is a mixed bag”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been to Savannah before and love it but had always stayed in larger chain hotels.
We had wanted to stay at the Planters Inn because of it's great location and old world charm.
I need to say that the staff and the service are excellent.. very helpful with tips about places to avoid ( always important in any city) and places to stroll. The Inn is walking distance to many great sites and galleries in Savannah..
The hotel rooms need to be updated and modernized.. And the breakfast that was included was very mediocre, more like a very average highway motel. There are some terrific bakeries in Savannah and it would have been great to have fewer but quality choices.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not look out on the parking garage.. very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    826
    235
    81
    45
See reviews for
409
1,514
110
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My friend and I stayed in two rooms at the Planters Inn in late April -- I had been to Savannah before but she had not. We were looking for a historic inn that wouldn't break our budget but that offered a good location and comfortable bed and room. The Planters Inn was quite affordable compared to other inns in Savannah, so we were good on that count.

The Inn itself is a little funky. I believe it is a three-star hotel masquerading as a five-star hotel. On the surface, the lobby is beautiful -- lots of comfy chairs and couches with tables in easy reach to place glasses or books and large windows out to the square and street. But then you look behind the mask and you see the odd modern trash can (full) crammed next to the front door and the luggage carts with apparently no other place to be stored than next to the front door or elsewhere around the lobby, like in front of the piano.

The complementary breakfast is the standard and good fare, fresh fruit, yogurts, bread and bagels for toasting, grits, eggs, dry cereals, etc. And the room is large enough to accommodate those who want to eat there with tables that are quickly cleaned; there are plenty of plates, silverware, etc., and condiments are plentiful. But when you exit the elevator to enter the breakfast room, you immediately face the tiny workroom/kitchen and sink used by the staff and are blocked by the open door to that room so your first impression is of dirty dishes and cleaning products, not the very nice buffet laid out just beyond the open door. I realize the logistics of the tiny kitchen and elevator make this problematic, but still....

Much is made in other reviews of the view out of most of the rooms – which is the parking garage across the street. I sincerely appreciated these reviews since I made sure our rooms faced the park/square in front with only the side windows facing the parking garage. I got the high balcony room for my friend, but it turned out the door is very hard to open (she called the front desk who sent someone up but she was unable to get it open herself after that), but the view to the park was wonderful and we were able to ignore the view to the garage.

The rooms were fabulous – sumptuous beds with great pillows and linens. Comfortable chairs high enough for those with issues standing up or putting on shoes, but comfy enough to sit and watch tv. Coffee maker is on a nice table in the room which is charming and civilized (unlike other hotels where it is next to the bathroom); ice is delivered with the turn down service which is very nice. The bathroom is of a size one would expect in the city; water pressure is great and hot water shows up almost immediately.

The folks working at the Planters Inn are an interesting mix. I strongly believe in shadow of the leader, so their behavior I’m sure is matched/directed by the Inn Manager. Here’s some for examples: Sunday morning about 8:30, I sat in the lobby reading a book waiting for my companion. A member of the staff was vacuuming the lobby which was only peripherally annoying (why not at 6?) but then she got to me and bumped my chair as she vacuumed under my feet and around me. Yes, I could move and I did; she eventually sought me out at my new location and I had to move again. She was undeterred in her mission by folks needing to be heard as they were checking out or people attempting to converse with their coffee. On another occasion, I exited the elevator to find the two bell people sitting in chairs facing me. They said good morning and asked if I needed anything, but made no attempt to get up or even gave the semblance that they had anything better to do than sit and talk. On another occasion, when I exited the elevator into the breakfast room, the attendant(?) was right there three feet from me, but didn’t look up from what she was doing (not ‘real’ work). Over the course of our stay, I spoke with everyone who worked behind the front desk, and they often had that tiny little twinge of gee I really don’t want to help you but what do you want look before they responded. I realize that each of these sounds very, very picky – but it is this that keeps the Planters Inn from really being a four- or five-star hotel, and keeps it from getting a five circle rating.

All that having been said, yes, I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Facing the square has the only view, all others are of the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxanneboscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had reservations to visit last October, for a birthday celebration. The rooms were very well appointed, complimentary bottle of wine was a nice surprise, and parking was a real convenience. Right next to The Pink House restaurant and easy walking distance to everywhere. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Planters Inn to anyone visiting beautiful Savannah!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannahtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderlin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been to Savanna before and stayed in one of the major hotels. This time I wanted to experience the 'real' Savanna. This place was just what we wanted. Across from a park, a few blocks from the river and walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was wonderful, willing to make sure we were happy. Need ice? They bring it to your room. We had wine and cheese in the lobby and visited with other guests. We had a room that looked toward the parking garage but we didn't care. We spent our time outside, enjoying the city. We will return.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a view, request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Inn 5 days in late April 2014 and really enjoyed this hotel. The location of the Inn is just spectacular sitting off the main streets and right across from beautiful Reynolds Square. Our room was nice although a little small and yes, the view was the top of the garage (we were on the 7th floor). This is to be expected though when you are in the very small historic district (2.2 sq. miles I think) of Savannah. Reynolds Square, easy walking to shopping and restaurants and the quiet peacefulness of this Inn more than made up for that! Be sure to let the wonderful concierge Karen make reservations for you at one of the many restaurants, especially for the weekend, since they do book up fast. The social hour with wine, cheese and fruit was so nice and the breakfast was way more then I had imagined. This is a great place to stay in Savannah!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in late April of 2014. The Inn was busy with many guests, but everyone was made to feel welcome, the room and bath were clean and convenient, and quiet ion the evening. A nice touch was the wine and cheese being served in the late afternoon in the lobby. We tried to get a table at The Pink House (owned by the Inn) but it was completely booked both evenings, but we did get a (first come - first served) table at The Tavern, also owned by the Inn. We would stay at the Inn any time we're in Savannah in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side opposite to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1996BlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Travel Agent review. This is a lovely hotel in a great location. I would highly recommend to my clients. Very good breakfast and staff wants to please you. Rooms clean and 4 poster bed lovely but mattress could have been a bit better. All in all, a great choice for Savannah.

Room Tip: Room 601 looks over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynetteschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,691 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing