We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for strolling in charming Savanna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient for strolling in charming Savanna”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Other reviewers have noted the parking garage next door....it can be a bit noisy and is not a nice view....however, we spent little time in the room and there are excellent curtains to block out the light. Noise level is fairly normal for staying in the city in an older building. The location cannot be beat. There is a lovely square steps out the front lobby, and The Pink House next door is in my opinion the best restaurant in Savannah for food and is loaded with character and charm. We have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again for a one-night stay, maybe 2 nights. The wine and cheese and the breakfast could be improved a bit but overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzlebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    826
    235
    81
    45
See reviews for
409
1,514
110
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the Planters Inn in Savannah for 2 nights over a weekend. Pay for the valet parking as there is no parking in front of the hotel and you would have to pay for parking anyway at one of the public parking sites. The lobby though small is lovely with high ceilings and ornate trim. Check in was very quick and simple. Our 6th floor room, also small was pretty and comfortable, but like many of the other reviews, the windows overlooked the parking garage, but we were at least high enough to see over it. The staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the wine and cheese socials in the lobby Fri and Sat night. There was live piano music which was an added plus. The complimentary breakfast was not bad, although I was expecting something a bit more upscale. We dined at the Old Pink House one evening which I would recommend as it was very good in a lovely atmosphere and our waitress was very helpful and attentive. Planters Inn is a little pricey, but you are paying for the location which was convenient to all we wanted to do. One thing I did not like was that I booked the room on the hotel site for 2 nights including 2 nights valet parking and the reservation confirmation appeared to include all charges, plus fees and taxes. However the final bill was about $35 more than I expected due to more taxes. Would go back, but possibly would try another hotel if we could not get a better view. If location to be able to walk to all there is to see and do in Savannah's historic district and riverfront restaurants, bars and shops as well as a quiet, comfortable hotel is what you want on one of Savannah's lovely squares, then by all means, give the Planters Inn a try.

Room Tip: If view is important to you, ask for a room with a view of Reynold's Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

In the heart of the historic district with one of the park squares outside the front door, the location for walking to sites and enjoying historic Savannah is wonderful. On the downside, there is also a parking garage next door which mean lights and noise a good part of each night. We had read this in advance and requested a higher level floor as well as brought sound machines so that helped, but it still took away from enjoyment of the hotel. Rooms were large, clean and attractively appointed with a classic feel. Limited wine and cheese in the lobby in the afternoons. Somewhat miss not having bar and larger lobby but the Pinke House next door has a nice bar. All in all an OK boutique hotel with some pluses and minuses.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor for less parking garage noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bentrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As my wife, myself and another couple travelled to Savannah over Memorial Day weekend (Friday to Sunday) we both stayed in different Inns. The other couple stayed at the East Bay Inn about a block and a half away. Both rooms were similar in price and both offered wine and cheese at night. First problem was that the Planters Inn did not serve it on Sunday claiming that there were laws that you had to serve a certain amount of food if you were to serve wine. At the East Bay Inn that didn't seem to be a problem as they served the wine and had some sandwich triangles. Friday night at the Planters Inn there was a soft cheese to spread on crackers along with cheese cubes. Saturday night crackers and cheese cubes (nothing for the crackers) and Sunday nothing. The breakfast at Planters left much to be desired. I have had better at Hampton Inns. The staff was excellent and the room A/C was quiet but also had the experience of a fight gong on outside the Inn.

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It was a beautiful inn, very happy with the room. There was street noise from people at 2ish the morning that annoyed me. But I was also 13 weeks pregnant and sleeping lightly. The rate was excellent. We celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary and went to the Old Pink House for dinner. Everything there was, well, perfect. The wine and cheese reception was lovely. The continental breakfast at the inn was just okay. But based on the rate and everything else I would still give it a 5.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klpcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently we stayed at the Planters Inn (Savannah) for three nights. The hotel is located in the heart of Savannah's historic area and only 2 blocks away from the waterfront. It exceeded our wants and expectations. All of the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful, whether in terms of giving easy to understand directions or sharing an idea for an inexpensive dining shop within walking distance. The 'perks' of this boutique hotel were fun (breakfast, wine & cheese happy hour, night turn-down service, etc.). Since we made our reservation well in advance, we could also take advantage of a great rate!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just completed our stay at Planters Inn and I just wanted to let you know that everyone, from the cleaning staff, breakfast room, front desk and doormen were some of the most polite, friendly individuals that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. It did not matter if it was 6am or 2am. We were always greeted with smiles and friendly conversation.
Will definitely recommend the Planters Inn and if our travels ever bring us back to Savannah, we will be staying with you again.

Room Tip: The lower number rooms (ex 601-603) give you views of the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,691 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing