We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Savannah”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first trip to Savannah and I wasn't sure which part of the city would be best to stay in. This was a perfect choice. We upgraded our room, so we didn't look at the parking lot. Unfortunately without an upgrade all rooms do face the parking lot. The view was just an extra bonus. Rooms were good in size, the bed was very comfortable and as said before, the staff was exceptional. We love to walk, so never took tours or buses. But, if you need, the concierge can handle all of that for you. The Wine & Cheese reception was very nice as well. Can't wait to come back to Savannah!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    797
    226
    78
    44
See reviews for
390
1,461
107
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband, son and I stayed here on a visit to Savannah and were extremely pleased with the acommodations. This hotel is located in the historic district and we were able to easily walk about the area on a self-guided walking tour. Their are many restaurants within walking distance and the riverfront is only a couple of blocks away. The hotel is decorated beautifully in a southern style and the room was quite comfortable. There is a very nice breakfast with a large selection of items and we especially enjoyed the daily wine and cheese reception (from 5:00 to 7:00 daily) in the lobby. There were several wines to chose from and a large tray of cheeses and crackers. One evening all the guests in the lobby also were treated to piano music which was very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If we visit Savannah again, we will want to stay here!

Room Tip: The room hairdryers are located in the closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff was friendly, the hotel well maintained, and in an excellent location. I booked it online all expectations were fulfilled in service, price and quality. Super location right on Reynolds Square close to River Street and the historic district. Room was comfortable, well appointed and clean. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth for floor in a room that had double queens, I don't think there a lot of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is great, made more so by the fantastic staff. Special mention must go to Karen, the concierge, who couldn't do enough to help us. The rooms were a good size and kept very clean. As stated in other reviews they do overlook a parking garage, which admittedly is an eyesore, but who wants to stay in their room all day?? The location of the hotel is very central and convenient for Savannah's attractions. The breakfast was fine and had a good selection including fresh fruit. I really enjoyed the hospitality at this hotel including the wine and cheese. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Probably higher floors are better, it may be you can get views over the parking garage we were on 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

One night in Savannah with friends and this hotel was a disappointment. It is rundown and dingy. We stayed on the second floor and there was a vibration in our rooms. Almost every room faces an open parking garage when the curtains are opened. Complimentary breakfast was below average. I couldn't wait to leave there.

Room Tip: Rooms with two beds are twin beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Traveling from South Florida, we arrived in Savannah around 4:30pm and checked into Planters Inn once again. Lovely to be back.
The folks in the lobby are welcoming - wine and cheese sampling begins at 5pm, but once again, we skipped that to get out and wander the town. The room, the hotel is clean, clean, clean. The bed very comfy. Good water pressure in the shower and lots of towels. One thing that I had not noted on my review from our previous review (and frankly, I didn't recall noticing this before) was that there is an overhead night light in the loo. How I appreciate this detail!! Thank you Planters Inn! Water, ice, chocolates in the room when you return in the evening! Appreciated!!

When making our reservations a week or so ago, I had "checked off" the preference to have a mini-fridge in the room. I was somewhat surprised when the fridge was delivered to our room shortly after we gained access to the room. Strange I thought.
This morning when we awoke, the statement from the hotel had been slipped under the door per usual. Upon reviewing it, we were charged an extra $15 for the privilege of having that fridge, and were not expecting that charge at all. Not pleased.

WORTH NOTING: PARKING.
Planters Inn offers valet parking, I think for $15. A GOOD DEAL.
Since there was traffic congestion at the front of the hotel when we arrived, we chose to just self-park in the building across the street. The sign as you drive into the parking lot made us think it would be $15 regardless. Not so. They don't work a 24hr clock, so in parking overnight, we were charged $31 for the 16 hours we were there.

A little annoying but we'll know better next time. And there will be a next time. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. The park. Not the parking lot ... :) You could get either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButterflyGalFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Planters Inn. The room was lovely. The hotel was in the middle of historic Savannah, with the riverfront, market, and historical squares all within easy walking distance. Having the Olde Pink House restaurant next door was also a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,498 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,022 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,200 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing