We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been to Savannah several times and each time we stay here.
The main reason is the location. It is convenient to everything downtown without walking. You can walk to the river walk, shops and several restaurants. The staff here is always friendly and welcoming. The only parking is the deck next door, but that's not a deal breaker for us. It's much easier to just do the valet parking then to have to worry with the hassle. Whenever you call for your car, they are always quick even when they are busy.
Our room was located in a back corner and it was very quiet. There is also a wine and cheese social hour in the lobby. The lobby was rather warm, but this could be because it was July and with the door constantly opening and closing, it’s harder to keep it cooler in there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    799
    226
    78
    44
See reviews for
390
1,465
107
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Chosen based on location in the historical district.

For the price, the accommodations alone would have gotten 4 stars, but for the below:

Worst - breakfast - do it right or don't do it! It was all out of a food service and the worst ever - makes Hampton Inn's look gourmet by comparison. On top of that, my lady had a spoiled hardboiled egg and some sour yogurt

Wine and cheese - so-so. The cheese was average OK, but the wine was less drinkable then 2 buck chuck from Trader Joes. Funny though - we got along with the lady poring the wine - lol.

And don't leave anything behind in the room - it is history with respect to their undocumented housekeeping staff. Not unique here - but still annoying.

Overall, might stay there again if could get a room discount absent the "extras" above. Apparently missed the cookies - were on the go most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The Planter's Inn is in a great location. You can get to most attractions by walking less than a mile. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Complimentary cookies and lemonade in the afternoon and wine and cheese at night. Great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 201 and 202 (shared balcony overlooking the square) awesome view. That was our room for night 2 and 3. The bed in a different room on night #1 (queens only in this inn) was a relic. Sagging to a common low spot in the middle..bad, bad, bad night #1. Breakfast is middle of the road to poor. A little worse than some Hampton/LaQuinta chain breakfasts. Wine a cheese at 5:30 or 6:00 in the lobby is weird, can't put my finger on it..concierge lady is a piece of work (grumpy/mad at the world), lobby piano lady is hammering out Gershwin, et. al.. Ice delivery to rooms spotty (if at all) but the valets are on their game. Great hotel location, weird vibe overall. Just go to Savannah and enjoy the city, manage your expectations for this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stay in hotels about 100 nights a year or more for my job. We chose this hotel for vacation. I am completely satisfied with this charming hotel. The building is rich with a very interesting history. The staff is actually the most friendly I've ever experienced. They work as a team and there is a LOT of experience on the team who seem to be mentoring the new people quite well. The valet attendants are fast and full of information. The free breakfast each morning is above average and again staffed by wonderful people. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Coop T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Planters Inn by chance on our way to Florida. We planned on lunch in Savannah when my nephew called to say that he found a good deal on 2 rooms for the night. We were met by a polite valet who unpacked our suitcases, brought them to the front desk, then went to park our car. The reception area was quick and courteous. Wine, cheese, and fruit accompanied by nice piano music is served in the lobby from 5pm - 7pm. Also included is a delicious breakfast in the morning. The room was comfortable and clean with many amenities; we were only in the room to watch a little television and sleep so the view of the parking garage did not matter. Our nephew had a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the park. The only difference was the view, balcony, and his room a bit larger. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Based on our visit - we were on the 5th floor - the balcony overlooking the park is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I loved my experience at Planters Inn. The staff were all helpful, professional and personable. The location is absolutely ideal.
I enjoyed chatting with other guests at the late afternoon wine and cheese in the lobby. What a personal touch to offer this for the guests.
The concierge, Karen, is a real treasure. She is so helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the area. From dinner reservations to available tours, she will help you out. Thanks to all of you for a wonderful first time experience in Savannah. You exemplify the true sense of southern hospitality. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing