We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Savannah.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Savannah.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was mine and my husbands' first trip to Savannah, he chose the Planter's Inn because of it's high rating here on Trip Advisor, convenient location to everything in downtown, and how beautiful it is online. Overall, the room wasn't what we expected, but the location and service made up for it.
Service was very very good, and there were two bellhops who were very friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in and was able to walk around the squares before our room was available. The lobby is smaller but beautiful and the overall place was very clean and equally beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor with a queen size bed. The bed wasn't plush or comfortable, but slept well. The over all room was smaller and felt like a room in a bed and breakfast, but that's a good thing! Our only complaint was there is no refrigerator in the room to keep drinks or leftovers, and when we called room service to ask for water they were out. *Make sure you get a park facing room, because the other rooms open up to a huge parking garage, and if you pay this much for a hotel you don't want to see it.*
The location is great, and made the stay even better. It is within a block or two of river street, famous restaurants, all of the squares, and shops. We parked our car on the street close to the hotel, because parking is free on the weekends. Then Sunday night to Monday afternoon we let the valet park it in their garage for $15. We didn't need to use our car at all, except when we drove to Tybee Island. It was a great place to stay, wonderful service, view, and location, but as a younger couple we might stay somewhere else next time to get a different feel for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a park facing room, because the other rooms open up to a huge parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank road-globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    818
    231
    80
    45
See reviews for
400
1,502
110
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel and loved everything about it. The location was excellent, close to the river and right on a quiet Reynolds Square. The hotel has an old fashioned flair and our room was very nicely decorated and the service was great. The evening wine and cheese reception is a nice welcome to the city and a place to meet other travelers. Cookies in the evening and breakfast in the morning were delicious. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. They provided us with travel tips and dining recommendations. We would definitely stay again if we are back to Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3CuteVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had to make an unexpected overnight trip to Savannah and having been there many times I first looked at the Bay Street hotels. After looking at the reviews here on Tripadvisor I found the Planters Inn. Based on reviews and pricing I reserved a room and even had a coupon for one free day of parking!
The room was great! It was quiet, clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean as a pin. I cannot take an unclean bathroom!
The breakfast was awesome! Actual cooked grits were available for this southern boy to enjoy! Plenty of fruit and breads along with ham and eggs. Who could ask for more?
This is a great, quiet and quaint Inn that I highly recommend. We will return!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the park then go ahead and pay the extra. However; Savannah is too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Invictus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it was all about service. Let us check in early and let us leave our car there after we checked out. Wonderful breakfast with lots of variety. At 6:00 pm a cheese and wine cocktail hour with live pianist before dinner. Forgot my pillow, came back 2 hours later and it was at the checkout desk with my name and room number on it!! Very helpful about everything. All the staff goes above and beyond. Located next door to the famous Pink House restaurant and they got a a reservation that day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELBOUND-ICELAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
280 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My mother and I stayed at Planters Inn for one night during our short visit to Savannah. The hotel is old and fashonable and located in a beautiful area. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The beds were good.
The hotel is located very close to City Hall and the River Walk. Due to very limited time we had ordered tickets for Old Town Trolley Tours on day they we were also leaving for Florida. We asked the hotel if it would be possible to store our luggage and car there for a couple of hours extra after the check out. It was not a problem at all. The service was amazing. Loved it here. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliseDahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Planter's Inn is in a great location, close to everything but far enough off the River (1 block) that you didn't get all the traffic from Bay Street. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We felt like we had our own little back yard to sit in at Reynolds Square directly across the street. Nice price and there was wine, cheese and cookies waiting for you when you come in from a long hot day in the evenings. The beds were nice and comfy. This will probably be the go to place when in Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nine8central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My daughter and I stay at the planters inn we have great experience our room was great and the service excellent, I do not know getting valet parking was cheaper than park your own car if you stay at the planters inn get valet the service is like 5 stars and the location is the best just couple blocks from the river and everything else is around you don't need to drive anywhere, I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,626 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing