We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Girls Get-away - Hilton Desoto Savannah is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Girls Get-away - Hilton Desoto Savannah is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My sister, niece and I came to Savannah for a few days as a girls get-away. We picked the right place when we chose the Hilton Desoto. This is a wondeful old hotel with a history but has recently been renovated and is very comfortable, not run-down at all. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with extra pillows. The beds were extremely comfortable and CLEAN. I am the pickiest person and always carry a can of Lysol and the first thing I do is strip the bed and check..and check.. and check LOL The bathroom was bigger than most hotel bathrooms and the tub extra-long as well. Great water pressure, plenty of hot water. Nice thick towels (extra towels) and Crabtree & Evelyn amenities.
For those interested in ghosts/paranormal activity read on. If you're not, have a la~la moment and pretend you did not read this :) We were intrigued to note the Hotel has a 13th Floor (first time ever encountering this because most don't). So we did go up to the 13th floor and there was also a room 1313. Wow. We were joking about ghosts etc. because this IS a very old hotel. Several nights we all 3 heard the sink in the bathroom turn on and turn off. My niece even WITNESSED this happen while she was in the bathroom. This was no leak/drip either. We also heard 'noises' but it was not really scary (okay I was scared but i'm a big fat chicken, they were hoping to see something). It just added an extra fun bit of spice to our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    648
    369
    206
    110
See reviews for
407
676
68
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

On a family trip back to Chicago from Naples, Fl. Had two rooms. Staff at desk were very polite and had two rooms on same floor, next to each other but no connecting door. Our room was a king room on the Liberty Street. (I think it was Rm 503). Lobby, rooms and hallways are outdated. Room looked ok. Beds were fantastic! Slept well. Hotel DEFINITELY needs an upgrade.

Start bucks in lobby along with bar and restaurant. Did not use any. Desk personnel gave us some outside choices for dinner and gave us walking directions and maps. Noticed Concierge desk only open from 9am to 5:30pm. Never got to use their services.

Ordered room service, where meals came up promptly. Meal was very well prepared.

Room Tip: Hilton member? Pre-block room online in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChgoTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, as the room was nice and the staff was pleasant. We liked the fact that it's several blocks away from the main drag of Bay Street, so that the neighborhood was a bit more peaceful but the big bar/restaurant district was still within walking distance. It's also closer to Forsyth Park, which is a great spot to relax/hang out in.

The hotel itself has plenty of amenities, with a coffee bar in the lobby, a restaurant, and a bar in the lower level. Nice atrium, and very up to date. We were up on a top floor which had a great view of the city. No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EETravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

The hotel was very nice, the rooms were clean, beds were comfy and the service was exceptional. Charges for room service and parking were the same as any other hotel and were to be expected. The location can't be beat...just a short walk to anywhere in the historic district. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshGator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Ok place to stay but be aware that it is located about a 15 minutes walk from the river front. For the price I expected a little more in terms of the room quality. No fridge or safe. Business center charges $ per page so annoying to get nickel and dimed

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Desoto for two nights. We got the room for a good price through Priceline for $110 a night (The Expedia rate for the Hilton Desoto on those days was $169 a night). Free internet came with the room, but we did have to pay an additional charge of $17 a night for parking.

The Desoto has a nice location in the center of the Savannah historic district. The hotel is about a seven block walk from the river front. Its about a block from the Savannah theatre where we saw a live production of Southern Nights (reviewed separately). The various historic district tour lines stopped at the hotel or within a block of it.

Our room was on the second floor, and it quickly became apparent to us that they had put us in a special handicap accessible room. Neither of us is handicapped, and so this came as a surprise. The room had both pros and cons. On the pro side, the room was clean and nicely appointed. It was fairly large, with good spacing between all the furniture (for obvious reasons). The bathroom was also large, with a nice big shower; and it was close to the elevator. On the con side, there was only one bed, queen size (which was fine for my wife and I). All the doors opened outward, which was strange. The room itself was right across from a series of meeting rooms, which could have been a problem if they were used while we were there (but they weren’t). The backside of the room opened up on to a patio with tables and chairs, which connected directly to the pool, which would have been noisy if there had been a lot of people using the pool (but again, there weren’t). On the first night, we also heard very loud and distinct voices coming from the room next door, and I started to worry that the lack of adequate sound proofing was going to be a problem. But the talking only lasted for about five minutes, and then we heard nothing for the rest of the time we were in the room. In fact, the room was very quiet for most of our two-day stay – but I think we were just very lucky in that regard.

There were a few other mildly annoying occurrences during our stay at the DeSoto Hilton. First, while check-in went smoothly, one of the three elevators was apparently out, and the other two were working very slowly. We had to wait for maybe seven to eight minutes in the lobby to get an elevator to go up one floor (and we were never able to identify any stairs we could use up to the second floor). Second, while there was a coffee maker in the room, the coffee maker was missing the simple plastic holder where one placed the individual coffee packets for brewing (We finally got that device from the maid). Third, on checkout we had our car brought up by the valet, but apparently there was only one valet working, so even though our car was out front when we stepped out we still had had to wait maybe ten extra minutes for the valet to come back with another car before we could get the keys from him. It wasn’t his fault (I could see him hustling)., but it seemed that the valet was just understaffed at this point.

All in all, our experience at this Hilton was less than we would normally expect at a Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul5795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Plus
Good location
Room was nice, conner room had a great view.
Very nicely arrangement on furniture and wall hanging
Staff Friendly
Negatives
Came with shower only, thankfully I am not tall
Bar was very expensive
Parking expensive specially valet
lack refrigerator or microwave

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing