We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70 Health Report rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta
1 review
“70 Health Report rating”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel is located in a great area of town, the renovations are nice and most of the staff are helpful and polite. Two waitress at breakfast completely ignored us, I guess because we were getting the breakfast buffet. The manager apologized and the next two mornings were better. The food here is not good. The Shrimp boil was luke warm but the corn in the shrimp boil was hot, how does that happen?? Shrimp salad was a mess of minced shrimp and egg white chunks so soggy you couldn't eat the sandwich. The dessert didn't fair well either. I guess the score of 70 on the Health Report was the very low point. You have to work very hard to get a 70 on a health report. It takes a great deal of incompetence and general laziness to achieve this type of score.
The room was nice but dusty. Doesn't take much to clean out the dust bunnies under the sink and on the tv and tables. The pool did have rust spots in the bottom and there was broken glass on the ground also.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuest252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Valued Hotel Guest,

Our apologies go out to you and your family. As a Hilton Hotel we strive to live up to our name and reputation by always giving our guests the up most service in every aspect. Unfortunately it sounds that this was not the case with your experience at the Savannah Desoto Hilton. We have recently received a 94 on our health inspection and have had a 98 on the past 6 previous health inspections prior to the 70.

Savannah Desoto Hilton is striving every day to make positive changes to our hotel. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that your negative experience will not happen again. If you give us the opportunity to serve you again we will make sure that the outcome will be nothing but satisfactory. All guests are our number one priority and we apologize for any in convenience this might have caused you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    651
    375
    214
    113
See reviews for
413
679
68
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

ok, people. this is an older hotel. there will be some issues. if you want perfect everything, spend twice as much and go to one of the "designer boutique" hotels down the street. yes, we had a few issues the first night. in fact, we had to change rooms after the first night. however, these were typical things that happen even in your own home. i must say, the staff was professional and courteous. anything needing to be addressed was done so VERY quickly and to our satisfaction. the staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are satisfied. it is hard to believe i was at the same hotels as some other reviewers when it comes to the restaurant. i cannot say enough about the high quality service with a smile. the food was excellent and in fact, we ended up eating most of our meals in the hotel. we had a corner room on the 5th floor with a balcony. hubby would go enjoy his cigars while looking out over the historic district. yes, parking in savannah is a problem. we parked in the hotel garage (arrived on a wednesday and checked out on a sunday) and left the car there the entire time...on the advice of the staff. they made no bones about the lack of parking in the city. concierge staff is excellent and will suggest things for you to do. most of our suggestions, however, came from the restaurant staff....what gems! our only complaint is the slowness of the elevators during busy times of day. the hotel was completely sold out the weekend we were there and we had to wait. guess what...that falls under the "old hotel and it will have some quirks" category. would we stay again? yep...in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I had to wait two hours to check in because they couldn't find my reservation, even though I was able to show them my email confirmation. The room we did get was small with no fridge, no micro, not even an alarm clock. It was also dirty with peeling paint on the walls and in the tub. The temperature dial in the shower was broken as well as the tub plug. Additionally, the toilet overflowed in our room due to poor plumbing. There was rust in the pool as well as two broken pool ladders. Further the fire alarm system malfunctioned and the hotel was evacuated. No one bothered to come out and tell us that it was a false alarm. Additionally, the service in the restaurant was horrible. We were actually completely ignored on a visit to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Also, parking was ridiculous. When I asked at check-in for the pros and cons of valet parking versus self-parking, I was told that there was no real positive aspect of the valet parking. I found out in practice though that the hotel lot filled up and I ended up having to park the next block over in a public lot. Had I been told that was a possibility, I would have elected valet parking rather than walking back to the hotel after dark. I would never stay at a Hilton again and would discourage anyone else from doing so.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Even a Motel 6 would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kykysmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location, walking distance to historic sites. Clean, quiet and cozy beds what more could you ask for.
Wish I was rich, I'd live there, felt so spoiled, didn't want to leave!!
Only con I could say was against the restaurant, it's breakfast is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t2inGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience at the Savannah Desoto Hilton.
We look forward to your stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This hotel is a gem. The rooms were clean and bright. The restaurant food was inexpensive (for a hotel) and delicious. They had things on the lunch buffet that were a pleasant surprise that they were included in a buffet. The public spaces in the hotel are classy but not stuffy. And most important was how friendly and helpful the entire staff was from the valet, to maid, to the desk clerks, the waiters, the bartenders and the bellhops. They always seemed to be smiling and loving ther jobs. We were offered advise or assistance everytime we walked out the front door by the guys at the bell stand. A great stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cats119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have stayed at a couple of other hotels in Savannah (Hyatt Regency, Marriot) and the Hilton DeSoto has by far been our favorite. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. We enjoyed walking through the downtown squares on our way to the river. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a "Parlor Suite" which worked out great giving us our own bedroom while our kids had a separate room with pull out sofa and they also brought us a rollaway bed at no additional charge. The pool is a good size and the fitness room at least has the basics. We will be staying at the Hilton DeSoto from now on when we visit Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemsonGirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centre, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked thru Priceline so couldn't book a king-size room , but when we arrived to check in, they gave us the option of 2 doubles or a queen, so we chose the queen, even though it was handicap-accessible. The room was clean and had a beautiful balcony view of the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist. The Desoto is in a great location in the Historic District--you can easily walk to many restaurants, squares and other attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The only downside was that there is no complimentary breakfast provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy30420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing