We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Hotel was located in center of historic Savannah. The hotel was nice, valet parking for under $20 a day with access as needed. The hotel room was clean, clean towels everyday. The staff was very helpful. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Lisa S - thanks for staying with us and for a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to many returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    653
    379
    217
    115
See reviews for
421
684
69
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of most of the sites in the historic district and you can easily walk to River City and City Market. The first day we took the Old Town Trolley tour (which I highly recommend) and from then on we just walked to the different places that we wanted to explore more.

Our room was nice and had an incredible view of the Cathedral of St John the Baptist church. I'm a Hilton diamond member and the bar gave us each a free drink every night. Surprisingly you are allowed to walk around the historic district with an alcohol drink as long as it's not in a glass container. The bar provided us with Dixie (to-go) cups every night. We also enjoyed a free breakfast buffet every morning which had eggs cooked to order and most other traditional breakfast foods. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
MarleneinSD - Thanks for staying with us and for the great feedback! Savannah is a great town with lots of fun benefits! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Yes, it's an older building (this is Savannah, after all), but we had no problem with cleanliness, mold, or the general condition of the building (as others have stated). Someone had mentioned low water pressure, but we had high pressure. We'd leave the handle halfway between 'shower' and 'tub' so the shower spray didn't hurt. After a shower, the tub would be half filled as it didn't drain fast enough. Most Savannah hotels have pay parking, the Desoto has mandatory valet. It's a personal thing, but I don't like valet parking, I'd rather park it myself in their garage. There is no free breakfast option, even the continental breakfast has an additional charge. We had the full buffet one day. Most of the food was very good, but the eggs were horrible. You can also order off the menu as part of the buffet, so I ordered strawberry pancakes. They brought the wrong pancakes, but it took so long I didn't want to wait for them to bring new ones. I was also disappointed there was no in-room fridge. The pool was closed for repairs, which really disappointed me; it was an unscheduled repair, so it was not announced when I booked the room. They were offering free pool access at a sister hotel in Savannah. At least they did offer free in-room wifi. This hotel is further away from Riverfront than most other hotels. It's still walkable, but not a quick walk. On the upside, the area is much quieter if you want to relax after a busy day. There is a good pub/tavern, cafe, and breakfast/lunch restaurant very near by.

My review has plenty of nit picks, but it's certainly not a bad hotel; I just don't think it lived up to it's price/rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Rich004 - Thannks for the feedback, i will certainly look into the f&B challenges. We do offer many packages that include breakfast or even complimentary valet with drink tickets when you arrive, you can find these options online or by asking reservations. We offer all kinds of deals and discounts throughout the year, keep your eye out, the pool is now open and the Tiki bar is to follow! Thanks for the feedback and come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We never actually stayed at this hotel so this review is based on management, not the hotel itself. We booked on hotwire, but found out there is smoking in hotel. Because of medical problems, I cannot stay anywhere near smoking. Being a former hotel employee with another chain, I knew this should not be as issue to cancel even with the strict hotwire quidelines. So within minutes of getting this hotels confirmation, I contacted Hotwire to explain the situation. They referred me directly to hotel where the hotel's assistant manager said he needed proof of my medical condition to cancel my reservation with a full refund. He required me to provide him with written forms stating my medical issues from my doctor. So I spent $25 to get the medical forms from my doctor which proved my condition and they did refund eventually refund my money. I even got Hilton Hotel Corp involved and they said it was up to the individual hotels to make their own policy. Unbelievable. I now go out of my way NOT to stay at ANY Hilton property.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keldnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Keldnol - The reality is you booked a non refundable reservation through Hotwire, hardly the hotels fault. I also am allergic to smoke however there are only 3 rooms in this entire 246 room property and we could put you somewhere where you never smell it. I walk the property consistently and we also have smoke machines in the rooms that eliminate this altogehter, i never smell smoke and these rooms are all on one floor. You have a better chance of walking through cigarette smoke in Savannah while touring then if you stayed at this hotel. The policy you are really objecting to is the Hotwire non-refundable which is not Hilton so my recommendation is book through the source and not a 3rd party where we offer a cancellation up to 24 hours out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This place has a nice foyer that doesn't extend up to the rooms. The rooms aren't bad, but they aren't anything special either. No touches like mini-fridge or microwave. Nothing is complimentary--no simple breakfast or snacks, or drinks....heck, not even a water fountain in the whole building. The water thing was a real annoyance. And of course the required $18 a day parking seems a bit like extortion, but they do allow unlimited ins and outs.

We were right by the elevator so we got a lot of "DING" and loud talking during the night. Overall I felt pretty anonymous staying here. No one noticed us coming or going unless we needed the valet. The location is great, though, in walking distance of anything in the historic district. The balconies offer a nice view of the district.

It did suck that upon arrival, we found a note in our room telling us the pool was closed for renovation. Thanks a lot, that would have affected our decision to stay there, had we known.

Given the price versus the lack of utility, I don't know that we'd stay there again. What it does have is location. It seems like a place better suited to business travelers than families.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
K D - Sorry about the pool, due to some challenges it took a little longer. Valet parking charges are relative to the other full service hotels in the city. We do offer refrigerators which reside mostly in our Corner king upgrade rooms. We offer many packages that you can take advantage of which include breakfast or drinks and so on. Also if you become a HHonors member once you reach Diamond or Gold status you receive free breakfast, internet and upgrades automatically. the things you seem to be requesting reside more in our suite product like a Doubletree or even a Hampton Inn if you are seeking free breakfast. The Hilton family offers different amenities in different brand so we have a fit for you it just may not be a full service Hilton where things are more ala carte. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zushi, Kanagawa Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is our second trip to this hotel and we will always seek to stay here on all future trips to Savannah. It is located in the heart of the city away from alot of the tourist traps, but certainly close enough to walk anywhere you need. This well appointed hotel provides every service you could ask for during a vacation including a tour desk and luggage storage. As of the 4th of April, the pool was still closed but there was alot of work going on there. Dont miss brunch at CJ's just a short walk from the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
SMRaley - Thanks for the great feedback and for coming back to see us again and again! I will have the pool area and deck open April 11, 2012, I know you will love the pool and deck improvements, have a great week and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This Hotel may need some refreshing when it comes to latest colors and decorations (in the rooms) but it is a very clean Hotel. It has large flat screen TVs and wireless internet had a good speed even with a packed hotel. Beds and comforters are modern and comfortable.
Lobby is clean, well presented and tastefully decorated.

The Staff was great all the way from the Valet Parking attendants to the front desk Staff- Joshua @ the front desk was of great assistance as were the rest of the other front desk Staff.

The breakfast area was well attended and stocked in the morning.

Everyone was always eager to assist and well informed on the tourist attractions in the area. Whether for dinning or shopping they tried to accomodate in their recommendations when asked.

Location-Location-Location. Desotohis place has it. In the heart of it all. A few blocks from everywhere and in a quiet cozy location with easy access in and out of the town.

Will definitely come back again, and Again.

Room Tip: Any room there will give you a great view of the city or city+River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGNDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I N - We are happy you had a great stay and we thank you for the awesome feedback! We agree with you the location is fabulous and really puts you in the heart of Savannah, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
463 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing