We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We'd used TA to research Savannah hotels within our price range and chose the Desoto having read reviews. It's a big hotel and, in such a historic town, far from the prettiest (photos of the original are hung in the lobby; it looked a far more attractive building), but it was perfectly located and delivered well against almost all expectations - especially in guests services from the front desk, the concierge and the bar (even if the bar person seemed to us she could have done with an extra pair of hands to help).

Our room on level 3 was large with a balcony (not all rooms have them) and a pool view - but not much else to look at. No fridge but everything else was in place and well maintained.

Clearly, however, hotel rooms are designed by men; so may hotels, this one included, fail to provide a mirror above the desk. My wife can't be alone in wanting to do her hair and make-up sitting down; short of taking a chair into the bathroom (where the basin counter has insufficient space for all the cosmetic stuff anyway) the morning ritual is something of a palaver. Designers please note.

Grumble over and there was little else to criticise. Breakfast was good with a very wide selection from the buffet - although the same dining room was too bright for our liking for dinner. We ate one evening in the bar where the Desoto's 'Liberty burger' was fantastic and very good value. Unlike some other reviewers I didn't think the valet parking was expensive.

All in all I can recommend the hotel. Big enough for you to feel anonymous (if you wish), but cares enough for you to feel right at home.The tour tram stops just round the corner, the Segway station is a five minute walk away, likewise the beautiful squares and architecture that makes Savannah a 'must see'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fivecorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Fivecorners, we appreciate the kind feedback and appreciate you utilizing the outlets as well. We do offer a corner king that has a seperate vanity and seating area, I recommend that highly for you guys on your next trip to Savannah! come see us again and once again thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    648
    367
    205
    109
See reviews for
406
675
68
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

You can't beat the location. It's right in the middle of everything in the historical district. We walked to the riverfront in no time. The parking out front was congested and confusing. I was surprised though that the valet was only $20. I expected much higher ($50 a night in San Francisco). The lobby of the hotel gives a much grander appearance than it really is, I do appreciate a nice chandelier. The staff was very friendly. I was however rather disappointed to be put in a room with two double beds...we were on our honeymoon. We were told they had no other rooms available. The rest of the hotel was a bit outdated. They have made an effort to update the bathrooms, but simple things were overlooked...still using a cheap old shower head...such a simple upgrade to made a much better impression and comfort. The rooms were small but adequate. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the pool and the city. I certainly don't rave about the hotel but I definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be specific about what kind of beds you would like before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
pinkislandprincess - We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to see overall you had a good stay. We are not the newest hotel in Savannah and being historic has it's challenges but we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and that you would return as well. Next time try to reserve yourself a corner king, i thinnk it will make all the difference in the world for you. Congrats on your new marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Savannah and have to rate my experience at the Hilton as the very best. The location is an easy walk downtown, but more beautiful than downtown. But the best part are the lovely rooms and the exceptional hotel staff. a completely first class place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Marianne S - We appreciate your wonderful feedback on the hotel and the hotel staff, we truly appreciate the feedback and we are glad to see you had a great stay. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel was nice. Staff very helpful and courteous. Restaurant in the hotel was good. Beds were very nice...down comforters. We had a room with two double beds. Large tv. The pool looked very nice. It was on the 2nd floor roof. We did not us it but it looked good. Valet parking was a little expensive. But parking is limited ( everywhere). We walked every where. The concierge was great to work with to book tours. Very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on street side of building. A little noisy. But the view was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clcinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
clcinTN - Thank you for the great feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for a business trip and being a Hilton Gold member I was really disappointed. The exterior of the building gave me my first bad impression. It was dirty and gritty. The valet guy was unfriendly. Checked into the room and was put into a king corner room. The room needs a major update. The dark out shades had small holes in them like they were deteriating. The bathroom had water stains on the ceiling and dirt in the corners. There was only one lamp next to the bed. The overall feel was rundown and dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mplstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Mplstraveler99 - Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We appreciate your feedback and we will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Thanks for taking time to write the review, we will certianly focus on those areas you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room was clean, bathroom was well appointed and the location was in the middle of the historic district.

Lobby was clean at all times (even with the sorority formal going on one night)

And the brightest point of the hotel.... every member of the staff we came in contact with was pleasant and helpful. No, they were not dressed in antebellum costumes dripping with southern charm, but the porter, valet, front desk and concierge all demonstrated true hospitality while we were there.

Things they could improve on:
I miss a tub, and the shower grout had several colors going on (not enough to make it look fuzzy or unclean, but monotone is the way to go when looking at grout).

Things they can't help:
The water is not the Chicago water I've grown to love, but every place in the historic district seems to have water with that swampy, moss/mineral after-taste that must make the bottlers of Coca Cola so happy. I think the water taste is the true catalyst of the popularity of sweet tea in the south. Regardless, unlike some other reviewers, you really can't hold that against the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vevilaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Vevilaughs - Thanks for the kind feedback overall. Incidentally we do have rooms with tubs but these reside mostly in our double bed rooms. We appreciate the kind feedback on the staff and the water is rough in Savannah, no doubt! Please come see us again in the future, we'll get you a tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Am a loyal patron of the Hilton brand. Loyalty earned by Hilton hotel brands due to their consistent high quality, excellent service and comfort. The De Soto was a huge disappointment.

The Good : Location. Excellent desk, vallet parking, concierge and restaurant staff. Good food reasonably priced in the restaurant. Nice convenience of Starbucks in lobby for quick coffee or light breakfast to go.

The Bad: I am in the habit of leaving a $5 per day tip for housekeeping. I'm a housekeeper's dream guest as I clean up after myself and make their job easy. But I appreciate a good job on cleaning the room beyond just replacing the towels and making the bed. Our room was dirty. I misplaced something and looked under the bed for it. What I found was a used condom (not ours) and misc paper refuse and lots of dust and dirt. Eww. The grout in the bathroom was grungy. The corners of the room were dirty.

The bed was lumpy.

The overall decor was worn and old. This place needs a remodel.

Although the food and service in the restaurant were good, the "coffee" was warm dirty dish water weak. Blech.

The pool was so cold it was unusable. No hot spa in which to warm up before or after a dip in the icy water either.

The whole property needs a facelift.

The Ugly: Worse than the used condom under the bed was the noise. If you stay there avoid a corner room Liberty/Drayton Streets. The smoking drunks are allowed to pour out from the hotel bar onto the street. Loud and obnoxious until the wee hours. Oh, and then the large bus that was allowed to idle late at night for nearly an hour in the vallet lane right under our old drafty windows. Smell and noise penetrating the old rickety windows. The doors to the rooms SLAM shut. All night BAM, BAM, BAM, BAM......and our room shook each time.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a corner room unless you are a night owl. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyanddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Sandy/andDick - We certainly apologize for what you experienced, truly not the norm for us and this is not the acceptable level of our rooms being cleaned. We will certianly address the housekeeping issues you experienced. Savannah is loud on the weekends, while we can control the noise levels in the hotel somewhat utilizing our security the Police control the bar outside on Liberty and Drayton, this to can be resolved with a phone call to the front desk. We certainly apologize for what your experiences were and we will make sure these areas are addressed for the next guest. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing