We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So-so experience”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I booked our stay online for a quick visit to Savannah November 8-10. We were totally unaware that these dates were the same as the Rock N Roll Marathon. There was nothing on the website or in the reservations that mentioned the marathon or the influx of 30,000 people. However, our biggest issues were the quality of the room and the amenities. I am still a Gold member (used to be Diamond) and expected the complimentary bottled water and laundry bag - neither were in the room. We did have a wonderful view from our 13th floor room, but the sliding door to the balcony was in desperate need of weatherstripping. The wind, and street noises, came blowing into the room. On Saturday, the TV service went dead. We had been looking forward to watching some college football, but the cable was out until late evening. In all my travels, including to third world locations, I have never seen any facility have so many issues with what is usually a problem easily solved. I had to feel sorry for the poor front desk clerk - she was basically working alone Saturday evening trying to field all the angry calls from hotel guests regarding the lack of television service. She could have used a little back up help. Room rates were high due to the Marathon. I would suggest checking out alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoxca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Jfoxca - We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the challenges you experienced. Comcast cable went out over that weekend and that is not under our control, unfortunately there was little we could do but wait until they repaired the system. We are working on weather strippng all the patio doors and we continue to do this through a pm process. Certainly we like all of our guests to have a great stay and certainly losing cable for the weekend does not help. We appreciate the feedback and hope you give us another opportunity when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    652
    376
    214
    113
See reviews for
414
679
68
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Old Hotel. Needs renovation. Plumbing leaked. Extremely noisy rooms (could hear every conversation from adjacent rooms), TV didn't work and required us to leave the hotel to find a restaurant that allowed us to view NCAA football games. TV cable was out for 2 days..........need I say more?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dean B - We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Unfortunately we had a comcast outage, not controlled by the hotel, we worked diligently to get this straightened out but certainly i understand your feedback. While we had cable in the lobby and bar for the games watching in your own room would have been nice. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noise, it was a very busy weekend and it can be noisy depending upon what everyone is doing. Your comments are important to us and we apologize for the challenges you experienced as well we will utilize your feedback to address these issues for the future. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recommend becoming a Hilton Honors Member. You do get additional little perks. I was travelling alone and felt very safe there. My needs were met. The hotel also has excellent views. I would also recommend using this hotel for its location, cleanliness, service and friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Robin C - Thanks for being a loyal HHonors member, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is an old and historic hotel and really does need some attention. It is comfortable and the foyer is nice but be careful with room selection and if you have a choice do not accept a room with an adjoining room separated from yours with the normal double doors as the doors are ill-fitting and the next door room activity is a nuisance ( for instance room 517 and 518!).. Luckily this was only a major problem on our last night otherwise we would have demanded a room change.
While we were there the TV was crazy - the channel selection was completely wrong and the on-screen indicator had no relevance to what you were actually watching.
Overall this was an average stay - the beds were OK , the view over the pool area pleasant, the coffee bar in the foyer area good, the staff great ...... but the hot water supply in the room only average (lukewarm most of the time).. As mentioned, a makeover probably needed....

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area on the West side is a good choice and stay away from adjoining rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
burlfp - We appreciate your feedback on the hotel. Noise sensitivity can be a challenge in an connecting room, certainly great options to upgrade to a corner king and seperate yourself away a little bit. We will look into the water temps as this is a new system set to what the city temps require us to be. We appreciate your feedback and we will review your feedback and improve in the areas you have mentioned. Come se us again when coming to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is perfectly located. Its in the historic district but a few blocks from from th more commercial part of the area; nonetheless, there are restaurants, boutiques, and salons less than a block away.

The staff is pleasant, welcoming and efficient. The rooms are nice with great mattresses and wonderful pillows. I slept beautifully. Great water pressure in the shower and immediate hot water.

The pool is on the second floor with a treetop view. the fitness room is limited but does have exercise balls and a good stretching area.

The bar is pleasant, clean with a wide selection of alcohol. The staff, while a bit slow to acknowledge and take your order is exceedingly friendly when you've got their attention.

We were on the ninth floor facing the river. We had a balcony and an amazing view. The highlight of every day was returning to the room to enjoy the view. The delightful DeRenne is across the street, the bridge to Henderson Island in the distance.

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher floor, river facing; however, the south facing view fo the historic distr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
amy halo - We do appreciate your kind feedback and certainly glad to see you enjoyed the staff, your view and the hotel in general. Come see us again when travelling to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel will make you feel like royality and at home! They go above and beyond in treating you kindly and making sure you have all you need! They are simply amazing!!! The rooms and views are excellent and the antique furniture gives the hotel an amazing spin!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Jamie R - Thanks for the wonderful feedback on the hotel and the staff, glad to see you enjoyed Savannah in general and your stay with us, please come see us again if coming to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is at a great location in the downtown of Savannah -- walking distance to a lot of attractions plus great restaurants and bars. Safe location. Rooms can be a bit noisy because of traffic on the two streets beside and in front of the hotel but a of of rooms have a balcony to allow for fresh air relaxation on the small chairs outside -- get a corner King for the best balcony but a bit noisier. Inside the desk chair cushion was very cracked and the chair should have been replaced ages ago. Towels were just so-so and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was OK but water pressure in the shower left something to be desired. Overall, there may be better options in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Charles Y - We appreciate the feedback and we are always looking to improve our product, we will be working on some of the items you noticed in early 2014. It can be noisy at times, weekends usually more of a challenge then weekday but I understand your feedback. Thanks for staying with us and hope in the future you come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing