We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Miami Lakes, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Staff was very pleasant. Hotel was great. Excellent location. Room was very clean and beds were excellent to sleep on. Hotel is near excellent restaurants within walking distance. I recommend this Hotel to stay and eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Lorenzo R - Thanks for staying with us and for the great feedback, we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    665
    384
    221
    115
See reviews for
435
693
69
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel, first kudos for the staff from Bell Guys to the front desk. Top notch. Restaurant as well.

The cons are the physical place itself, its an older hotel showing its age in the rooms and common areas. You can hear noise from adjacent rooms and the halls if your noise sensitive. Furnishing is ok, kind of a Hodge podgy of new and tired furnishings. Bed was way too soft for my taste.
Location is excellent, great coffee shop and walking distance to historic must see areas of town. Price was fair though I suspect the discount is directly related to the newer competition in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We certainly appreciate the feedback, true we are older and historic so it's defitnitly different than being in something more modern. We pride ourselves on guest service and overall a great location, I sure hope you come se us again if coming to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have been Hilton Honors members for 25+ years. We are Diamond members and have enjoyed Hilton hotels around the world for years. Since the sale of Hilton to the Private Equity firm, the quality of the products (all Hilton brands) have gone DOWN. We had hoped with the recent IPO that the brand might be better managed. This past weekend we hit what we hope is the LOW point for Hilton: The Hilton Desoto Savannah. We mistakenly made the reservation in the belief that since it is the HILTON brand, it should be the best! We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Savannah last year....nothing special, but OK.
The Desoto Hilton is filthy dirty....in the room, bathroom, lobby, restaurant, etc. We did not see one redeeming value in the entire hotel. It started when we arrived. When the bellman arrived with our luggage, the TSA lock on a brand-new suitcase was broken off. They tried to repair the lock to no avail. To his credit, the on-duty manager (Raymond) agreed to purchase a new lock and send it to me (we'll see). When we got into the room we found there was dust and dirt everywhere. The room was last renovated when Eisenhower was president. There was body hair and soap scum in the tub. The shower door nearly fell off the runners. The hotel did send up a housekeeping person who basically just moved the dirt around the room.
We were told that we had been upgraded due to being a Diamond Honors member. We were told our room "has a balcony!" as if that is the greatest thing. I would rather walk out on the glass platform 1000 feet above the Grand Canyon before I'd go out on the Desoto Hilton balcony. Wow, Hilton, I felt really great (hah!) being a Diamond member at the Desoto.
We went down to get our car to go to dinner. After waiting a half hour and complaining every five minutes, we finally got our car. Fortunately, we made our dinner reservation.
The next morning we went down for breakfast. They had a buffet set up, including an omelet station. We decided to pass on omelets when we watched the "chef" clean off the omelet pans with a filthy dirty rag over an overflowing trash can. The scrambled "eggs" we then put on our plates had never seen a chicken.
Overall, this experience is endemic of the problems that the new management of the "New Hilton Corp" have to face in resurrecting their flagship brand. I'd suggest they go visit the Athens, Greece Hilton or the Sorrento Hilton in Italy. Both of those hotels know how to treat customers.

After the Desoto experience we went to Hilton Head Island and stayed at the Omni Resort Hotel which until two years ago had been a Hilton Resort, where we had stayed for the last 20 years. Omni came in with a multi-million investment in the grounds and built a beautiful new pool (now there are three) and other outdoor enhancements. Next year they will close the entire hotel to undergo a multi-million dollar (some say $25 million) investment in the rooms and main building and restaurants. We had breakfast in their beautiful restaurant and it was 5-star!! Real eggs and omelets prepared in clean pans.

Get with it, Hilton!

I cannot end without noting that the staff at the Desoto is trying real hard. The problem is that they don't have a quality product to work with. They gave us a $100 credit after I told them how disappointed we were in this hotel. A nice gesture, but the hotel is still a dump.
We are still Diamond Hilton Honors members and hope that the new management at Hilton will put some time, thought, and dollars into enhancing their brand(s).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynchpin19471949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Lynchpin19471949 - We certainly try hard to make the hotel the best it can be, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. While we are not the newest hotel on the block we certainly try our best to provide a clean facility and great service. I'm sorry you didn't feel the same way. We will certainly take your feedback and utilize for improvement to the areas you expressed concern. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Top notch stay! Exhausted after our trip from Key Largo and the horrible drive up the coast. From the valet to the maid staff, everyone was extremely friendly and courteous! Made our Historic Downtown stay worth every penny! Starbucks at location was great! Even though our room was basic and unable to refrigerate our pizza from Mellow Mushroom (less than a block away) we still enjoyed our city view! The sunrise was great to wake up to. Thank You so much Hilton! You guys and gals rocked the end of our tiring beach trip! We felt the warmth and welcoming vibes!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank treywest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Treywest11 - I am glad you enjoyed the team and had a great stay! I will certainly relay the message. If you come through next time we do offer a refrigerator in our corner king rooms to keep that pie cool! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellabell, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff of any facility can either make your stay a memorable one, or a miserable one. This one was memorable! Excellent staff, from the valet parking, bellman, check in to departure. Our company held our Christmas party at the Hilton. From the DJ, Bartender, (she was great-we had her last year) everyone was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We do appreciate your kind feedback and certainly glad to see you enjoyed the staff, your view and the hotel in general. Come see us again when travelling to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Being at the Hilton Desoto made our stay in Savannah so easy. It was pouring down rain when we arrived, so the valet parking was the best. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. We had a king corner room - great balcony and view. Loved being in the center of everything - perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am glad that you had a enjoyable time with us and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Excellent service and within walking distance to all of Savannah. All staff are very friendly and helpful. From the very beginning we felt very welcomed. This is a great value and very convenient to all of the highlights of Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicMHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We appreciate your kind feedback and I am glad to see you enjoyed the entire staff! Come se us again when travelling to or through Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing